We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still beautiful but standard needs addressing ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Having stayed here before on several occasions when under previous ownership, we were keen to see if it remained as good.

The answer is - it is very good but not 5 star.

Location excellent.
Staff delightful and helpful.
Rooms very good but ageing.
Food good (excludes Darleys)
Overall ambience excellent.

Presenting itself as 5 star, there is some corners being cut which ensures it does not reach 5 star e.g.

Breakfast buffet is no longer a la carte.
Any variations from the breakfast buffet is extra$.
If you want a boiled egg you pay for it! (I would expect when paying $35 per head a boiled egg is not too much to ask.)
Breakfast in room then add another $10!
No complimentary water in rooms for in house guests
No snack biscuits in room.
No evening turn down service.
Etc.

These are generally inexpensive customer service expectations, however, if you want you pay, even though the tariff being high should cover.

We still thoroughly enjoyed our visit but the guest experience has slipped due mostly to minor cost saving/revenue measures being introduced which are quite simply, annoying.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Dominator22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,652)
There are newer reviews for Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 1,652 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2017

Spent two nights in this charming hotel located right on the edge of of the gourge. Great place to stay as you have the parkland almost to your self before ten in the morning and after about five in the afternoon. Our room was very large and while we did not look out on the park we had a nice view of the hotel​ grounds. Did not use the indoor or outdoor pools but played cards in one of the game rooms.

The only problem I have with the hotel is food and drinks are expensive and not anything special. It is a walk to town so your dinning options are pretty limited, it's dinner at this hotel or the one next store. That said if you have a car I can't think of a hotel I would rather stay at in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank jsthouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We stayed at this lovely resort for two nights in early March 2017. We had a king room with garden view. This was a beautifully appointed, medium sized room wth ensuite, free wifi, Foxtel and free to air TV. The bed was very comfortable and as was the lounge chair snuggled away in the corner of the room. There are all the normal things in the room - tea, coffee, refrigerator filled with things to buy, iron and ironing board, desk, safe, toiletries Etc.
As the weather was poor (low clouds, rain etc) we spent time in the indoor heated pool and the library. The billiard room was also enjoyable.

The service from the front desk to the dining area was great - attentive and responsive to requests.

This is a lovely place to stay close to Echo Point and with low midweek rates for very good rooms I highly recommend t for a few nights in The Blue Mountains.

Room Tip: There are good quality rooms ar very reasonable rates without valley views. If you want to see Mega...
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear Michael G,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa.

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a great 2 night stay, enjoyed the facilities and that our team looked after you.

I hope we can welcome you back to Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Stayed here as part of my partners 50th birthday Australia tour . Having stayed at Cape lodge (Margaret river area) and ALamanda ,Palm Cove expected level of servic e to match these establishments but was sadly disappointed .
Arriving at 6 pm on Thursday evening was well looked after by front Desk who answered all our tourist questions .
Our luggage was brought to our room but the porter failed to point out where the safe was or give the usual explanations of how things work in the room APpeared he wanted to get away as fast as possible
Decided we just wanted a light evening bite so visted the bar /lounge area. Waited for 5 minutes to be seated. My partner is gluten intolerant so needed to clarify what was in the 'Provençal chicken '. We assumed it would be chicken in a French style tomato based sauce . The waiter could not describe what it was -when it came it was cajun chicken .
The service was slow .
Despite this we decided for the Friday evening to do the same arriving in the bar area at 7 pm .
Being Friday the area was even busier it taking 8 minutes to be seated .
We placed an order for a gin Collins and a glass of wine . It took 20 minutes to come !
Due to the gluten issue we tried to find out if the aubergine dish with 'dukka' was gluten free .
The waiter had no idea but said he would find out . He didn't -when another waiter brought the dish there was no dukka as it was not gluten free no explanation just some aubergine and little else . We asked for a side salad -we are still waiting .
When clearing the dishes the waiter asked if everything was ok -we said no explaining the above . no response no apology nothing .
We asked for the bill . 10 minutes later no bill asked again it arrived in seconds .
Our conclusions Apparently the place has changed hands and the lack of service one reasonably might expect from such a place suggests cost cutting poorly trained and poorly motivated staff . Much of the time the staff had their heads down and did not know what to say .
Given these shortcomings I put in writing my complaints and observations in a letter to the general manager .that was Saturday we left Sunday morning no comment
The hotel has my e mail address but no communication
In summary a hotel in a beautiful location whose service levels are not up to the standard that one would expect

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller trevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa.

I am glad to hear that we were part of your partner's 50th Birthday Australian tour. I am however disappointed to read that on this occasion we failed in some areas to provide you with the service, and attention that we are striving to achieve and be renowned for.

I hope you accept my apologies, and rest assured all issues and short comings raised will be addressed with the Food & Beverage Manager and the Front Office Manager.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Although the grand entrance and lounge area remain beautiful, the location undeniably superb, Lialianfels has lost its shine. It's tired, and so looked the staff. Specifically, the mattress on the bed had an uncomfortable 'cheap' feel that made me feel like I was bumped around on the ocean at my every move - and the poorly fitted brass bed head disturbed sleep. The bathroom showed its age.
You know when staff feel less enthusiastic in a general sense? The guy who carried the bags was cheerful and an exception to the staff, especially the duty manager who's face said it all. Breakfast, once with a menu, had some nice fresh fruit but the service ( and noise) felt more like a cafeteria.
Lilianfels can restore the high level it once prided - but it will take a morale boost, some significant money spent in a face lift, and a bit more generosity of spirit to its valued customers who pay a lot to stay here and leave feeling poor value for money.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view and a decent bed
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sam22Sam22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear Sam22Sam22,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa.

I am disappointed to read that on this occasion we failed in some areas to provide you with the service, and attention that we are striving to achieve and be renowned for.

I hope you accept my apologies, and rest assured all issues raised will be addressed with the relevant departments.

I hope I will see you again soon at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.8 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
944 reviews
0.1 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
10.4 km away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.9 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
1.2 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains

Address: 5-19 Lilianfels Ave, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: $264 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilianfels Resort and Spa is a renowned haven for relaxation in one of Australia's most beautiful destinations. This multi-award winning hotel & resort is set amidst two acres of manicured gardens, overlooking the most spectacular scenery in the World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park in NSW, Australia.Blue Mountains Accommodation | Blue Mountains HotelLilianfels Resort and Spa is a 5 Star resort with 85 Deluxe rooms and Suites. Onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor pool, tennis court, billiard/games room, library and gym. Lilianfels is perfectly located within 5 minutes walk to the iconic 3 sisters rock formation at Echo Point and is close to all major attractions including Scenic World, Leura shopping village and award winning restaurants. Blue Mountains Dining | Blue Mountains RestaurantSituated within the grounds of the historic homestead of Sir Frederick Darley, Lilianfels is home to the multi-award winning Darleys Restaurant which features the best seasonal produce from the region, served in an elegant and romantic setting that is unmistakeably fine dining. Celebrate that special occasion in glamour and experience the revival of Lilianfels 'Old World Charm' as we invite you to peruse and tempt your palette with our new A La Carte Menu.Re-discover why our Multi-Award winning Restaurant excels again in style and service.Blue Mountains Conferences | Blue Mountains MeetingsWith meeting and events space for up to 100 guests complete with state-of-the-art equipment, 85 spacious accommodation rooms to house your delegates, and a fabulous array of fine dining options to choose from, it’s the ideal setting for meetings and conferences which will show your colleagues or clients how much you value them.Blue Mountains WeddingsThis European style country house hotel specialises in smaller weddings and events of up to 100 people. Personalised service, exceptional facilities and thoughtful attention to detail, accompanied by stunning views of the Jamison Valley make the hotel the ideal wedding venue.Blue Mountains Spa | Blue Mountains Beauty TreatmentsLilianfels is also renowned for its Spa. Guests can indulge in an array of soothing spa treatments individually tailored to refresh and rejuvenate. Enliven your senses with our soothing and restorative body and beauty treatments delivered by a team of caring and talented spa professionals.Dining with Spectacular Views at our sister property – Echoes RestaurantDiscover why Echoes Restaurant was awarded best regional restaurant in Australia by AHA in 2012. The combination of fine dining and spectacular views of the Jamison Valley have made Echoes a destination in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort And Spa
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Katoomba
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing