We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuesday Pasta & Pizza”

221 Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #18 of 229 Restaurants in Cessnock
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 22 June 2018

Great meals, great prices. Tuesday pizza and pasta night. Meals are good proportions and reasonably priced. Staff friendly and lovely fine dining in Cessnock.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 507donnad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2018

We ended up in Cessnock by happy accident and had dinner at 221.

We were a bit early and had a large pink cocktail (in my defence it was called a Warhammer) at the bar and listened to some live music.

We opted to have their degustation menu with matching wines. The food and wine pairings were excellent and featured a selection of Hunter Valley wines (including one produced by the owners).

One of our wait staff was outstanding and took time to explain each of the dishes and accompanying wines and the thought behind the pairing.

We had to finish up early and the staff were really helpful packaging up our dessert course in nice takeaway containers and they even gave us the matching wine to take home!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lukas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

We went with a group of friends for dinner. The meals were lovely and well priced in the main lounge area. I had the Pizza special and it was delicious

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

We had the 3 course menu and every dish was delicious. The sizes seemed small but after 3 courses my pants were a bit tight so they were actually the perfect amount. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Wonderful night, will be back for sure

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Leanne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Have been here 4 times, the first two times we have been served at the outdoor bar area.. we were served Professionally and friendly.
The last two times however have been awful.
Having to walk from the “bar and lounge” area into the pub to order our cocktails. Which seems totally unnecessary when you claim you have a bar and lounge area? Why not take my order and send through to the Barman? (They do have all drinks and cocktail shakers behind the ‘bar’)

I feel you’re front of house girls are hopeless.
This WAS my favourite place for a midday cocktail.. This has happened twice. I’d recommend going there if you want a bloody espresso and not an espresso martini!

Luckily for today, the barman was amazing, pleasant and super helpful and delivered our drinks to us while we sat in the outside area. The cocktail was amazing.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Charmaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 221 Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Pokolbin, Cessnock
 
Pokolbin, Cessnock
 
Pokolbin, Cessnock
 

Been to 221 Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing