We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights with friend's. It sure is a very outdated place, but it kind of goes with the rest of the town, and is actually quite funny to see the old furniture and radio! It could do with a much better clean though - caterpillar's and dust were not really a good greeting. Had all we needed though - microwave, kettle, fridge etc. Shower was rubbish and sprayed everywhere! Good free wifi - worked very well. Didn't see many staff to comment, but check in was rather conversation-less with a young girl. The location is why you stay here - just a few minute walk to the three sisters - perfect for an early morning, or late evening stroll. I'd probably stay here again if I were to visit Katoomba again overnight. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sarah14387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Guest Relations Manager at Echo Point Discovery Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for bringing these details to our attention. We are currently going through some upgrades to bathrooms and cleaning rosters, ready for you to see a difference on your next visit.
Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Echo Point Discovery Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2017

Stayed here 2 nights, clean & tidy, quiet, great location for three sisters short walk.
Concierge staff here (Jason) was fantastic, very welcoming, great local knowledge. I left behind an item in the room and he promptly posted it registered mail back to me, I could not thank Jason enough for his first class service. Great work ! will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 7BFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Guest Relations Manager at Echo Point Discovery Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you here again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

I stayed with my God daughter for 4 nights the last week of February 2017.
I did not book this motel, so did not have any expectations. We drove from Sydney and arrived on a Wednesday afternoon. The gentleman on the desk was extremely nice and helpful, printed off the directions to a horse riding farm we were going to later in the week.
The internet was down that day, which is understandable in that location, so he kindly sent an email to my family to let them know of our safe arrival.
The location of this motel is excellent and the room itself was at the end, near the road. As it is a fairly quiet road overnight, no real traffic noise to bother us.
It was a little warm for the first two days/nights of our stay, so it did feel a little stuffy because there is no air conditioning. This may cause a lot of discomfort if it's really hot outside. Many of the motel residents had windows and the room door open late in the evenings to let some cool air in.
The room and bathroom was clean enough, very clean sheets. Refrigerator was clean too, with the complimentary little container of milk for those who like to make tea or coffee. Kettle, tea, coffee, cups on a tray. Essential supplies in the bathroom. Room was overall comfortable.
However, my big issue is that I felt it was long past due for an update and fresh coat of paint! Tired room and decor, carpet, bathroom.
I'm sure they are consistently booked and it may be a challenge to update, but really given the room rates, it really is time!!!!
I did not experience the breakfast, so cannot comment on that.
Just one last comment. There is a large BarBQue Grill for guests to use. When we returned one evening, a young man was cleaning it, which is a good sign.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Guest Relations Manager at Echo Point Discovery Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

We appreciate you taking the time to leave this review! We are currently going through a few room upgrades which we hope to have completed in the very near future. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Old tired motel but great helpful staff. So so handy to Three Sisters for day n night viewing. On scenic drive route. Handy to both pretty Leura & Katoomba shops and restaurants. Not far from scenic world.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Decent size rooms, fast wi-fi, wonderful location, great price. Bathroom could use an upgrade. Comfortable stay with friendly and helpful staff. We loved the fluffy hotel cat that would greet us each day - felt like home! Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Guest Relations Manager at Echo Point Discovery Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thank you for leaving your review. We are currently going through some room upgrades and bathrooms are on the list - You can take advantage of the fresh upgrades on your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.8 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
944 reviews
1.9 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
1.2 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
2.6 km away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
412 reviews
0.3 km away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo Point Discovery Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Point Discovery Motel

Address: 18 Echo Point Rd, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Echo Point Motor Inn)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range: $84 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Echo Point Discovery Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Echo Point Discovery Motel you can enjoy a premier motel experience which caters for a variety of travellers including the adventure seekers, groups and coach tours. As the closest motel in Katoomba to Echo Point and the Three Sisters Lookout, we pride ourselves on our proximity to natural wonders and adventure, whilst remaining a quiet and serene place to rest your head at night. Visit our website or contact our friendly front desk staff for more information on packages, events and more. Echo Point Discovery Motel is a proud link in the Equeva Accommodation Group chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Echo Point Discovery Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echo Point Hotel
Echo Point Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing