We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bozo7
Manly

Stands on a crag like a little Rhineland Castle

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 June 2024via mobile
This two story mansion dates from the 1890´s and was the home of the general managers of the Mt Lyell Mining&Railway Co.Ltd.and it’s subsequent appellations.In the hall is a grand photo portrait of Mr Sticht ,an American who was GM for about 30 years and who introduced pyritic smelting amid much scepticism and thereby ensured the profitabilty of the company in the early 20 th century.His successor,Mr RM Murray, came to Mt Lyell in 1900.His career was a mirror of the way mining changed at Mt Lyell.He died in the house in 1945.
Why the history lesson?Because the house is part of the saga of west coast mining,and I believe knowing something of this history will greatly enhance one’s stay.I recommend reading an early Geoffrey Bainey title,The Peaks of Lyell,to pique one’s interest.The house is hugely atmospheric,aided in this by the Victorian and Edwardian decor.
Our room ,the Owen Room,was of a good size with modern heating,shower and wc.The bed was superbly comfortable.The view over Queenstown and of the peaks beyond,is stupendous from this room.
There is a commodious common room and an adjoining room which has basic cooking facilities.
Breakfasts are terrific,an abundance of choice of the highest quality,cooked cheerfully by Steve.
The house is a ten minute walk down a hill through revegetation and across the Queen river to near the train station,whose cafe is excellent.
The resident caretaker managers (I believe the house is owned by the Tas.government or insrumentality thereof)Steve and Karen,are most pleasant people and make every effort to ensure a great stay.There were several thoughtful small gestures they made which were not essential but well noticed and appreciated by us.Steve and Karen have been here for 6 or 7 years and had successful professional lives in other fields before,and most certainly run it very well.
This is a unique accomodation.I cannot recommend it too highly,it was the highlight of our first but I hope not last visit to Tasmania.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive overview of your stay at Penghana and thank you for your compliments.

Just a couple of corrections - we are in our 9th year here and what guests see, isn't us just as 'caretakers' of this business. We purchased the business back in 2015 and have styled and built it to what it is today.

Yes the property is owned by National Trust Tasmania. We have a commercial lease to operate Penghana as a B&B business. We pay all outgoings as well as rent to NTT with the Landlord being responsible for maintaining the heritage value and upkeep of the structure. This property has been a commercial operation now for 28 years. We are it's 4th owners and now hold the longest ownership record.

Guests who are interested not only in the house's history but that of Queenstown and it dominant reputation globally as a source for copper and gold, can also enjoy the Exhibition we, in collaboration with NTT, brought together to celebrate the house's 125th anniversary in 2023. The originalballroom now houses a permanent photographic display to illustrate the house's evolution but most importantly the purpose was to honour all the 11 General Managers and their families who resided here over a 99 year period. Yes we have gathered some amazing stories from remaining families/family members and uncovered pieces of memorbilia to keep the history alive and give accuracy. It is titled "The hands that shaped the bannisters" .

We are proud of our achievements now with 2 consecutive years of being included inTripadvisor's top 1% of B&B's globally and rated in Ausralia's top 10 B&B's. (2023 at No. 8 and 2024 at No. 7 as well as in the top 25 for the South Pacific Region).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$98
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$94
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$83
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$70
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$70
0.3 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
2 Bedroom Family Room
AU$148
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$123
  • StayForLong
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Restaurant
Queen & Single Room
AU$139
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$139
  • Hotels.com
    AU$130
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen room, a very big room
AU$76
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$127
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$123
0.5 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our room
AU$130
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$130
  • Hotels.com
    AU$130
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$130
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$135
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$130
  • Agoda.com
    AU$123
  • Hotels.com
    AU$126
1.1 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$173
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$137
0.5 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
AU$143
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$143
0.8 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
235
18
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
235
18
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver service old house wonderful hosts national trust fruit cake karen steve complimentary port guest lounges step back in time a real treat breakfast was delicious interesting history overlooking queenstown old world charm lounge room highlight of our trip flannel sheets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2024

We have stayed in BnBs in various countries,but none have come up to the standard we experienced here. Great room, top breakfast, friendly owners, who give you the history of the place,and what their dreams are for it. Definitely 5 Stars. Will return to it in the future. Thanks to Steven and Karen

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2024

We are certainly feeling very humble after your glowing comments. Thank you - the recognition of our efforts is greatly appreciated and certainly gives us the momentum to keep doing what we offer our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2024 via mobile

Penghana is an extraordinary place with a fascinating history 125 years in the making. Our hosts Karen and Steve were friendly and inclusive offering a warm welcome, pristine accommodation and an array of breakfast options to fit every taste. They even offer to drive you to your evening restaurant of choice and collect you again. They’re both extremely attentive and kind.
The Owen room is outstanding, maintained beautifully as a piece of history but with every modern convenience including a fabulous shower and Netflix if that’s your thing - and let’s not forget the unbelievable view across Queenstown. If you can get a vacancy, take it - it’s well worth it to experience the Penghana effect.

Room tip: Book the Owen room if you can
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ethoscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2024

We certainly appreciate your glowing words following your stay with us. Yes this isn't just a place to stay enroute, Penghana and Queenstown have a great history and we are pleased to share it with our guests whilst offering a mix of tradition, 21st century comforts and spoiling you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2024 via mobile

Omg! What an amazing stay...it was over and above all expectations! Thought I was in Downton Abbey for a moment! Steven and Karen were superb hosts and looked after every little detail. Our stay was stress free and very relaxing...I recommend anyone travelling through Queenstown to stay there

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Northerncrystals
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2024

Thank you for your words of praise. We so enjoyed having you and your friends stay with us. I'm sitting here smiling remembering some highlights of our conversation in the lounge when we sat together.. (especially the wedding dress story). It's what we love about this business - the wonderul people we meet and how you enrich our lives too.
So pleased we sent you away with fond memories of your time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2024

We have just enjoyed the most fabulous stay at Penghana - it exceeded our expectations in every way. This is an outstanding experience - not just a stay - a real experience because of the commitment from Steve and Karen to caring for the house and its community, and to ensuring your time there is enjoyable in every way and is an eye-opener to the history and current story of the West coast. Our room (Owen) was stunning and had every comfort; Steve's breakfasts are delicious and reflect Tasmanian produce quality; the house and garden are beautiful; and we greatly enjoyed the conversations and learnings. We will most definitely come again. Thank you so much.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2024

Thank you for your words of praise. The house has a big story of 125 years to share with guests which so often creates great conversations. The house deserves to be recognised for its key role not only in Australia's mining history but globally which makes a stay at Penghana 'unique'.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2024

Do yourself a favour and stay at Penghana. We had the Owen Suite and were very happy. Well appointed, a lovely view and plenty of room. Our stay was delightful. We had 3 nights and didn't want to leave. Every morning Steve would cook a delicious breakfast to order and he knew his way around a kitchen. Karen spoilt you with all the amazing finishing touches in your suite and around the house. And OMG the house, the history, the whole experience. Cant wait to go again

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2024

Sincerely, thank you for your 'glowing' words. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and trust we will continue to maintain the standards we've set ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews