We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sam Bosch
Queenstown, Australia

I stayed for a month

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Dec 2018via mobile
Mt. View Motel was better than I expected.

My room was clean, the toilet paper was quality, the owners were friendly, and the price was reasonable. That being said, there were no cooking facilities in my room and the camp kitchen was very unhygienic and badly maintained. My bathroom definitely needed help as water would simply splash into the middle of the kitchen-like-space and it didn't run down the drain because there was no slope to the floor. It would also be nice if they upkept the weeding if they're going to have any (I think?) garden beds.

Be warned there are often rough characters staying here which isn't nice for visitors but I appreciate that the owners are making somewhere for them to stay.

Overall, Mt. View does well to give a comfortable enough stay in this low-standards, once beautiful town.


Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
2 Bedroom Family Room
  • Trip.com
    AU$172
  • Vio.com
    AU$170
  • StayForLong
0.2 km from Mountain View Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Queen & Single Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$139
  • Hotels.com
    AU$139
  • StayForLong
0.1 km from Mountain View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Mountain View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$98
  • Hotels.com
    AU$84
  • Priceline
    AU$98
0.4 km from Mountain View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$135
  • Hotels.com
    AU$118
  • Priceline
    AU$135
0.6 km from Mountain View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$70
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$70
0.6 km from Mountain View Motel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Our room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$130
  • Hotels.com
    AU$130
  • Priceline
    AU$130
0.6 km from Mountain View Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$145
0.2 km from Mountain View Motel
Restaurant
Room service
AU$143
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$143
1.2 km from Mountain View Motel
Queen room, a very big room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$113
  • Priceline
    AU$76
  • ZenHotels.com
0.0 km from Mountain View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
11
27
10
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
11
27
10
11
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2018

Yeah I hope to not return to not only Queenstown but specifically this motel. Pretty overpriced.
Upon arrival the room was really musty smelling
the heater wasnt working in our room we would of contacted the staff but it seemed to be too late at night to bother them, beyond that id be bold to say What staff?
the bistro was shut due to "in between cooks"
cold hell of a place overall
easy parking right out the front of your donger
Nice views of mountains

Room tip: no comment
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1313cb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

Room was smelly, musty and stale cigarettes, even though there was a no smoking sign in the room. Carpet dirty, sheets had stains on them, not the cleanest experience. However the proximity to town centre was good and only a 5 minute walk in.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank marymN777RF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2018

This is Queenstown, a wild west town built on its mining and remote heritage. I give 5 stars because the motel is exactly as advertised: Ex singleman's quarters, clean, warm (heater and some electric blankets provided), and we were not expecting all the frills of a 5 star resort. Functional ensuite. Room was big for 2 people and we had a queen and single bed between the 2 of us. Kettle and toaster handy. Bravo to the manager/owners. Easy walking to the town centre.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cmsoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2018

I can't praise enough. From time of booking (accommodation for 35 people no mean feat) until departure we were well looked after. Maxine & Robert were very helpful especially to two of member who experienced car trouble and could not leave with the other members of the Group. They were checked on to make sure all was going well with the repairs,allowed to stay on over checkout time and offered lunch. What more could anyone need. Good old fashioned caring about others. Would highly recommend

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domzoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2018

My husband and I stopped here for one night, and ended up staying four. We needed a recharge after driving and camping around. The hosts are so friendly and awesome. They Are very knowledgeable of the area and it’s surrounds. Very comfortable bed, cooking facilities, laundry facilities, and all at a reasonable price. I highly recommend this place.

Room tip: Let them know what you are looking for and ask to be shown the room
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Barbaratimmermans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews