We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Cathy R

Rare gem.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Mar 2024
The house and hosts are amazing. The work both Karen and Steve have put into making the place incredible is a credit to them both. The history, the furniture, the special touches and the hospitality are all extraordinary. Breakfast felt like we had stepped back in time and we were being served by the butler, it was very special and tasted great. They have collected so much history which is really interesting. Thank you both for sharing.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Enjoy
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review
Responded 5 Mar 2024
Thank you for your lovely comments. Steve will love your comment about being served by the butler!!
Yes, we have embraced the history of the house and its occupants over the past 125 years with our ballroom exhibition which we will continue to expand over time to keep the story alive and fresh. Hence the reason we say Penghana is much more than just a place to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$94
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
2 Bedroom Family Room
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$154
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen & Single Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$136
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Restaurant
Queen room, a very big room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$137
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
234
18
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
234
18
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver service old house wonderful hosts national trust fruit cake karen steve complimentary port guest lounges step back in time a real treat breakfast was delicious interesting history overlooking queenstown old world charm lounge room highlight of our trip flannel sheets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2024

Karen and Steve are the best B&B hosts you will ever meet. They are very welcoming and gracious. Their attention to detail is exceptional. Penghana is very historic and they have embraced the history very respectfully. My tip is stay in the Owen suite….it is well worth the extra as the view from this room, the mine managers room, is amazing.
If you visit Queenstown you MUST stay at Penghana, the experience will last a lifetime…

Room tip: Book early
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jet44040306236
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Wow - thank you! We sincerely appreciate you acknowledging the efforts we go to in order to ensure not only do our guests enjoy their time with us, but we endeavour to make their stay memorable. I don't know what else to say.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2024

Proprietors Steve and Karen operate a first-class B&B in western Tasmania. They make certain that every guest is satisfied to the fullest. This 1800s mansion is gorgeous, and the rooms are spacious, comfortable, and modern. Steve also acts as chauffeur by driving his guests free of charge to local restaurants for dinner. Included in our stay was a top-notch breakfast with numerous hot and cold options.
All of the above are why I rate this superb B&B a perfect 5 rating. Do not miss it if you are traveling near Queenstown Tasmania.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Flash016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2024

Your comments warm our heart. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to comment and the praise you have bestowed upon us.
We've found offering guests a complimentary chauffer service (but as you know we don't need to travel far!!) allows a weary traveller who has driven all day some respite, makes our guests feel 'special' and lastly gives you the opportunity to have that second glass of wine and know you won't be breaking any driving laws.
Where ever you are now - best wishes - and keep on enjoying your travelling retirement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2024

5 Star service from the moment we booked directly. Reception was great, room was exceptional as was the view from the Owen room. The hosts were wonderful and very helpful. The bed was very comfortable and there were many interesting books to look at. I would highly recommend staying at Penghana B&B.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank bruceg2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Thank you Bruce. Pleased we lived up to the blog that caught your attention to book with us in the first place. Thank you also for being such lovely guests and so easy to look after!
We strive to ensure our library of 'coffee table' type books covers a variety of interests so there is something for everyone. We figure guests don't usually have time to read novels when they are out and about enjoying the tourism experiences on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2024 via mobile

We stayed in the Huxley Suite for 2 nights, from the moment we stepped into this beautiful mansion we were made to feel special. Karen and Steve have thought of everything, our room was spotless, and spacious, the kitchen had everything you could need. Fruit cake and port at night and then a delicious breakfast to start the day. Loved the Bircher Muesli. We loved our time at Penghana and will definitely be telling our travel agent about our experience. Thank you so much .

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Happykiwis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2024

Thank you for your words of praise. So pleased you enjoyed the little extras we provide. We certainly will appreciate you referring your travel agent to us or our website.
Our Penghana fruit cake is a 'staple' here ..... we make two almost every 10-12 days!!! We aren't secretive about the recipe either.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2024

If you are visiting Queenstown you must stay at Penghana. The whole experience from Steve booking dinner for us on our first night to Karen's little gift on departure was amazing. The property is beautiful and Karen and Steve are very passionate about it which shows in their attention to detail and the level of service they provide.
We stayed in the upstairs VIP suite which accommodated our family of 4 more than comfortably. The whole house is beautifully furnished and this suite was no exception - even the robes (which were sooo soft and fluffy) matched the colour scheme! The room was spotlessly clean and I very much appreciated the automatic rubbish bins (thank you Karen).
The breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the complimentary port in the room was a lovely touch.
Queenstown may not be on everyone's Tassie road trip list but if it is then an escape at Penghana is the only way to experience it.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nickyb1294
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2024

Thank you for your comments. Feedback on what we are doing that guests like about their time at Penghana helps us to ensure we are always on track (and if there is something we haven't picked up that needs attention).
Evertything matching.............it's that October birthday with balanced scales!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews