We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,108)
Filter reviews
1,108 results
Traveller rating
471
414
131
48
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
471
414
131
48
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the grand dining room old world charm grand old hotel blue mountains cocktail bar balcony room stained glass step back in time shared bathroom bygone era continental breakfast the main street beautiful hotel art deco devonshire tea christmas in july public areas
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,108 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2018

I recently stayed overnight at The Carrington in a Colonial Room and found the whole experience to be wonderful and much better than I had anticipated.
The room was very clean and the bathroom modern with a rainwater shower head. The beds had lovely, clean white linen and plenty of spare pillows and blankets. Breakfast in the grand dining room was fresh and plentiful; lovely fruits, Bircher muesli, toast, nuts, jams,cheese and ham, all fresh and plentiful.
Make sure you have a cocktail or Devonshire tea from the bar and take it down to the lounge area. Great fun, a trip back in time.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank mjm19622019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

We recently booked 10 Rooms/Suites at The Carrington over 3 nights to celebrate my Mum's 80th Birthday - and it oozed the Old World charm she was after for the occasion!! Just Perfect! Staying here was like stepping back in time, and the old world decor was charming and well maintained. Over the Easter long weekend holiday period all the Hotel staff were professional and attentive, especially Yura, Sara, Ben and Jurgen. These four (along with others I didn't catch the names of) were run off their feet all weekend due to the Easter crowds, and could not have displayed a higher level of courteous service and a happy and professional disposition. Thank you indeed, you made our stay so pleasurable and memorable. Over the weekend we also enjoyed High Tea in the Dining Room (Mum esp. loved the piano man), Lunch on the Balcony, Breakfast each morning in the Grand Dining Room (tip: order a tasty offering off the hot menu for a small extra charge - very generous servings), many games of Snooker and drinks in the guest lounging areas, and delicious cocktails at the Bar. Our group of 20 ranged in age from 18 up to 80, and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their time at this grand old Hotel. The Carrington is located in an excellent spot to to enjoy Katoomba and Leura on foot, with free onsite guest parking (or a 2 minute easy walk from the train station if you arrive this way!). Highly recommend a step back in time with a stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

This hotel takes you back in time but with all the modern luxuries. We enjoyed a balcony room which was absolutely perfect to sit outside on an autumn evening and even more beautiful to have a relaxing morning coffee on. The lift was very authentic and quaint. The continental breakfast was to divine. I cannot recommend this hotel enough being located in the heart of Katoomba- just beautiful.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ElizabethL1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We stayed for three nights for a special splurge on our 7 week road trip (otherwise camping). The grand hotel has many special features, but unfortunately lots of little things make it fall short of a truly grand experience. We were initially placed in a poky back of house room without aircon. The windows opened onto the hotel’s main extractor vent. We were thankfully relocated and upgraded to a very nice room with recently tastefully refurbed bathroom. There are restrictions on aircon installations due to the heritage listing; we think it would be very stuffy in summer if you had a non ac room. The access from the car park was via a really dingy dirty corridor, unless the door to the billiard room had been left ajar - that was a far more suitable entre. The breakfast staff were quite pleasant, but had to be reminded to refill things (eg condiment dishes, bread and yoghurt). The buffet breakfast was ok, but lacking in imagination and exactly the same for all three days. The Champagne Charlie bar person did not know much about cocktails, and initially said one was not available because she did not have any brandy, when the cocktail was actually based on cognac. They do say renovations are ongoing and that is good because they are certainly needed. Finally, writing this review was a challenge, with the wifi drifting in and out! Overall, elegant, but lacking in some of the finer points that you would get in a comparably historical hotel elsewhere.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for air con in summer
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Iangharris188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

A grand old building in the heart of Katoomba. Has been kept reasonably well refurbished though does feel a little dated in some aspects. Rooms are large, spacious and comfortable. Service is OK, but could be improved; likewise the breakfast. The car park is a bit of an eyesore that detracts from the grandeur of the building.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank flavour2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews