We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fairly good, let down by cheap furniture and peeling paint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Carrington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fairly good, let down by cheap furniture and peeling paint”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The Carrington had always appealed to my partner and I, during our trips to the Blue Mountains. So when an opportunity came to book a couple of nights there, we leapt at the chance.

However.

Upon arriving there and making our way to reception, we passed the unweeded garden beds and climbed the steps, stepping up between the unappealing, peeling concrete rails. If you want to put visitors off, this is a good start.

Once you are past this little test of you desire to stay, the entrance is nice, into the foyer, all prim and proper to book and make our way to our room, struggling with the lift and firedoors. It's not the room we booked with our agent, having neither the spa or the view that we requested. So we get this sorted and move up a floor to a very neat and large room, with a spa and a view of the Megalong Valley (over the rooftop and through the crane next door).

Settling in, we discover the delights of really cheap furniture, the rickety unstable table, the cupbard without a door handle, all set off with dings and scratches. Lovely.

The twin king singles placed together were ok to sleep on and the lack of aircon is balanced by the fresh air coming in the window.

The shower over the spa worked well, however the only real space available for toiletries was right next to the spa and so subject to splashing from the shower. Honestly, not good enough.

The cocktails from the bar were nicely made and resonably priced.

The junior staff are enthusiastic, but ill informed.

Overall? A good, solid, old world hotel in a good location, let down by cheap room furniture and poor attention to detail It is overpriced for what it really is.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room you book. They were a bit "relaxed" about the room that our age...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skydreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    350
    102
    44
    34
See reviews for
167
468
34
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We recently stayed at The Carrington to get a change of accommodation from ordinary hotel style rooms to something old worldly and different. We stayed in a Colonial room, which is the basic room with an ensuite. The room was small, but adequate with a refurbished bathroom. It was on level one, and didnt have opening windows (except in the bathroom) and no views. We spent only a small amount of time in our room, and enjoyed the public areas of the hotel. It was lovely to spend an afternoon on the front verandah with a bottle of wine, which was reasonably priced from the champagne bar. We enjoyed the original fittings, and it was easy to imagine that you were back in the 1920's, as the building has been so thoughtfully preserved. The creaky stairs,open lounge areas upstairs and original lift really added to the feeling. The continental breakfast in the grand dining room was very nice, and included bircher muslei, fresh fruit, pastries, toast & cereal. The brasserie was a disappointment, as it was heavily patronised by backpackers and we had to wait a considerable time in the bar where the service was poor. We decided to go across the road to Monte Bello which was nice. The Cellar & Deli which was at the rear of the hotel, was a great discovery. They had a very good range of wines and foods not experienced in traditional outlets, and the friendly staff made it a pleasure to visit. Overall the experience was very good and the hotel & reception staff friendly and polite.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie2250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

If you would like to stay somewhere incredible in the Blue Mountains, then look not past this wonderful hotel buit in the early 1900's and restored beautifully to cater for a more discerning crowd. With gorgeous state rooms and, grand ballroom and antiques everywhere for the eye to see, The Carrington Hotel engages you from the moment you look at her. If you are not interested in the history or it's beauty, definitely stay somewhere else. The floors creek like all good old hotels should and so too the lift to your rooms, reminds me of the Jack Nicholson movie the Shining, in a good way though. It's a mature hotel, and why would it cater for small children, it's a precious environment and more enjoyed by adults. Children will appreciate the surrounds when they are much older, and I'm sure there are camping grounds near by to better suit their happy playfulness. Or just get a babysitter and truly enjoy this adult beauty. I was thrilled to be able to stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RacingRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cronulla, Australia
Level Contributor
383 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We had heard about this lovely hotel from family members who often go for a week end

The hotel is so lovely we parked around the side in the hotel grounds then walked to the entrance I felt we had gone back in time the veranda goes right across the front of the building and people sat there looking very comfortable and relaxed smiling and happy

It is set back from the road a well manicured lawn lay outstretched in front

Inside those at the front desk were polite and not over friendly

The room itself was awful very tiny and a sealed window with no view the bathroom very old and run down
next time I have been advised to book early and ask for a corner room as they are larger

That didn't worry me so much for the dinning room made up for what the room lacked

Full of Old world charm is the best way I could describe it with Paintings on and around the ceiling one of the rooms leading to the dining room was full of old beautiful paintings the kind you would expect to see in an art Gallery

Unfortunately the breakfast was a real let down nothing charming about this serve yourself
packet cereal packaged jam packaged butter stand in line for the toaster , milk, and juice and if your quick enough you may get french pastry

don't get me wrong I have had many self serve brekkies but it just didn't go with the old world charm I loved about this place

Maybe they had a dinning setting and service for breakfast I had left it to late to find out but next time that would be the way to go

Don't expect a large rambling hotel it isn't but it is different a place that has charm and grace and it is old

Across from the hotel is very nice restaurant and next to that an antique store you can wander around and forget the time of day

I did find the whole hotel very dark they could have done with a lot more lighting and a lot more smiley faces

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sassafraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katoomba
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This is a really beautiful and comfortable hotel with large spacious public areas. I met some friends here one Tuesday morning to have a coffee in the lounge area. We ordered drinks and pastries and settled in for a chat. After we had finished our drinks (90 minutes) a blonde lady (owner or manager) asked us to leave saying that we (and our babies) were in the way and she advised us to find somewhere else to go. She also said that we were bothering other patrins and hotel users and that if we wanted to return we should book a room. My friend informed her that we had not seen any other patrons during our coffee and that we had not made any noise, but this lady told us that we were not welcome. We left at this point. While I can understand that some customers might not like to drink coffee within earshot of crying babies, it seemed harsh as we had been quiet and our 5 month old children well behaved. If they do not welcome customers with children or babies, I think they should say this before selling us our drinks. Ultimately, it was not what she said but the way she said it that we found particularly alienating. Very aggressive. Parents should think twice before drinking or staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rebecca g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.5 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.8 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
8.6 km away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
5.0 km away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.8 km away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carrington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carrington Hotel

Property: The Carrington Hotel
Address: 15 - 47 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price range (per night): $129 - $266
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carrington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia APAC, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Carrington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carrington Hotel Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing