We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Little Chiller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Mountains Gday Motel
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Reviewed 3 April 2017

I stayed here with my husband and two daughters (aged 12 and 1) in March for two nights. The carpark was a little frustrating to get into as its parallel parking in a tight squeeze. The motel is 10 metres from the Great Western Highway and right next to the train station so its very loud 98% of the time. I reserved by booking online and didn't realise you had to complete the transaction through the computerised customer service machine and had to call the manager (who was not on-site) to come down and complete my transaction and issue my keys (which would usually drop from the machine). The room was outdated but neat, very cold on entering and the heater (which was apparently competing with the noise outside) took a while to heat the room. The amenities were good but the toaster was rusty looking. The bathroom was scary and a bit dirty looking (definitely behind the toilet) was freezing and unwelcoming with no vanity. You have to wash hands, brush teeth etc in the kitchette area. The rooms are serviced once a day and are clean. No hand towels though. Not family friendly, definitely not toddler friendly as there are viewable plugs and cords everywhere. Not worth the $130 a night we paid. No customer service. No warmth.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samiti_Sam86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Blue Mountains Gday Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this motel while on a work trip. The parking was too tight and difficult to negate. I woke up to knocking on my door at 9pm at night because the neighbouring patron could not get their car past mine - car parks were too tight and angled awkwardly.

Very noisy at night. Constant sounds of loud motorbikes and hoons driving up the highway.

Walls of rooms allowed noise to transmit through. My room had a door to the next room. The door was thin and hollow and allowed me to hear the neighbours conversations all night.

Constant banging of doors and goodness knows what from neighbouring rooms.

The fridge kept making a loud bang and rattle every half hour that woke me up constantly from my sleep.

The smoke alarm kept uttering an unusually loud "beeep" which was a sign the owner had not changed the battery in ages!

Bathroom was tight and so small could not sit normally on toilet. I am a short person too! Couldnt imagine how uncomfortable it would be for a tall person.

Rough looking people smoking and talking out the front of my room all night and first thing in morning.

At least bed linen was clean...

An unpleasant stay and definitely not worth the money. Better off at a youth hostel!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank kurtisjlinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Worst place to stay. Very very Noisy and not a hand towel in sight, one must wash hands in the sink or bath. Cheap and nasty would not let a dog stay here. Shower leaks and either is squirting on the roof or all over the room.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank ooloo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We read the reviews before we went and expected to have a dreadful night. This motel is quite old and the rooms are small, it is situated between the highway and the railway. I wouldn't want to stay there mid-week because the road and rail traffic would be horrendous but it was quiet on a Saturday night after about 10pm... except for the people having a party until 3.30am. The shower was hot and the bed was OK and the price was good compared to others in town. But it is as budget as they come.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Made the mistake of not looking closely at the location. Wedged between rail line and great western highway this is the noisiest place ever, add to that a rattling air conditioner and sleep did not figure into my night. Positives are the beds are good, good tea making facilities, clean room. Sadly the water pressure in the shower was a trickle. Don't stay here.
Overall a tired motel which could be improved with good sound proofing and an upgrade to the air conditioning and plumbing.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere no sleep to be had, no quiet rooms
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Loretta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.0 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
945 reviews
2.3 km away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
167 reviews
1.7 km away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
291 reviews
2.5 km away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
492 reviews
1.4 km away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountains Gday Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountains Gday Motel

Address: Blue Mountains Hospital 181 Great Western Hwy, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range: $102 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Mountains Gday Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Mountains Gday Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountains Gday Motel Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing