We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic & flavoursome!”

221 Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #18 of 229 Restaurants in Cessnock
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Rare find in cessnock! Flavoursome food,fantastic atmosphere, wonderful staff. Dog friendly, tastefully so. & a kids play area!
A must try!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank pemberlycritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Had the prawn and scallop entree..1x lge prawn, 2x scallops = $28.00. Menu selection was minimal...only 4 mains to choose from.
Mains were better and beautifully cooked. Compot duck was excellent, more would have been better. We were going to share(like the entree) but not large enough serve. The same with braised beef cheek. Beautiful, but small helping. I understand sizes in upmarket restaurants is not large, so we were greatful for the plate of fries we also ordered. The service was very good, a warm atmosphere present also. There is also a bistro getting served from the same kitchen for a larger selection.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank bernster65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

My husband myself my sister and brother in law had dinner here the atmosphere was beautiful and relaxing the service outstanding the two waitresses were very friendly and knowledgeable with the local wines the meal was wonderful fresh produce cooked amazingly and served in a relaxed time frame we had a very enjoyable evening

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank EffDee3126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

We have fine dining. Good food especially the desserts, brownies and strawberry cream. The waitress was very busy and don’t have much expectation on service.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Kit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

This place is great and very reasonable pricing. We went there twice and never disappointed. In both occasions we went for the degustation menu with matching wines. The selection was great. The quality extremely good and the presentation nice. If you want to go for a nice dining experience which does not leave you bankrupt, this is the place to go. When we go to the Hunter Valley again, we will go there. I would recommend to book in advance as it is quite popular. Don't be surprised, when you enter it looks like an "ordinary" pub, but at the back is a nice dining area.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Traveller_from_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 221 Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Pokolbin, Cessnock
 
Pokolbin, Cessnock
 
Pokolbin, Cessnock
 

Been to 221 Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing