We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old style charm”
Review of Mountain Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountain Heritage
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Lovely place, reminds me a bit of an Agatha Christie novel! Friendly staff. Facilities a little lacking this time of year (their winter) but the food was excellent and the views stunning. Access to a washing machine and dryer a definite bonus. Good sized room and comfy beds.
Loss of 1 star because the pool was closed (wintertime) and parts of the hotel look a bit tired. But they do appear to be doing some of it up.

Good points:
the views
The location
The friendly staff
The food

Things they could do better:
No USB ports in the room
Wifi is poor
Room a bit "tired" in places

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank MDRedwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear MDRedwood
Thank you for your feedback.
Yes, unfortunately, our outdoor pool is closed during the winter months, but we do have a gym for those who wish to partake in some exercise. It is pleasing to hear you had a comfortable stay, enjoyed our great views and the food in our restaurant.
We have a maintenance program in place, which is a continuing process for our 109 year old mountain retreat, and we are indeed upgrading some sections of the building as well as many rooms.
The wifi has been a bit unstable, but we believe our technicians have that sorted now.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide a review.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights with the family and got a room which was not attached to the main hotel - but less than 2 minute walk to the lobby. Turned out to be great as it had a separate bedroom and a living room which could accommodate the kids. Also had a kitchen and so we could also cook during our stay. Balcony had an amazing view of the mountains.
Breakfast was very good and tasty. Room service and dinner options though were limited and so we didn't eat there.
Overall an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank priashok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear priashok
Thank you for choosing us and thank you for your review.
Our Valley View suites certainly are a good choice as they have a lounge, open fire, separate bedroom with spa a kitchen and spacious balcony from which to enjoy the wonderful views.
He hope you will stay again when next you visit the Blue Mountains.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We had spent 2 night over the weekend. It is a lovely hotel with old charm and warm welcome.

Room was lovely with overlook to the valley.
Food was delicious and reasonable price
Staff in the restaurant was excellent, attended and warmly friendly.

We will recommend our friends to stay here

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank victoriafilipino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear victoriafilipino
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for recommending us.
We are delighted to hear such positive feedback and we hope we may welcome you back again soon.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

It a truly amazing hotel in Katoomba. We were there for our short weekend. The hotel is a classic with open fire. I feel like I stay at home not in a Hotel. The staff are amazing very attended in the restaurant, brilliant service. I recommend this hotel come and enjoy your moment. You can feel the hotel that can call home.
Thank you Mountain Heritage

Room Tip: best views or open fire
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Juliamacdonal337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Juliamacdonal337
Thank you for staying with us, we are always very pleased to receive such positive feedback from our guests.
It is wonderful to hear you felt right at home during your stay, as this is exactly how we wish our guests to feel, to relax and enjoy their stay and a great meal in our restaurant.
Once again, thank you for your review.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Spent 2 nights here over the weekend. Arrived tired after the drive up from Sydney after work, so we went straight to bed. We booked the Heritage view room with wonderful views of the mountains so consequently, these rooms are more expensive (but this is like other decent accommodation in Australia as it’s a very expensive country for everything) but the view alone is worth it. Personally, I wouldn’t stay here if I couldn’t book the mountain view rooms. We stay in the mountains a few times a year and have stayed at various accom in the region. We stayed here this time because we could look over to the mountains and valley. Comfy bed and quiet air conditioner – we slept like logs! Breakfast was a good selection for continental style. The hotel has gorgeous views and is in a convenient location – just down the road from the main hub of Katoomba so it’s blissfully quiet at night. Two open fireplaces in the lounge area where you can have a drink and relax after hiking. We did a hard graded ½ day hike on Saturday and coming back to an open fireplace to relax by was a welcome relief for tired muscles. The daffodils and snowdrops were out in the garden around the swimming pool and I would like to return during summer so I can make use of the pool (it’s not heated).

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Ozwanderer
Glad to hear you found us at last. We are indeed one of the few accommodation houses that actually have a great view of the mountains.
Given we are on a ridgetop and just outside of Katoomba, it is a nice quiet place to rest, without being too far from anywhere, and yes, we do recommend a "view room", although the views from the restaurant cocktail bar and lounge are eaqually stunning.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.5 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
992 reviews
0.8 km away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
1.9 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
5.3 km away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.9 km away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Heritage

Address: Cnr Apex & Lovel Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: $167 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mountain Heritage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heritage Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Mountain Heritage Hotel Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing