We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
allintexas
Texas

Oh Dear God....Where To Begin?

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Jan 2020
Bob, the proprietor was a really nice, sweet older gentleman. And that's where the nice begins and ends. A friend in Hobart was incredulous that we admitted to staying in Queenstown -- whatever for he asked? This is a town that was once (a long, long time ago) a thriving, mining driven locale. Long ago the mines dried up and the town has done its best to remain a relevant part of the Tasmanian landscape. The Mountain View Hotel shares in that attempt to remain relevant in a hospitality industry that has long sense left this property behind.

Did I mention Bob was a really sweet guy? Well, he has to be because this Motel should have been bulldozed 25 years ago. When it's in the 30's (1 or 2 degrees Celsius) outside and your room has a hole cut in the wall to allow ventilation for a water heater, well you get the drift (literally).

Once we got in the room and figured out the plug in electric heater that came with the room was not going to touch the cold air, we asked Bob for another heater. While sweet about the request, he did admonish me to try and not run the thing too much because electricity costs so much in Tasmania. I reminded Bob that there was a whole in the wall that literally was letting in the arctic air, he just asked to understand why the hole was there..... have I mentioned that Bob was a really sweet man?

The two chairs in the room were circa 1970; the bedspread likely in that time period as well. I rather think that nothing has been changed for that length of time. If you're looking for cheap, this place ticks all the boxes one expects to find in the cheap category. This place might be great in warmer weather if you're looking for an older, tired, cheaper Motel 6. In the case of the Mountain View Motel, hopefully they won't leave the light on for you -- in fact, you'd be better off just driving through this town and not stopping at all.
Date of stay: December 2019
Room Tip: Drive To The Next Town
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Queen & Single Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$146
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Mountain View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 Bedroom Family Room
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$138
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Mountain View Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Mountain View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$94
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Mountain View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Mountain View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$137
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Mountain View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Mountain View Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Mountain View Motel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Mountain View Motel
  • Agoda.com
1.2 km from Mountain View Motel
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
11
27
10
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
11
27
10
11
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2019

We stayed for 1 night to ride the cog railway train in the morning. There's not much to do in Queenstown and this was the cheapest place. Still over price. A good price would be around 50U$. We paid around 90U$. It was not very clean and pretty ordinary.

Room tip: All the same
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank edatmpaBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 December 2018

This is a challenging one to review. On the one hand it is really a terrible place to stay but on the other hand it is so cheap that it is actually a great place to stay.

We payed $115 for 4 adults for one night. A lot of accommodation places will charge you about that much for just 1 adult so this is definitely great value.

However the place generally looks like it is falling apart. The communal kitchen area in particular was one of the few times I have ever described an accommodation as filthy and unhygienic looking. Not only that but it was only really stocked for one group to use at a time and there are quite a lot of rooms so if more people were staying would be a problem. The bathroom was very small and unpleasant and the shower was very hard to get consistent warm water. The wifi did not work at all. The beds were comfy although too many blankets for summer. The tv was located in a spot which made it impossible to watch without bending your neck 90 degrees.

If you stay here you likely want to have very low expectations. This is definitely just a place to sleep not a room to enjoy using.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladvonbounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2018 via mobile

Mt. View Motel was better than I expected.

My room was clean, the toilet paper was quality, the owners were friendly, and the price was reasonable. That being said, there were no cooking facilities in my room and the camp kitchen was very unhygienic and badly maintained. My bathroom definitely needed help as water would simply splash into the middle of the kitchen-like-space and it didn't run down the drain because there was no slope to the floor. It would also be nice if they upkept the weeding if they're going to have any (I think?) garden beds.

Be warned there are often rough characters staying here which isn't nice for visitors but I appreciate that the owners are making somewhere for them to stay.

Overall, Mt. View does well to give a comfortable enough stay in this low-standards, once beautiful town.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Samubosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 November 2018

Yeah I hope to not return to not only Queenstown but specifically this motel. Pretty overpriced.
Upon arrival the room was really musty smelling
the heater wasnt working in our room we would of contacted the staff but it seemed to be too late at night to bother them, beyond that id be bold to say What staff?
the bistro was shut due to "in between cooks"
cold hell of a place overall
easy parking right out the front of your donger
Nice views of mountains

Room tip: no comment
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1313cb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

Room was smelly, musty and stale cigarettes, even though there was a no smoking sign in the room. Carpet dirty, sheets had stains on them, not the cleanest experience. However the proximity to town centre was good and only a 5 minute walk in.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank marymN777RF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews