We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good cold beer and wine, average food”

Little Jack Horner Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 107 Restaurants in Coogee
Neighbourhood: Coogee
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Coogee
Reviewed 6 April 2018

What a great spot this is. Quick polite service. Good music. Good selection of beers and wines though a little pricey. The food though could be improved. We had their signature Seafood Platter for 2 with drinks for $49. I was offered a Stella beer and my partner a nice white wine. Tick! The seafood platter came in quick time. Tick! The Fish (2), fresh prawns (4) and oysters (2) and lightly battered calamari were quite good. Tick! Chips were nice too. But the baby octopus (and far too much of it) could not be eaten as it was tasteless and more like rubber blubber. A polite complaint and they gave us the choice of something else so we had more calamari. Overall the seafood platter is barely enough for 2 people - more like a light lunch. But when you take the cost of the beer and wine out of the equation its not bad for around $32.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amayzingone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

I had the Prawn, Cucumber & Macadamia Salad which was awesome! It had mango and toasted coconut also. $19.90 AU including a beverage. I was solo but sat outside and had tons to look at. It’s on a busy corner right across the street from Coogee Beach. My waitstaff were friendly and efficient. It was moderately priced. There is inside seating as well.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Heidi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Over this Easter weekend staying at Coogee, I enjoyed breakfast on three occasions at Little Jack Horner. The menu had variety so plenty to choose from, especially the Avocado and Bacon bruschetta and the Spanish omelette. I’d certainly recommend having a meal there but request an inside table rather than on the footpath on Arden Street.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

The waiters hardly even acknowledged us when we arrived. Didn’t smile, just grabbed menus and took us to a table.
We waited a minimum of 1 hour for our food. Horrible. To make matters worse, once our food came, the steak (steak and chips) was tiny and our tuna and salmon poké salad came without tuna and salmon!!!! Told the waitress where she replied with a half-witted “interesting...” and took the bowl away.
Never ever returning. Horrible service.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank selenale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Very expensive and drink prices are ridiculous $20 for 150 ml glass of Cloudy bay Nz Sav Blanc , food average at best . Menu that is advertised outside was not available once we sat down. Seafood platter increased from $50 as advertised to $70 and when received it well very disappointed .

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Elroy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Jack Horner Restaurant also viewed

 
Coogee, Randwick
 

Been to Little Jack Horner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing