We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roaches in the bathroom and a banging baseline until midnight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Okay, first up we are not complainers. This is an honest review that we would have wished to have read before booking to stay here. We are a family of four : kids aged 8 and 11.

The room was okay, reasonably clean and had all the bits that you would want. Bingo!

On the first night, midway through the night, we switched on the bathroom light and spotted a cockroach run across the floor into a grill on the bath cavity. We reported this and the room was sprayed. Second night, coming back from a night out, the same thing. Again, we reported it. The room was sprayed again.Third night, the same again.

We asked if there was an alternative room but there was nothing suitable. We asked if we cold cancel and get a refund and find another hotel but was told there was a three day cancellation notice policy (we only had 4 more days). We thought the best idea was just to leave the light on in the bathroom all night to discourage the roaches. It did seem to work.

Then Friday night happen. Booming baseline from an adjacent bar from about 7pm to midnight. This continued on Saturday and Sunday night. Yep, I get that some people want to have a knees up. I don't want to stop people from doing that. In fact, that would have been me in there 20 years ago. But I would have preferred to have know this before we had booked.

By posting this review, I hope people make the right choice for them. If these "issues" are acceptable to you, then go for it. but if they are not, then perhaps reconsider.......

Room Tip: Super noisy until midnight on Friday, Saturday and Sunday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Steve L,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of of your recent stay with, my sincere apologies that you found it to be less than satisfactory. In relation to the cockroach problem that you mentioned, I can inform you that the room has since been fumigated as are all of the rooms on a quarterly basis. Being in a beautiful and warm beach-side location means that every now and then an unwanted visitor is inevitable, especially with guests leaving balcony and courtyard doors open to enjoy the ocean breeze. In terms of the note made regarding the pavilion, our friendly reception team are available 24 hours a day to assist you with any issues that may arise including noise complaints. We have a relationship with the Pavilion management and may have been able to resolve this had we been informed.

My apologies again for a less than satisfactory stay and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Coogee Sands Hotel and Apartments in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2017

The location could not have been better, just half a minute walk to the beach, through a beautiful garden. Rooms are spacious and service was impeccable. I am glad I chose this hotel for my Sydney trip. Keep up the good work guys.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ambience4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear ambience4u,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback, I am delighted that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one.

We hope to welcome you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We had two weeks in Australia. We chose this place for our first night and last nights stay. Only twenty five minutes from the airport and ten minutes from the Rocks and the Opera house. If you stay in Sydney proper you'll be looking at $50 plus parking per night at your hotel besides the hotel room! This place has secured indoor free parking with direct access to the elevator. Walking distance to multiple really good restaurants, 150 feet to the beach. Well stocked mini bar. Rooftop access has lounge chairs, tables, sofas and a great view. In the flight pattern for the airport, so a little noisy but still acceptable.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RcbMtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear RcbRms,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely a review of your recent stay with us, we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Coogee Sands Hotel and Apartments in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

This hotel is perfect for a quick business trip or a change from the usual Sydney scene. It's located directly across from the Coogee Beach and has an amazing rooftop area where you have incredible views of the ocean and sydney landscape. They have heaps of lounges and deck chair to enjoy the view. The hotel is also attached to the Pavillion which has amazing food and an incredible vibe to it of a night. Also if you are up for it, there is an incredible walking/running track that takes you to Bondi right along the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elleri11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Elleri11,

Thank you for your feedback. We agree Coogee is a fantastic location right on the beach and just a short bus trip into the city centre. Our staff especially love hearing about a guests positive reviews so we will be sure to pass yours on to them!

I just wanted to note that although we agree that the Coogee Pavilion has amazing food and an incredible vibe to it, we are not affiliated with them.

Looking forward to welcoming you back Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

An excellent spot to stay for a couples weekend or one away with a group of friends. Opposite the beach & park. Very easy walk to all restaurants & the coastal walk. Rooms on the small side, have toaster, microwave & jug if you want to make a quick snack. Bathroom compact, good parking facility.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 907mandye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear 907mandye,

Thank you for your feedback. We agree Coogee is a fantastic location right on the beach and just a short bus trip into the city centre. Our staff especially love hearing about a guests positive reviews so we will be sure to pass yours on to them!
Looking forward to welcoming you back Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee Sydney
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
254 reviews
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments

Address: 161 - 167 Dolphin St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Price Range: $157 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just 20 metres from Coogee Beach, Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments is a 4 star property with a selection of Studio rooms, all with kitchenettes (microwave, sink, crockery, cutlery) and apartment style accommodation. The Hotel offers complimentary undercover parking (subject to availability), wireless internet, 24 hour Reception and a Rooftop Sundeck and BBQ overlooking the ocean for guests to enjoy. Enjoy the vibrant local cafe culture of one of Sydney's most picturesque beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coogee Sands Hotel And Apartments
Coogee Sands Hotel Apartments
Coogee Sands Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing