We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Simple but Comfortable Hotel”
Review of 3 Explorers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
3 Explorers Motel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We reserved a Spa room, which was small, but comfy. There was a towel heater in the bathroom, which was nice. And a fridge, microwave, too! The hotel is 2 blocks from the Echo Point lookout, so easy walking. The manager is very nice and helpful with information about the area. And there is free parking, which is essential, since all the day trippers from Sydney take up all the street parking, not to mention that the street parking is outrageously ($4/hr) expensive!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review, pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for 3 Explorers Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2017

A great room for three people and very close to the Hop On/Hop Off bus stop. Chocolate shop right across the street too. We stayed several nights and were very pleased with the room. The heated blankets worked great on the colder nights or just as a heating pad for sore muscles from so much hiking. Easy walk to the Three Sisters. Really clean and comfortable. I highly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Queen bed and a single bed was excellent for three travelers. We were on first floor and had a wond...
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review , delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Good hotel in a convenient location. We got the room with the spa. I don't understand why some reviewers have complained of it being too small. The size was fine for us. The spa was really great. The room was clean and had everything that we needed.
The owner/manager of the hotel was helpful with advice and had a lot of local knowledge. He is very strict about smoking so I wouldn't recommend the hotel to heavy smokers as their would no doubt be some awkwardness.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review, pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

So clean, so comfortable, so warm (and cool if needed). What else can I say?
On arrival at reception we were given a heap of extremely useful information which panned out to be accurate the following day when visiting local attractions and driving into town. All marked on a map for us.
Make sure you put you order for breakfast in by 6:30pm - no compromise, even when you have forgotten that you are an hour ahead of home!!
Beds made daily and towels changed if you so wish. Plenty of tea and coffee - even biscuits, not that common these days!
Good sized fridge, microwave etc and a clothes line already up in the bathroom.
All rooms have been refurbished beautifully so feel quite modern. Close to Three Sisters and Echo Point. Transport (bus, trolley) outside door and opposite is the decadent chocolate shop. Only $8.50 cab from a great Chinese restaurant.
Well I did find more to say but probably didn't need to. All great if you stick by the rules!!!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review, pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Overpriced room that felt like a converted storeroom with clearly audible conversations happening on the other side of a locked door inside the room. Then the manager becomes incredibly rude on check out. Have never experienced anything like it. I felt like I was in an episode of Fawlty Towers. Bizarre and unpleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stonestacy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time offer a review & allowing us to reply, you booked our last room & had to settle for our Motel rather that a 5 star Hotel, we certainly felt that you were neither impressed with the Motel or the Room on arrival, as per the confirmation we send.
"We would like to remind Guests that we do not offer or advertise, a Restaurant, Self Catering, Mountain views or rooms with a balcony, but the Motel is situated 250 metres from Echo Point (also the Echo Point Information Centre) & of course the Famous Three Sisters, also we clearly state that we are 2.5 Klms from the Town Centre."
So no hope for us that you intended to enjoy your stay. As per normal accommodation was in short supple for the week end, despite having very thick fog, rain & cold weather, all our Guests enjoyed their stay, you found the heating on in your room & were given directions for the area, as for your comment of being extremely rude, we find this quite amazing, should a Guest inform us that they would not return, we would not class this as extremely rude, just their choice, in turn you were informed "please do not come again" in these words, no rudeness just our choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.6 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
944 reviews
1.7 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
0.2 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
2.4 km away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
412 reviews
0.1 km away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#8 of 15 in Katoomba
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Explorers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Explorers Motel

Address: 197 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: $116 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Explorers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your 3 Explorers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Explorers Hotel Katoomba
3 Explorers Motel Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing