We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$140
Fully refundable before Fri, 24 May
Hotels.com
AU$125
Fully refundable before Sat, 25 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
AU$140
Fully refundable before Sat, 25 May
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
cutler2019
Thornton, Australia

Recommended.

Review of Gold Rush Inn
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Mar 2024
After our shocking experience at Zeehan, this accommodation was nothing short of luxurious. Very well equipped units, faultless presentation, spotlessly clean, and the staff were extremely obliging. Good parking facilities, off the highway.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Quiet location, and ideal for a good night's rest.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Queen & Single Room
Booking.com
AU$139
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$139
  • Hotels.com
    AU$133
  • ZenHotels.com
0.5 km from Gold Rush Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$109
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$94
  • Hotels.com
    AU$94
  • ZenHotels.com
0.9 km from Gold Rush Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our room
Booking.com
AU$130
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$130
  • Expedia.com
    AU$130
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$130
0.8 km from Gold Rush Inn
Free parking
Restaurant
Queen room, a very big room
Hotels.com
AU$100
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$104
  • Agoda.com
    AU$68
  • ZenHotels.com
0.6 km from Gold Rush Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$70
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$70
1.1 km from Gold Rush Inn
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
AU$153
  • Agoda.com
    AU$153
0.9 km from Gold Rush Inn
Booking.com
AU$143
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$143
1.7 km from Gold Rush Inn
2 Bedroom Family Room
ZenHotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from Gold Rush Inn
Free parking
Restaurant
ZenHotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
1.1 km from Gold Rush Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.9 km from Gold Rush Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
124
86
23
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
124
86
23
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner small kitchenette good size guest laundry electric blankets on site restaurant hot breakfast tea coffee tour group stayed for one night place to stay single bed short drive comfortable beds small town bernie microwave
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2024

Actually impressed, clean rooms, they have everything you need, its comfortable, quiet, and warm. I turned the heater off when going to sleep and it was still warm in the room all night. Friendly staff, and I recommend the restaurant, great food.
Will always book here again when staying in Queenstown.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connector25166682525
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2024

Very clean and comfortable motel. Recommended by a local B&B that could not accomodate us. The rooms were standard and comfortable with a small kitchenette and large comfortable bed. The motel reception was friendly and helpful. We had a quite and comfortable evening.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank leeandron
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2024

Accomodation in Strahan can be difficult to get if you are wanting to do a Gordon River cruise (which is a must). For us, the only accommodation available was in Queenstown, about 40km from Strahan.
I was pleasantly surprised at how clean and comfortable the room was. I must admit I did not have high hopes but our room was perfect for an overnighter.
It is definitely not the Ritz Carlton, but in my opinion you could do far worse.
Give yourself a good hour to drive to Strahan. The road is very winding, and not for the faint hearted, especially in the predawn dark.
I would definitely recommend the Gold Rush Inn as a decent alternative to the scarce accommodation in Strahan.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alpaca1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2024

Very clean rooms, comfortable beds and pillows. Nice and quiet. Large (superior) room. Check in process was efficient and staff were friendly and helpful. Checking in was simple and check out was put your room cards in the box at reception.
Location is a bit out of town, but we didn't mind the 15 minute walk, as the town is safe - even at night.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steven James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2024 via mobile

We stayed in room 1, which was closest to the road. No traffic noise at all. Room was well appointed with a microwave, jug, toaster, sink, crockery, cutlery, ironing board, pedestal fan and air-conditioning. Room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. There is a restaurant at the motel, which we had planned to use. Unfortunately the entire restaurant was booked out, for a large tour group, who were staying at the motel. We would stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Allan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews