We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not impressed!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfside Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Surfside Backpackers
birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not impressed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We could have stayed in the crowne plaza for the same price- i was told the error in charging would be refunded but the member of staff able to do refunds wasn't there. Now they ignore emails and surprisingly I have seen none of the money. Locked out on arrival due to office times. Shower had no lock. Disappointed really.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scanii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    13
    12
    16
    62
See reviews for
Families
0
8
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Dirty.....yes, not the best service....true enough.....best times of my life......definitely! Come on people it's a HOSTEL not a HOTEL. I will always look back at my time with real affection and a fondness for the memories that are up there with my wedding and child being born! Surf side rocks!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattblue78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

My boyfriend and I arrived at the Hostel at 9.45pm. Upon arrival we soon realised that we had been locked out of the Hostel and were left waiting outside for 20 minutes. Luckily another guest arrived who let us into the building. Furthermore we were left to wait another 20 minutes as we were informed that the receptionist was "getting pissed" at the bar across the road. Finally we were given our room keys but told that we would have to check in in the morning as the receptionist was eager to return to his bar. We walked into our room to find filthy, slept-in bedding on both beds (They actually had flakes of skin in!!!!). In addition the room was boiling hot and combined with the lack of cleanliness in the room - it made it completely unbearable. There was the smallest windows and no AC or fans on a 30+ degree day!!!!
We attempted to have a shower but the bathrooms were even worse than the filthy room. Inevitably we left the hostel without even staying a night but were unable to check out properly as the member of staff had headed straight back to the bar.
We lost all our money and have recieved the worst customer service from the manager since!!!!!! RUDE RUDE RUDE!!!!!!

Photographs to follow...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellerGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coogee hotels

Santiago, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

Please do not stay here. It may have a good location but that is where the benefits end. Just to give you a picture of the place. You arrive at the entrance door and there is always Mcdonalds rubbish lying there with cockroaches rummaging through it. There are then 59 steps up to the reception area as there is no lift. The receptionist will then ask you for a $30 key deposit each and then inform you that this is not fully refundable as some of this goes towards paying the cleaning staff. We opened the door to our private double room and found sand everywhere, the rooms are not clean. There was huge luminated exit sign in our room, this indicates that the room was recently converted from a corridor space and they have not bothered to remove this sign. The exit sign lighted up the room at night and it was very hard to sleep. The main dorms look like prison cells, people have to resort to getting extremely drunk in order to sleep in the rooms. The rooms do not look remotely like the photos on the website. I hope this gives you a truer reflection of the place. It was so bad we did not bother to stay for the last night of our trip and moved elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noelearley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

This isn't a hostel to stay at if you want peace and quiet. People are running around all day and night being social. Most of the rooms are pretty big although the one I stayed in (mixed 6) was quite small, but still fine. The common area is great for meeting people - it's very open and there is a big dinner table to gather around and play cards etc. The view is great - right across from coogee beach! The bathrooms are fine too - I never once had to wait for a shower, and I woke at pretty normal times (9a, although maybe that is early for backpackers!). I would come back and stay here. I read all of the bad reviews and I think people need to understand that it's a hostel - it's not supposed to be luxurious and quiet. It's where people who want cheap accommodation go to and also where people meet, so yes, it's going to be loud.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tifina11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coogee hotels
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 7 in Coogee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel Pub-Style Rooms
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 7 in Coogee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Backpackers

Property: Surfside Backpackers
Address: 186 Arden St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Coogee
Price range (per night): $28 - $135
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Surfside Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Backpackers Hotel Coogee
Surfside Backpackers Coogee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing