We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Carrington Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 150*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Explorers Motel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
USD 106*
USD 103*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Katoomba Town Centre(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
USD 73*
USD 71*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 58*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
USD 70*
USD 66*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 238*
USD 227*
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sky Rider Motor Inn(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
USD 76*
USD 70*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Sisters Motel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
USD 82*
USD 79*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Motor Inn(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
USD 100*
USD 80*
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 268*
USD 256*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,052)
Filter reviews
1,052 results
Traveller rating
446
394
125
47
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
394
125
47
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grand dining roomold world charmgrand old hotelblue mountainscocktail barbalcony roomstained glassstep back in timeshared bathroomold damebygone eracontinental breakfastart decothe main streetfirst floorbeautiful hoteldevonshire tea
Filter
Updating list...
929 - 934 of 1,052 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We recently stayed at The Carrington to get a change of accommodation from ordinary hotel style rooms to something old worldly and different. We stayed in a Colonial room, which is the basic room with an ensuite. The room was small, but adequate with a refurbished bathroom. It was on level one, and didnt have opening windows (except in the bathroom) and no views. We spent only a small amount of time in our room, and enjoyed the public areas of the hotel. It was lovely to spend an afternoon on the front verandah with a bottle of wine, which was reasonably priced from the champagne bar. We enjoyed the original fittings, and it was easy to imagine that you were back in the 1920's, as the building has been so thoughtfully preserved. The creaky stairs,open lounge areas upstairs and original lift really added to the feeling. The continental breakfast in the grand dining room was very nice, and included bircher muslei, fresh fruit, pastries, toast & cereal. The brasserie was a disappointment, as it was heavily patronised by backpackers and we had to wait a considerable time in the bar where the service was poor. We decided to go across the road to Monte Bello which was nice. The Cellar & Deli which was at the rear of the hotel, was a great discovery. They had a very good range of wines and foods not experienced in traditional outlets, and the friendly staff made it a pleasure to visit. Overall the experience was very good and the hotel & reception staff friendly and polite.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie2250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

If you would like to stay somewhere incredible in the Blue Mountains, then look not past this wonderful hotel buit in the early 1900's and restored beautifully to cater for a more discerning crowd. With gorgeous state rooms and, grand ballroom and antiques everywhere for the eye to see, The Carrington Hotel engages you from the moment you look at her. If you are not interested in the history or it's beauty, definitely stay somewhere else. The floors creek like all good old hotels should and so too the lift to your rooms, reminds me of the Jack Nicholson movie the Shining, in a good way though. It's a mature hotel, and why would it cater for small children, it's a precious environment and more enjoyed by adults. Children will appreciate the surrounds when they are much older, and I'm sure there are camping grounds near by to better suit their happy playfulness. Or just get a babysitter and truly enjoy this adult beauty. I was thrilled to be able to stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RacingRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We had heard about this lovely hotel from family members who often go for a week end

The hotel is so lovely we parked around the side in the hotel grounds then walked to the entrance I felt we had gone back in time the veranda goes right across the front of the building and people sat there looking very comfortable and relaxed smiling and happy

It is set back from the road a well manicured lawn lay outstretched in front

Inside those at the front desk were polite and not over friendly

The room itself was awful very tiny and a sealed window with no view the bathroom very old and run down
next time I have been advised to book early and ask for a corner room as they are larger

That didn't worry me so much for the dinning room made up for what the room lacked

Full of Old world charm is the best way I could describe it with Paintings on and around the ceiling one of the rooms leading to the dining room was full of old beautiful paintings the kind you would expect to see in an art Gallery

Unfortunately the breakfast was a real let down nothing charming about this serve yourself
packet cereal packaged jam packaged butter stand in line for the toaster , milk, and juice and if your quick enough you may get french pastry

don't get me wrong I have had many self serve brekkies but it just didn't go with the old world charm I loved about this place

Maybe they had a dinning setting and service for breakfast I had left it to late to find out but next time that would be the way to go

Don't expect a large rambling hotel it isn't but it is different a place that has charm and grace and it is old

Across from the hotel is very nice restaurant and next to that an antique store you can wander around and forget the time of day

I did find the whole hotel very dark they could have done with a lot more lighting and a lot more smiley faces

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sassafraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This is a really beautiful and comfortable hotel with large spacious public areas. I met some friends here one Tuesday morning to have a coffee in the lounge area. We ordered drinks and pastries and settled in for a chat. After we had finished our drinks (90 minutes) a blonde lady (owner or manager) asked us to leave saying that we (and our babies) were in the way and she advised us to find somewhere else to go. She also said that we were bothering other patrins and hotel users and that if we wanted to return we should book a room. My friend informed her that we had not seen any other patrons during our coffee and that we had not made any noise, but this lady told us that we were not welcome. We left at this point. While I can understand that some customers might not like to drink coffee within earshot of crying babies, it seemed harsh as we had been quiet and our 5 month old children well behaved. If they do not welcome customers with children or babies, I think they should say this before selling us our drinks. Ultimately, it was not what she said but the way she said it that we found particularly alienating. Very aggressive. Parents should think twice before drinking or staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rebecca g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I have stayed at the Carrington on many occasions. This is a wonderful old hotel. The staff are always helpful. Admittedly the rooms can vary in quality-but all in all one cannot really complain.
Dinner in the grand dining room is a very nice experience. Prices are very good and the atmosphere is first class. I love the nice man who plays the piano.
There is a spa located within the hotel and it offers excellent package deals. The bar is also a pleasant place to while an hour or so away.
Do yourself a favour and stay there.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor, and you will be rewarded by great views
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews