We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Carrington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The best thing about the Carrington hotel is it's location. It's a one-minute walk after you get off the train, and next door to the taxi rank. It is a little bit tired, not surprising for a hotel built in the 1880s but they are working on improving the interior. The architecture is great, classical, and impressive. Shared bathroom was clean. Continental breakfast buffet was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdw72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
There are newer reviews for The Carrington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

821 - 825 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

We found this hotel by chance but would definitely go back if we were visiting Blue Mountains again. The hotel is within 2 minutes walk from the station and is directly opposite the first stop on the Hop On, Hop Off bus which was very convenient for us. Other hotels in the area are closer to the scenic railways, however they are not of the same standard and to be honest it is better being in town than near the scenic attractions as you can easily reach these by the buses.

The hotel has a unique and amazing style which is clear from the second you walk up the drive. It has been sensitively rennovated and they have stuck to the original style without disneyfying it. The style continues throughout the hotel and the walk to your room allows you to see every inch of style from the original era. The rooms are also in keeping, and although they are slightly small they are perfect for those staying for a short visit. Service was exceptionally friendly from the reception team right through to the bar staff and everyone was always keen to help.

Unfortunately they didn't provide evening meals when we were there, however I think this was exceptional due to the holiday period. The contintental breakfast in the morning was fantastic and provided the best selection of any hotel that we visited during our honeymoon in Australia. It was also served up in the old grand dining room which was a unique experience.

We would recommend this to anyone visiting the Blue Mountains.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The Carrington had always appealed to my partner and I, during our trips to the Blue Mountains. So when an opportunity came to book a couple of nights there, we leapt at the chance.

However.

Upon arriving there and making our way to reception, we passed the unweeded garden beds and climbed the steps, stepping up between the unappealing, peeling concrete rails. If you want to put visitors off, this is a good start.

Once you are past this little test of you desire to stay, the entrance is nice, into the foyer, all prim and proper to book and make our way to our room, struggling with the lift and firedoors. It's not the room we booked with our agent, having neither the spa or the view that we requested. So we get this sorted and move up a floor to a very neat and large room, with a spa and a view of the Megalong Valley (over the rooftop and through the crane next door).

Settling in, we discover the delights of really cheap furniture, the rickety unstable table, the cupbard without a door handle, all set off with dings and scratches. Lovely.

The twin king singles placed together were ok to sleep on and the lack of aircon is balanced by the fresh air coming in the window.

The shower over the spa worked well, however the only real space available for toiletries was right next to the spa and so subject to splashing from the shower. Honestly, not good enough.

The cocktails from the bar were nicely made and resonably priced.

The junior staff are enthusiastic, but ill informed.

Overall? A good, solid, old world hotel in a good location, let down by cheap room furniture and poor attention to detail It is overpriced for what it really is.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room you book. They were a bit "relaxed" about the room that our age...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skydreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We recently stayed at The Carrington to get a change of accommodation from ordinary hotel style rooms to something old worldly and different. We stayed in a Colonial room, which is the basic room with an ensuite. The room was small, but adequate with a refurbished bathroom. It was on level one, and didnt have opening windows (except in the bathroom) and no views. We spent only a small amount of time in our room, and enjoyed the public areas of the hotel. It was lovely to spend an afternoon on the front verandah with a bottle of wine, which was reasonably priced from the champagne bar. We enjoyed the original fittings, and it was easy to imagine that you were back in the 1920's, as the building has been so thoughtfully preserved. The creaky stairs,open lounge areas upstairs and original lift really added to the feeling. The continental breakfast in the grand dining room was very nice, and included bircher muslei, fresh fruit, pastries, toast & cereal. The brasserie was a disappointment, as it was heavily patronised by backpackers and we had to wait a considerable time in the bar where the service was poor. We decided to go across the road to Monte Bello which was nice. The Cellar & Deli which was at the rear of the hotel, was a great discovery. They had a very good range of wines and foods not experienced in traditional outlets, and the friendly staff made it a pleasure to visit. Overall the experience was very good and the hotel & reception staff friendly and polite.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie2250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

If you would like to stay somewhere incredible in the Blue Mountains, then look not past this wonderful hotel buit in the early 1900's and restored beautifully to cater for a more discerning crowd. With gorgeous state rooms and, grand ballroom and antiques everywhere for the eye to see, The Carrington Hotel engages you from the moment you look at her. If you are not interested in the history or it's beauty, definitely stay somewhere else. The floors creek like all good old hotels should and so too the lift to your rooms, reminds me of the Jack Nicholson movie the Shining, in a good way though. It's a mature hotel, and why would it cater for small children, it's a precious environment and more enjoyed by adults. Children will appreciate the surrounds when they are much older, and I'm sure there are camping grounds near by to better suit their happy playfulness. Or just get a babysitter and truly enjoy this adult beauty. I was thrilled to be able to stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RacingRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.5 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
8.6 km away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.6 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.8 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 km away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carrington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carrington Hotel

Address: 15 - 47 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: $127 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carrington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Carrington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carrington Hotel Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing