We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceptive promo of views from rooms”
Review of Mountain Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mountain Heritage
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We booked the premier suite at this hotel with the understanding that we were getting the round room at the front of the building with a great view.
Arrived there and were shown to a room on the other side of the building with a view of the car park.
Seriously dissatisfied as we had been waiting a month for a small holiday, at $408 p/n I don't want carpark views.
Staff do not care whatsoever if you have a problem really the only reason for staying here is the view because the service is worse than being slapped in the face with a cold fish.
If you are happy with any old room and don't care about the images actually matching the reality of the room you will get then you may be satisfied with this profit before anything else style of promotion.
No one wants the car park room with a view so price them accordingly please!
As a result we cancelled our booking and went to Solitary for lunch with a great view then drove back to Sydney. Satisfied that we hadn't allocated ourselves to be ripped off by this hotel that does not care about integrity or good service.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Ms Coulston,
Thank you for your comments.
We have several Premier Suites, all located across the front of the hotel.
All our suites are different shapes and sizes, we are not a cookie cutter hotel with standard small square rooms. The Tower Room you refer to is at the south western corner of the building and is a lovely round spacious room as the name suggests.
The room you were allocated is an even larger two room suite at the south east corner of the building. The views from the lounge are the same, but also include a view towards the village of Leura. There are no views from the bedroom which is at the end of a long corridor which includes the kitchen facilities.
We would have been quite happy to move you to the Tower Room, but as explained on the day, it was already occupied. We did however, arrange a full refund for you, which under our normal commercial arrangements, we were not obliged to do so, but we did so in order to maintain our integrity.
It is a shame you were not in the hotel longer than the time it took to go to your room and return immediately to reception, so unfortunately you did not experience any of our service, which you have commented on.
The three images on our website are one taken of each of three of the rooms, one of which is the Tower Room, the bathroom image is of the room you were allocated. All the facilities in each room are the same. We do not set out to mislead, and again, we would have been quite happy to move you if the room you preferred was not already occupied.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

The Mountain Heritage was a step back in time. A refreshing change from the faceless bland, magazine styled hotels of today. The rooms and decor are not 21st century, more Laura Ashley chintz but are large, clean and welcoming. The views from some rooms of the Blue Mountains are worth the extra money. Huge bathroom which could do with an additional heating factor, it wasn't cold more cool. As the wind chill factor was -2 and snow was predicted we had to turn the reverse aircon heater up on arrival as the large windows made the room a tad chilly, but by the time we came back from drinks in the lounge it was toasty. A trick missed here though. We all fancied tea/coffee with cake/scones to see us through till dinner after a day sight seeing in the cold. Only hot drinks were available, not even a plate of biscuits as we were poliitely told they were not a coffee shop. There were other disappointed guests who were hoping to order similar. This was at 4pm in the afternoon. Surely it can't be too difficult to offer a small range of cakes or sandwiches etc. We ordered our drinks and raided the biscuits from our room and spent a pleasant hour talking to other cake free hungry guests in comfy sofas in front of a fire with spectacular views. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent. It's cold so make sure you close your curtains before going to dinner to keep the room warm. Slept well and opted for continental inclusive breakfast which included sliced meats and cheese (note to other hotels... continental is not just bread and pastries). And again that view. There was a wide choice of breads and English muffins for toasting, although in England your wholemeal/brown would be not be classed as wholemeal/brown but as off white! Plenty of fruit on offer. The staff were pleasant and polite and a Vietnamese guy was particularly engaging. One member of our party took advantage of the Spa and ordered a stress busting massage. Wifi was intermittent but in this location just sit back, relax and enjoy the view occasionally!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Dear Kim W
Thank you for your comprehensive review.
You have described us very well, and also provided some feedback for us to consider.
It is pleasing to hear you and your party had a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us.
We hope you will return again soon.
Regards
Eric sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Just spent 2 nights in this beautifully appointed old hotel, the hotel is within walking distance to town centre. The hotel had lovely views, the room was large very clean with plenty of space to move around, the staff were lovely and very helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel for a getaway in the Blue Mountains

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank luceyfier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear lucefier
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review.
We are always delighted to receive such positive comments from our actual guests, and I will be sharing your comments with our wonderful staff.
Once again thank you for taking the time to provided your review and thank you for recommending us.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Lovely place, reminds me a bit of an Agatha Christie novel! Friendly staff. Facilities a little lacking this time of year (their winter) but the food was excellent and the views stunning. Access to a washing machine and dryer a definite bonus. Good sized room and comfy beds.
Loss of 1 star because the pool was closed (wintertime) and parts of the hotel look a bit tired. But they do appear to be doing some of it up.

Good points:
the views
The location
The friendly staff
The food

Things they could do better:
No USB ports in the room
Wifi is poor
Room a bit "tired" in places

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank MDRedwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear MDRedwood
Thank you for your feedback.
Yes, unfortunately, our outdoor pool is closed during the winter months, but we do have a gym for those who wish to partake in some exercise. It is pleasing to hear you had a comfortable stay, enjoyed our great views and the food in our restaurant.
We have a maintenance program in place, which is a continuing process for our 109 year old mountain retreat, and we are indeed upgrading some sections of the building as well as many rooms.
The wifi has been a bit unstable, but we believe our technicians have that sorted now.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide a review.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights with the family and got a room which was not attached to the main hotel - but less than 2 minute walk to the lobby. Turned out to be great as it had a separate bedroom and a living room which could accommodate the kids. Also had a kitchen and so we could also cook during our stay. Balcony had an amazing view of the mountains.
Breakfast was very good and tasty. Room service and dinner options though were limited and so we didn't eat there.
Overall an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank priashok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear priashok
Thank you for choosing us and thank you for your review.
Our Valley View suites certainly are a good choice as they have a lounge, open fire, separate bedroom with spa a kitchen and spacious balcony from which to enjoy the wonderful views.
He hope you will stay again when next you visit the Blue Mountains.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.5 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
992 reviews
0.8 km away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
1.9 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
5.3 km away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.9 km away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Heritage

Address: Cnr Apex & Lovel Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: $166 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mountain Heritage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heritage Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Mountain Heritage Hotel Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing