We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel with old world charm”
Review of Mountain Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mountain Heritage
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with spacious, generously appointed rooms. Lovely grounds & views. Dinner at the restaurant was very enjoyable & reasonably priced. Our highlight was the pianist. What a relaxing gorgeous time we had listening to him play while we sat next to the fireplace drinking cocktails & then again in the restaurant during dinner!
A couple of negatives were a few cleanliness issues though nothing major. Also wifi did not work in our downstairs room.
All in all a beautiful stay.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sophia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Sophia S
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed our spacious rooms, grounds and views and dinner and the relaxing tunes from our resident pianist Alan Johnson.
We hope we can welcome you back when next you visit the beautiful Blue Mountains.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Mountain Heritage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2017

My sister booked the Spa suite room from Mountain Heritage as our wedding gift. The package also included an one hour massage and a sparkling prepared in our suite. The room is huge with big bath which both of us can sit comfortably. The one hour massage was great too, the spa staff was very nice and professional. We also booked ourself dinner in the hotel. Dinner was nice with the piano playing in the background was very romantic. It was a very relaxing weekend away for us.

However, once we checked in, we found that the bath tub was not clean at all. We had to brush it ourself before using it. Also the Wi-Fi doesn't work from our room. We couldn't even find the Wi-Fi name to connect from both of our phones which was a bit disappointing. And one of the female staff was rude while we misunderstood what the dinner package included. She came to explain to us with no smile and walked away even while my partner was still speaking to her. We found her very disrespectful.

Overall, we like the hotel and it's very close to the Katoomba train station, very easy to access. But probably would try another hotel to stay next time when we go back to Blue Mountain as the services and the friendliness of the staff are very important to us.

Room Tip: Our spa suite room was huge and the bath was great. But the view from our room was just okay as it...
Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cywSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Dear cywSydney
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback.
We appreciate you frank comments, regarding the dinner package and wifi issues.
It is good to hear that overall, you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here during our three nights in the Blue Mountains. The hotel's heritage has been well preserved.

We were upgraded to a room with a view which was great (albeit the weather was fairly awful so there was not a lot of view to be seen!). The room was spacious and comfortable. The shower was excellent. A heat pump kept the room warm.

The complimentary continental breakfast was excellent value with a good range of cereals, breads, fruit and pastries.

The hotel was well-located being about a 5 minute walk away from town and the train station.

The only real criticism was the wifi system. Although free and essentially unlimited, you had to obtain a piece of paper from reception with a unique username and password. The login only worked for four hours before you had to get a new one and you had to re-login almost every time you used your device. I'm sure there is a reason for the system but it was a bit convoluted!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Samantha B
Than you for choosing us for your 3 night stay in the Blue Mountains.
we are delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects, notwithstanding the password requirements for the wifi, which can be a little convoluted and require logging in for each usage.
Once again thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Hubby proposed here 13 yrs ago & we returned for our anny. Listed on both hotel & restaurant booking that we were celebrating and not one person acknowledged - barely got a smile from staff. Room was hot. Food was expensive. Won't be back.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank KMG_OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear KMG_OZ
It is disappointing to hear you did not receive acknowledgement of the fact it was your anniversary. We do like to to do this and provide a "return gift" as well. However, we did not find any note of this on your reservation.
We hope this did not affect the level of satisfaction too much, and we apologise that you were so disappointed.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

This lovely hotel has a unique and charming feel about it - an air of decades passed which sits comfortably in today's world. Beautifully appointed and tasteful décor.

For us, the view of the Blue Mountains in all their glory from our room at the front of the hotel (no. 10) was one of the most stunning I've seen - very many thanks for the upgrade!!

Breakfast very good, again overlooking the spectacular view. We didn't try the restaurant as it's closed on Sundays/Mondays (check when booking) however, the hotel is a short, five minute walk from the centre of town where there are plenty of eateries. Excellent location for exploring the Blue Mountains.

The manager and staff were very helpful and friendly.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: As for room with a view overlooking the mountains
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear Jon P
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your wonderful review.
You have described us to a T, and we are delighted you enjoyed your trip to the Blue Mountains and all aspects of your stay with us.
regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.5 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
944 reviews
8.7 km away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.8 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
5.3 km away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.9 km away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Heritage

Address: Cnr Apex & Lovel Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: $150 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mountain Heritage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heritage Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Mountain Heritage Hotel Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing