We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hayley P
Perth, Australia

Under Par experience

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 May 2024
Such a disappointment. The hotel rooms are run down, the water pressure in the grotty shower was basically like someone was drooling on me. Very small cupboard space and no room service for food or drinks.

The views are rather lovely and it’s only saving grace was the friendly and very helpful reception staff and the fact it’s in the Bankstown Sports Club which offers an escape.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jack H, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Bankstown, responded to this review
Responded 8 May 2024
Dear 527hayleyp,

I'm truly sorry to hear about your disappointing experience during your recent stay with us. Providing comfortable accommodations and excellent service are top priorities for us, and it's disheartening to learn that we fell short of meeting your expectations.

I apologise for the issues you encountered with the condition of the room, water pressure, and lack of room service. Your feedback is invaluable, and I assure you that we will address these concerns internally to ensure that necessary improvements are made to enhance the quality of our accommodations and services.

I'm glad to hear that you found our reception staff friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed the views and the amenities offered by Bankstown Sports Club.

If there's anything else we can do to assist you or if you have any further feedback to share, please don't hesitate to reach out. We value your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kind regards,
Jack H
Mercure Sydney Bankstown
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$152
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$152
0.3 km from Mercure Sydney Bankstown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$128
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
4.0 km from Mercure Sydney Bankstown
Free parking
AU$111
Fully refundable
Easy and fast booking
    0.5 km from Mercure Sydney Bankstown
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      AU$165
    • Agoda.com
      AU$141
    • Priceline
    3.6 km from Mercure Sydney Bankstown
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Family Accommodation
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      AU$96
    • Hotels.com
      AU$94
    • Priceline
      AU$96
    2.6 km from Mercure Sydney Bankstown
    Free Wifi
    Bar/Lounge
    Studio King
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      AU$189
    • Hotels.com
      AU$189
    • Priceline
    3.2 km from Mercure Sydney Bankstown
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Rydges Bankstown
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      AU$169
    • Hotel Website
      AU$169
    • Priceline
    3.9 km from Mercure Sydney Bankstown
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      AU$159
    • Agoda.com
      AU$150
    • Priceline
    4.1 km from Mercure Sydney Bankstown
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      AU$107
    • Hotels.com
      AU$101
    • Priceline
    4.9 km from Mercure Sydney Bankstown
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Studio Queen Room
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      AU$161
    • Hotels.com
      AU$145
    • Priceline
    5.2 km from Mercure Sydney Bankstown
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    View more hotels in Bankstown
    Reviews (18)
    Filter reviews
    18 results
    Traveller rating
    7
    2
    4
    2
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    7
    2
    4
    2
    3
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 18 reviews
    Reviewed 19 March 2024

    Could had been better seem very strange to have to gambling and always have to show a pass everytime you got off work and wanted to sleep cleaning could have been better with seen dusted. Only one working elevator so if your in a rush be prepared to wait. Great location to attend work on time

    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank graydon g
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jack H, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Bankstown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2024

    Dear graydong2020,

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations and that you encountered some issues during your stay.

    We apologise for any inconvenience caused by the need to show a pass every time you returned to the hotel. Your feedback is valuable, and we will review the security procedures to ensure they are within the Clubs NSW Legislation while also being guest-friendly.

    Additionally, we regret that you found cleanliness to be lacking, and we will address this with our housekeeping team to ensure all areas are thoroughly cleaned and dusted.

    Regarding the elevator situation, we understand how frustrating it can be to wait, especially when in a rush. We will work to address any maintenance issues promptly to ensure smooth operation of our facilities.

    We're glad to hear that our location was convenient for attending work on time, but we regret that other aspects of your stay fell short. Your satisfaction is important to us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a much-improved experience in the future.

    Warm Regards,

    Jack H

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 January 2024 via mobile

    We’ve tried every hotel in south western Sydney and we keep coming back here (over 20 times).

    Rooms are fine and quiet. The staff are very pleasant. Sasha and Kevin do a great job with their team.

    Plenty of free parking downstairs. Situated as part of Bankstown Sports Club so there are plenty of good quality restaurants downstairs.

    Wifi and chrome cast is patchy but aircon is good and everything is clean.

    Recognition for Accor members is good. Welcome drink is water. Sometimes we get chocolates and we always get upgraded (thanks guys).

    See you next week.

    Date of stay: January 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank PeterG873
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jack H, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Bankstown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

    Dear PeterG873,

    Thank you for choosing to stay with us, your loyalty and for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback. We're thrilled to hear that you've had a great stay with us over 20 times!

    It's fantastic to know that you find our rooms comfortable and quiet, and we appreciate your kind words about our staff, especially Sasha, Kevin, and the team. We're delighted that you enjoy the convenience of our location within Bankstown Sports Club and the variety of quality restaurants.

    We apologise for any inconvenience with the wifi and Chromecast and appreciate your understanding. Your loyalty as Accor members is highly valued, and we're glad to hear you've experienced the benefits.

    We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay next week and appreciate your ongoing support.

    Best regards,
    Jack Hamilton
    Mercure Sydney Bankstown

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 December 2023 via mobile

    We stayed here with the family when we had the Lebanese Film Festival in Bankstown. It was a great stay. Staff were very helpful and the location made it very easy. The rooms were clean, and the hotel takes you straight into the Bankstown Sports Club which has all the amenities you need - cafe, restaurants, gym etc. Highly recommend for anyone staying in Sydney.

    Room tip: Parking is plentiful at the sports club.
    Date of stay: September 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Caml2f
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jack H, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Bankstown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

    Dear Caml2f,

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience at our hotel! We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with your family during the Lebanese Film Festival in Bankstown. It is an amazing initiative in our area, that we are all proud of in our area, as well as being an even prouder sponsor of!

    We appreciate your kind words about our staff and are thrilled that their helpfulness contributed to your enjoyable stay. Our prime location with easy access to Bankstown and the convenience of nearby train stations is indeed one of our key highlights.

    It's fantastic to know that you found the rooms clean and that the integration with the Bankstown Sports Club added value to your experience. We're glad you could take advantage of the club's amenities, including the cafe, restaurants, and gym.

    Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we hope to welcome you back for any future stays in Sydney. If there's anything specific you'd like to share about your time with us or if there are ways we can enhance your next visit, please don't hesitate to let us know.

    Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your positive feedback!

    Best Regards,

    Jack Hamilton
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 October 2023 via mobile

    Steer clear from here. So the hotel has been recently renovated and appears on all levels to be 4 stars, lotsa recent work and rooms are tiny but comfortable. Yep looked like 4 stars. However that’s where it stopped. This is when people and leadership matter the most running a service business. Sometimes that doesn’t intersect with reality.

    The service this week

    A) hassling me on the phone when you know and have been advised twice that I have an emergency family issue I’m dealing with. (Yeah also disappointed to lose an extra day for 1 hour late checkout time that you’ll get revenue for as it’s fully booked! )

    I actually got that last part - you need to make money to survive - but have some heart people!

    B) under voyager plus membership I am entitled to an alc drink on arrival. This was refused. WTF?

    C) Bankstown services club forcing checkin to go to lift despite being checked in for the week by hotel

    Seriously people learn a little bit of EI !!!!

    Room tip: Staying here
    Date of stay: October 2023
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank simono329
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jack H, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Bankstown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2023

    Dear Simono329,

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your insights into your recent stay at Mercure Sydney Bankstown. We're glad to hear that you found our recently renovated rooms to be comfortable and in good condition. However, we're truly sorry to hear about your overall experience and the inconveniences you faced.

    We understand the importance of empathy and sensitivity in such situations, and it seems like we fell short in providing the understanding and support you needed during a challenging time. We sincerely apologise for any additional stress caused.

    We apologise for the misunderstanding with your Voyager Plus membership benefits on check in. Do to not having food and beverage within the hotel that is one of the soft benefits we are not able to provide currently unfortunately. We are working with the Bankstown Sports Club to hopefully in the short term future be able to provide this benefit to our loyal members. So we are able to provide an experience that does meet the standards we aim to provide, and we appreciate your patience and understanding.

    We are committed to improving our service and ensuring that all guests have a more enjoyable and stress-free stay. We truly value your feedback, and it will help us enhance our services for future guests.

    We hope you consider giving us another opportunity in the future to provide you with a better experience. If you do decide to return, please don't hesitate to reach out to our team directly to discuss your needs and expectations.

    Warm regards,
    Mercure Sydney Bankstown

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 September 2023

    Won't be staying at Mercure again. Cannot believe you have to go thru the sportsclub to get to the elevators to go to your room. Nothing more annoying than having security checking your entry to get to the elevators!!
    shame as the location is good close to shops and transport and access to motorway is easy. Overall the rooms were relatively clean and bed was comfortable. No FOxtel or similar just free to air.

    Room tip: wait till the renovations are finished.
    Date of stay: September 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank I3135MJjamesh
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jack H, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Bankstown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2023

    Dear I3135MJjamesh,

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations.

    We understand your concerns about the access through the sports club to reach the elevators, and we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. We'll take your feedback into consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience with the Bankstown Sports Club.

    We appreciate your positive comments about our location, cleanliness, and the comfort of our beds. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we'll use it to make necessary improvements.

    If you decide to give us another chance in the future, we hope to provide you with a more enjoyable stay.

    Kind Regards,
    Mercure Sydney Bankstown

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews