We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay on weekends unless you sleep well through loud music”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Clean and spacious room, comfortable bed. We had a third floor room with a view of a brick wall. As it's right next to Coogee Pavilion we got a lot of noise on Friday and Saturday night. If you either sleep well though an incessant thump thump thump beat, or at the place dancing to thump thump thump music, or too pissed to care and you can sleep through anything then this is the hotel for you. Great location but was more like a glamorous backpackers than a luxury hotel. Other much nicer places to stay in the area without the background music.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a high floor as we had a view of a brick wall on level 3. Literally looked str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hberman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent a night here.
We had. Room with a partial sea view which was just fine.
The Coogee Sands is in a busy area of Coogee which is very handy if you enjoy the beach, great walking areas, nice restaurants and nightlife.
The room was very clean and well fitted out.
The staff were very friendly and I would definitely recommend staying here but make sure you book a room with a partial or full sea view.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jeffs_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Dear Jeffs_nz,

Thank you for your feedback. We agree Coogee is a fantastic location right on the beach and just a short bus trip into the city centre. Our staff especially love hearing about a guests positive reviews so we will be sure to pass yours on to them!
Looking forward to welcoming you back Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We spent just a night here, having flown into Sydney that afternoon before heading off in a road trip down the NSW South Coast. It was easy to find, brilliantly located right by Coogee Beach and the reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. The only reason I didn't rate this hotel a 5 was our room's bathroom and the hallways are a bit tired and the noise from the surrounding air conditioning units outside was noisier than than surf crashing on the beach. So despite the warm, humid March night, we had to sleep with the window closed. On the plus side, the room's air conditioning was really quiet. We'd certainly stay here again. Had fantastic meals at Coogee Pavillion next door and a bakery/cafe on Coogee Beach Rd, as well as a fantastic walk up in the park before setting off on our road trip.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NZ_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Dear NZ_Kate,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We certainly agree that we have a lot to offer our guests and think that Coogee itself is a fantastic location. We will pass on your comments to our staff as they are sure to appreciate your wonderful feedback!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments,

warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Myself, my husband and daughter stayed here for a Saturday and Sunday night, we had a room with a balcony that had ocean views. We thought the rooms might be noisy because the property is right next to the Coogee Pavilion but we were very pleasantly surprised that the sliding door cut out virtually all noise. The room was comfortable and clean. The kitchen was great, especially having the bench space and microwave, fridge, kettle etc. The staff were fantastic and were very helpful and accommodating. The parking was easily accessible and had wide spaces to fit all types of cars. We really loved the fact that you didn't need to cross the busy road to get to the beach, you just walked out of the Hotel and you were virtually on the beach. I loved that the stairs between the floors were open so you didn't have to always take the lift. The Hotel is very close to the bus (373) that takes you straight into Circular Quay (takes 30 mins) which we took on the Sunday - very cheap for a family ($10.70 for three of us). The best thing about the whole place was the access to the rooftop balcony!!! OMG it was fantastic!!!! We took our wine and snacks up there for our "Happy Hour" each night and watched the sunset and took lots of photos. We really loved it at the Coogee Sands Hotel and will definitely come back, we won't stay anywhere else in Coogee again!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gr0nk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Dear gr0nk,

Thank you for your feedback. We agree Coogee is a fantastic location right on the beach and just a short bus trip into the city centre. Our staff especially love hearing about a guests positive reviews so we will be sure to pass yours on to them!
Looking forward to welcoming you back Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments,

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

My wife and I stayed here last June. Unfortunately we were only there for a day. Great views and right next to the beach walk. I would assume it can only be better during the spring/summer. Front desk was very friendly. We forgot a few of our things when we checked out and they were kind enough to hold them for us until we were in the area again! You can hear a bit of noise from outside with all the people partying next door or hanging out at the park but it's not too bad. I would consider staying here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Dear Chris R,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We certainly agree that we have a lot to offer our guests and think that Coogee itself is a fantastic location. We will pass on your comments to our staff as they are sure to appreciate your wonderful feedback!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments,

warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee Sydney
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
254 reviews
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments

Address: 161 - 167 Dolphin St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Price Range: $155 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just 20 metres from Coogee Beach, Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments is a 4 star property with a selection of Studio rooms, all with kitchenettes (microwave, sink, crockery, cutlery) and apartment style accommodation. The Hotel offers complimentary undercover parking (subject to availability), wireless internet, 24 hour Reception and a Rooftop Sundeck and BBQ overlooking the ocean for guests to enjoy. Enjoy the vibrant local cafe culture of one of Sydney's most picturesque beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coogee Sands Hotel And Apartments
Coogee Sands Hotel Apartments
Coogee Sands Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing