We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Robert S

Great Experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
We have stayed in BnBs in various countries,but none have come up to the standard we experienced here. Great room, top breakfast, friendly owners, who give you the history of the place,and what their dreams are for it. Definitely 5 Stars. Will return to it in the future. Thanks to Steven and Karen
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review
Responded 1 week ago
We are certainly feeling very humble after your glowing comments. Thank you - the recognition of our efforts is greatly appreciated and certainly gives us the momentum to keep doing what we offer our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$99
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$93
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$70
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$70
0.3 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
AU$140
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$140
  • Agoda.com
    AU$124
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$153
  • Agoda.com
    AU$153
0.4 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Booking.com
AU$143
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$143
0.8 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
2 Bedroom Family Room
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Restaurant
Vio.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.4 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen & Single Room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$149
  • Agoda.com
    AU$137
  • Hotels.com
    AU$145
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen room, a very big room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$68
  • Hotels.com
    AU$97
0.5 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$130
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$130
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
233
18
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
233
18
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver service old house wonderful hosts national trust fruit cake karen steve complimentary port guest lounges step back in time a real treat breakfast was delicious interesting history overlooking queenstown old world charm lounge room highlight of our trip flannel sheets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Penghana is an extraordinary place with a fascinating history 125 years in the making. Our hosts Karen and Steve were friendly and inclusive offering a warm welcome, pristine accommodation and an array of breakfast options to fit every taste. They even offer to drive you to your evening restaurant of choice and collect you again. They’re both extremely attentive and kind.
The Owen room is outstanding, maintained beautifully as a piece of history but with every modern convenience including a fabulous shower and Netflix if that’s your thing - and let’s not forget the unbelievable view across Queenstown. If you can get a vacancy, take it - it’s well worth it to experience the Penghana effect.

Room tip: Book the Owen room if you can
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ethoscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We certainly appreciate your glowing words following your stay with us. Yes this isn't just a place to stay enroute, Penghana and Queenstown have a great history and we are pleased to share it with our guests whilst offering a mix of tradition, 21st century comforts and spoiling you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Omg! What an amazing stay...it was over and above all expectations! Thought I was in Downton Abbey for a moment! Steven and Karen were superb hosts and looked after every little detail. Our stay was stress free and very relaxing...I recommend anyone travelling through Queenstown to stay there

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Northerncrystals
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your words of praise. We so enjoyed having you and your friends stay with us. I'm sitting here smiling remembering some highlights of our conversation in the lounge when we sat together.. (especially the wedding dress story). It's what we love about this business - the wonderul people we meet and how you enrich our lives too.
So pleased we sent you away with fond memories of your time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2024

We have just enjoyed the most fabulous stay at Penghana - it exceeded our expectations in every way. This is an outstanding experience - not just a stay - a real experience because of the commitment from Steve and Karen to caring for the house and its community, and to ensuring your time there is enjoyable in every way and is an eye-opener to the history and current story of the West coast. Our room (Owen) was stunning and had every comfort; Steve's breakfasts are delicious and reflect Tasmanian produce quality; the house and garden are beautiful; and we greatly enjoyed the conversations and learnings. We will most definitely come again. Thank you so much.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your words of praise. The house has a big story of 125 years to share with guests which so often creates great conversations. The house deserves to be recognised for its key role not only in Australia's mining history but globally which makes a stay at Penghana 'unique'.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2024

Do yourself a favour and stay at Penghana. We had the Owen Suite and were very happy. Well appointed, a lovely view and plenty of room. Our stay was delightful. We had 3 nights and didn't want to leave. Every morning Steve would cook a delicious breakfast to order and he knew his way around a kitchen. Karen spoilt you with all the amazing finishing touches in your suite and around the house. And OMG the house, the history, the whole experience. Cant wait to go again

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2024

Sincerely, thank you for your 'glowing' words. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and trust we will continue to maintain the standards we've set ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2024 via mobile

After reading several reviews on Penghana, I booked a night in this magnificent building a few months ago and stayed there two nights ago. What an outstanding experience. Firstly, the house is grand, stately and elevated and huge with a fascinating history. Secondly, the managers, Karen and Steve, are charming hosts, very helpful and passionate about their property. The room was immaculate, fully equipped, leaving nothing to be desired, the bed was comfortable and I felt so at home. The hot English breakfast was to die for. I wish I could have stayed longer, but I’ll be back!

Room tip: Not to be missed.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Trek48669942799
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2024

We certainly appreciate your glowing review. Thank you!
Our journey as B&B proprietors is now in its 9th year and we still love what we do and the people we meet. We are always looking at how we can enhance our guests' experience and the little extras we can include/provide to make a difference to your stay and appeal to the diverse clientele we attract.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future when you return for another visit to Tasmania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews