We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
313
31
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
31
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dame nellie spa bath blue mountains home made cakes room was beautifully decorated b bs every morning both mornings quiet street restaurants and shops great hosts two nights a wonderful stay the main street izzy port suite
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016

My fiancé and I stayed for a relaxing weekend at Melba House, we enjoyed the Dame Edna suite.
The house is incredible & the room is so luxurious! Sue has thought of everything, her eye to detail from the styling to the breakfast was perfect.
Izzy her adorable dog was the highlight of our mornings.

The Edna Suite has a fireplace which Sue set up for us on our second night, we had daily spa baths & could both fit comfortably. The heating is perfectly controlled and we also had electric blankets.
The location is just a short walk from Katoomba St & only 10 mins from the station. We arrived by train & Sue called before arrival to make sure we're arriving safe.

Very attentive & absolutely lovely, we will definitely be back again!!!

Room Tip: Authentic mountain experience
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbahouse, Owner at Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

It was lovely helping you celebrate your recent engagement. Romance was in the air and Dame Edna Suite was just the right suite for celebrations . I'm sure its something to do with the cerise pink furnishings. It's the colour of " Love !". Good wishes for your life together. Sue and Issy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Melba House is a treat in Edwardian architecture and style. Decorated with beautiful Laura Ashley fabrics, chandeliers and special tassel touches, Sue provides an elegant, extremely comfortable and lovely place to rest and relax. The inclusion of Izzy the American Spaniel adds a delightful encounter, and I thoroughly enjoyed my nine night stay.

Room Tip: The three rooms are all beautiful
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megan006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbahouse, Owner at Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

How lucky was Issy and I have such a lovely lady stay with us for nine nights ! So pleased you enjoyed your well deserved break Meg . It was like having an 'ol friend stay. Melba House has had such lovely guests which is a joy for me. Please stay in touch and maybe visit again to recharge. warm regards Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We had a very enjoyable stay at Melba House and hope to visit again sometime. We stayed in the Dame Nellie suite which was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We slept very well- the bed was comfy and the house quiet. The breakfast was delicious and catered for my dietary requirements as a vegetarian. We enjoyed the DVD, book and board game collection and loved the open fireplace. Sue was a friendly host & Izzy the dog was absolutely gorgeous!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbahouse, Owner at Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

thanks so much for your review. You had the perfect Mountain weather to stay by the fire and enjoy the luxurious Dame Nellie Suite and totally relax from your busy schedules. I look forward to your return so you can enjoy breakfast on the veranda on a sunny mountain day! Warm regards Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Stayed in the Dame Joan suite on Sunday and Monday night, which was lovely - the electric blankets were great! Sue has thought of everything, from the extensive DVD collection which happened to contain most of my all-time favourite movies, to the delicious generous breakfast and home made brownies on arrival.
The room was very quiet and private, and had a plush cosy feel which was perfect as it was so chilly outside. All the little touches like the port, cookies and chocolate were gorgeous, and it felt so much more luxurious than any hotel room I've stayed at. Sue even loaned us some gloves and a beanie when she saw us heading outside for a bushwalk. What an asset to Katoomba - I can't wait to come back! It's also really close to town and fabulous cafe the Yellow Deli is only a 2 minute walk.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbahouse, Owner at Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Great that you enjoyed the DVD collection in the privacy of your suite after you had enjoyed your days exploring the beautiful Blue Mountains. Glad the Brownies were a hit ! Chris I do hope we'll see you again for another Mountain escape. Thanks for your review, another $10 to Ovarian cancer Research ! Cheers Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Being greeted every morning by a wagging tail and a piping hot breakfast was the highlight! The room was beautiful and well maintained and centrally located to all of Katoomba's hot spots. Would definitely come again!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tora_annieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbahouse, Owner at Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

So happy you liked my wagging tail, I've been practicing ! Issy & I are looking forward to your return visit . Thanks for taking time to review Melba House, we do appreciate it. Kind regards Sue & Issy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews