We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory if you want to stay at Chatswood”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra Chatswood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mantra Chatswood
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chatswood
Melboune
Level Contributor
178 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Satisfactory if you want to stay at Chatswood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We had a studio, but although it was advertised as having kitchen facilities, these were minimal – just a small area with a microwave (no hot plates) and sink, and only enough crockery/cutlery/glasses for 2 people. It was close to the smoke detector, and there was a warning not to burn the toast because if you did the alarm would sound and a fee would be payable to the fire brigade! There were also laundry facilities.
Otherwise, the room was fine, and the lighting throughout was good. The property is generally well maintained, although the cooling system in our room struggled with the hot, humid weather that we encountered (but this issue was remedied after the technician adjusted it).
Parking and internet are both available for an extra charge (neither are cheap).
All the staff that we encountered were pleasant and helpful. The location is close to the shopping complexes and numerous restaurants (mostly Asian), and also to the station which has a good train service to the city. The property is easy to access by car once you know that, if you're coming by car from the city, you need to turn right off the Pacific Hwy at the previous street (Victoria Ave).
One issue we had was Mantra's requirement that payment be made in full at least 14 days before arrival. This is OK if you're getting an advance purchase rate, but if we did, it wasn't made clear during the on-line booking process (and we weren't offered an alternative).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessicah589, Manager at Mantra Chatswood, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Gat16,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We value your feedback greatly in aiming to provide a high level of service for all our guests. In regards to your comment about the pre payment of the accommodation, If In future if you would like to book directly with the hotel, no pre payment is required until you arrive at the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Jessica Ho
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    300
    166
    55
    36
See reviews for
189
144
32
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
alberta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We and two other couples stayed at the Mantra Chatswood over the New Years period for 6 days. We were there to attend a family wedding and it was the closest hotel to the bride's home in the Northern Suburbs.

Our joint considered opinion of the Hotel: Nothing special

Some points to note about Chatswood: As a town centre it is quite unremarkable. There are two quite upscale shopping plazes close to the hotel, a fine public library with free WiFi, and tons of Asian eateries. The hotel is also one block from the train station from where downtown is a 25 minute ride, Bondi beach is 11/2 hours away and other northern suburbs are between 10 and 30 minutes away.

As tourists, the train ride to get anywhere from Chatswood quickly became quite tedious.

Regarding the hotel, it mainly caters for the mid-scale business clientele. Furniture and room decor is modern but a studio was too cramped for a couple. Also Wifi charges were a rip-off. Our main knock against the place was the strange musty smell in the corridors and some of the rooms. it was probably the case of insufficient vacuum cleaning of the deep pile carpets.

On the plus side: We found the quality of the food in the buffet breakfasts to be top-notch especially if you can pursuade the girls at the front desk to give you a discount coupon.

If it must be Chatswood, suggets you try the Sebel

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALOISE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessicah589, Manager at Mantra Chatswood, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear ALOISE1,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for your recent stay. I regret the shortcomings in service you have experienced in regards to the housekeeping cleanliness, and will certainly address these issues with our team members. This is not up to the Mantra standard and apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

If you have any further enquiries please don’t hesitate to contact me.
Regards,
Jessica Ho
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Fabulous, well appointed apartments or studios, appreciated the location to rail so that International rail transfer was easy and cheapest option. Big time Shopping close by and convience store 50 yards away. I was here for a friends birthday, and was staying on own felt very safe loved the rail, ( across the road ) the accomdation is great quality. Would not eat in( I did ) a wee bit over prized as so many cafes etc around area. However all service staff and rooms very good. Awesome stay, just watch how you book....;-) Loved the in house pool and gym!

Room Tip: The only thing I can say was how I booked, I booked from M booking through sydney apartments and wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulou0833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessicah589, Manager at Mantra Chatswood, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Loulou 0833,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We value your feedback greatly in aiming to provide a high level of service for all our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Jessica Ho
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Stayed 3 nights in December 2011. Room good size and well equipped but dark (office block next door). Very good location with chatswood trrain station across the street and chatswood shopping centre a little further on. parking $15 per night. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seetheworld38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessicah589, Manager at Mantra Chatswood, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Ontheupandup,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We value your feedback greatly in aiming to provide a high level of service for all our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Jessica Ho
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Rooms got a good daily service and were well cleaned and a bit more modern than the Chatswood Sebel. Location about equal with Sebel from station but Sebel is 20m from the fabulous Westfiled shopping centre which is a big advantage for them. Mantra has Nice restaurants right over the road and a good gym there too (Crunch Fitness) which is worth considering instead of the Inhouse one. 20 mins on the train to the city so worth considering instead of a CBD stay

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontheupandup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatswood
0.3 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Chatswood
0.5 km away
Silkari Suites at Chatswood
0.3 km away
The Sebel Residence Chatswood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Charrington Boutique Hotel
3.4 km away
Quest North Ryde
Quest North Ryde
#3 of 6 in North Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
1.3 km away
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Hotel
#2 of 2 in Artarmon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Chatswood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Chatswood

Property: Mantra Chatswood
Address: 10 Brown St, Chatswood, Willoughby, New South Wales 2067, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Willoughby > Chatswood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chatswood
Price range (per night): $145 - $244
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Chatswood 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Chatswood is located in the centre of Chatswood, a thriving business and shopping district, 10km north of Sydney's CBD. The hotel is close to the major corporations of the North Shore and within a few minutes walk of the famous shopping centers of Chatswood, including Westfield and Chatswood Chase. Conveniently located next to Chatswood Railway Station and Bus Interchange, Mantra Chatswood offers easy access to both Sydney CBD and Homebush Bay Olympic Park. Mantra Chatswood offers contemporary, apartment style accommodation, featuring studio, one and two bedroom apartments, each stylishly decorated and equipped to cater for all travel needs. All rooms include kitchenettes, broadband access, facsimile lines, ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service, in-room movies, selected Foxtel Channels, dryer, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, exclusive toiletries, mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities. One and two bedroom apartments are self-contained with full kitchen and laundry facilities and offer the perfect base for overnight, short-term or long-term stays. With premium facilities including an indoor heated lap pool, sauna, spa, Gymnasium, 24-hour reception, room service, Melting Pot Bar & Bistro, express check-out and conference and meeting facilities with wireless broadband access, Mantra Chatswood is the ideal home away from home for both business and leisure travelers alike. Perfect for travelers who are relocating or on a long stay work assignment, if you'd like information about Mantra Chatswood's long stay rates, please contact the hotel direct. Mantra Chatswood is the only choice for discerning travelers to Sydney's North Shore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Chatswood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Chatswood Hotel Chatswood
Mantra Chatswood Sydney
Mantra Chatswood Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing