We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
phil L
Melbourne, Australia

A good motel for a short stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 June 2021
I was in Queenstown overnight to take the West Coast Wilderness Railway in the following morning. The Motel met all of my requirements. As the weather was poor, it was very convenient to be able to order an evening meal in-house. The restaurant was closed due to Covid restrictions, but I was able to collect my meal from Reception and eat in my room
Date of stay: April 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$118
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from West Coaster Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our room
AU$130
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$130
0.4 km from West Coaster Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$146
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$146
0.0 km from West Coaster Motel
Restaurant
Room service
Queen & Single Room
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$134
  • Expedia.com
    AU$139
0.2 km from West Coaster Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$84
  • Priceline
0.4 km from West Coaster Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from West Coaster Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen room, a very big room
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$122
  • Expedia.com
    AU$127
0.2 km from West Coaster Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from West Coaster Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from West Coaster Motel
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from West Coaster Motel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
30
65
52
20
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
30
65
52
20
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews covered parking spacious room comfortable stay bar fridge stayed for nights the west coast wilderness railway easy walk motel heater
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2021 via mobile

Dated but so is everything else in Queenstown. This is perfectly fine in its context. Staff are friendly, rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable, shower is hot, location is convenient and quiet. Yes, decore is stuck in the 1970s but if you want modern lux try another town. I spent two nights there for meetings and was quite satisfied.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank chewat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2021

The only thing this motel has going for it is it’s location.
Very dated, bed and living area was clean.
The bathroom was disgusting.....the toilet did not flush, the button was located on the wall opposite the toilet.....very odd.
The shower/ bath unit had black and pink mould on the tiles and door cavity.
The pillows were so thin, it took two to come anywhere near a normal pillow
Returning to the motel, after dinner in town as takeaway and dinner were not available at the motel, there was not lighted signage outside the motel.
Being a dark, wet evening, strangers in town, it was sheer luck that we found the place.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hunneybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2021

Best place we have stayed in for a long time. It had everything you would need plus some nice extras, it was clean and very comfy. Great service at front desk and handy to all that we did in the region. Highly recommend!!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheJourneyman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2021 via mobile

I think the title matches the town - all a bit tired and lacking. Check in man was friendly but quick to say - sunday no food at all. Which was a pain as this is almost true for all of Queenstown. Hard to get a meal on a Sunday. Room was fine - clean but dated and bed was like an older beach house bed - not great for the back. Bathroom was something out of the 50s and not convinced by the communal soap etc during covid. Good enough for a night but no more and not that cheap but nothing is around here. Easy walk to town

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank maxtedandlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2021

I'm all about value for money, but I'd spend extra to go some where else. It might have been clean, but it was so dingy you couldn't tell.
There were poorly plastered holes in the walls, the insides of the closets were still bare particle board.
It was a place to sleep, the shower and toilet worked, we were safe enough.. but I'd still try to stay somewhere else next time.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews