We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 Explorers Motel
Nearby Hotels
The Carrington Hotel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
USD 121
USD 97
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Metropole Guesthouse(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
USD 107
USD 76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Katoomba Town Centre(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
USD 117
USD 99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sky Rider Motor Inn(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
USD 78
USD 75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 80
USD 75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Alpine Motor Inn(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
USD 98
USD 85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Sisters Motel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
USD 93
USD 86
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
USD 125
USD 93
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 271
USD 252
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
151
154
43
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
154
43
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate shopecho pointscenic worldthree sisterswalking distancegreat locationfamily roomblue mountainsthe owner managerroom was cleangreat place to staysingle bedspa roomshort drivecable carquiet areagood size
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2017

A great room for three people and very close to the Hop On/Hop Off bus stop. Chocolate shop right across the street too. We stayed several nights and were very pleased with the room. The heated blankets worked great on the colder nights or just as a heating pad for sore muscles from so much hiking. Easy walk to the Three Sisters. Really clean and comfortable. I highly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Queen bed and a single bed was excellent for three travelers. We were on first floor and had a wonderful quiet room.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review , delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Good hotel in a convenient location. We got the room with the spa. I don't understand why some reviewers have complained of it being too small. The size was fine for us. The spa was really great. The room was clean and had everything that we needed.
The owner/manager of the hotel was helpful with advice and had a lot of local knowledge. He is very strict about smoking so I wouldn't recommend the hotel to heavy smokers as their would no doubt be some awkwardness.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laurel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review, pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

So clean, so comfortable, so warm (and cool if needed). What else can I say?
On arrival at reception we were given a heap of extremely useful information which panned out to be accurate the following day when visiting local attractions and driving into town. All marked on a map for us.
Make sure you put you order for breakfast in by 6:30pm - no compromise, even when you have forgotten that you are an hour ahead of home!!
Beds made daily and towels changed if you so wish. Plenty of tea and coffee - even biscuits, not that common these days!
Good sized fridge, microwave etc and a clothes line already up in the bathroom.
All rooms have been refurbished beautifully so feel quite modern. Close to Three Sisters and Echo Point. Transport (bus, trolley) outside door and opposite is the decadent chocolate shop. Only $8.50 cab from a great Chinese restaurant.
Well I did find more to say but probably didn't need to. All great if you stick by the rules!!!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review, pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Overpriced room that felt like a converted storeroom with clearly audible conversations happening on the other side of a locked door inside the room. Then the manager becomes incredibly rude on check out. Have never experienced anything like it. I felt like I was in an episode of Fawlty Towers. Bizarre and unpleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stonestacy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time offer a review & allowing us to reply, you booked our last room & had to settle for our Motel rather that a 5 star Hotel, we certainly felt that you were neither impressed with the Motel or the Room on arrival, as per the confirmation we send.
"We would like to remind Guests that we do not offer or advertise, a Restaurant, Self Catering, Mountain views or rooms with a balcony, but the Motel is situated 250 metres from Echo Point (also the Echo Point Information Centre) & of course the Famous Three Sisters, also we clearly state that we are 2.5 Klms from the Town Centre."
So no hope for us that you intended to enjoy your stay. As per normal accommodation was in short supple for the week end, despite having very thick fog, rain & cold weather, all our Guests enjoyed their stay, you found the heating on in your room & were given directions for the area, as for your comment of being extremely rude, we find this quite amazing, should a Guest inform us that they would not return, we would not class this as extremely rude, just their choice, in turn you were informed "please do not come again" in these words, no rudeness just our choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Room was very good , clean and well managed everything with coffee/tea, cookies with mini fridge.
I am surprised when they offer us morning break fast on my time.
Internet is free with friendly staff.
I love to visit again.
Thanks for making good experience.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank laxp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review , delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews