We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
231
18
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
231
18
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver service old house wonderful hosts national trust fruit cake karen steve complimentary port guest lounges step back in time a real treat breakfast was delicious interesting history overlooking queenstown old world charm lounge room highlight of our trip flannel sheets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2024

5 Star service from the moment we booked directly. Reception was great, room was exceptional as was the view from the Owen room. The hosts were wonderful and very helpful. The bed was very comfortable and there were many interesting books to look at. I would highly recommend staying at Penghana B&B.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank bruceg2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Thank you Bruce. Pleased we lived up to the blog that caught your attention to book with us in the first place. Thank you also for being such lovely guests and so easy to look after!
We strive to ensure our library of 'coffee table' type books covers a variety of interests so there is something for everyone. We figure guests don't usually have time to read novels when they are out and about enjoying the tourism experiences on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2024 via mobile

We stayed in the Huxley Suite for 2 nights, from the moment we stepped into this beautiful mansion we were made to feel special. Karen and Steve have thought of everything, our room was spotless, and spacious, the kitchen had everything you could need. Fruit cake and port at night and then a delicious breakfast to start the day. Loved the Bircher Muesli. We loved our time at Penghana and will definitely be telling our travel agent about our experience. Thank you so much .

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Happykiwis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2024

Thank you for your words of praise. So pleased you enjoyed the little extras we provide. We certainly will appreciate you referring your travel agent to us or our website.
Our Penghana fruit cake is a 'staple' here ..... we make two almost every 10-12 days!!! We aren't secretive about the recipe either.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2024

If you are visiting Queenstown you must stay at Penghana. The whole experience from Steve booking dinner for us on our first night to Karen's little gift on departure was amazing. The property is beautiful and Karen and Steve are very passionate about it which shows in their attention to detail and the level of service they provide.
We stayed in the upstairs VIP suite which accommodated our family of 4 more than comfortably. The whole house is beautifully furnished and this suite was no exception - even the robes (which were sooo soft and fluffy) matched the colour scheme! The room was spotlessly clean and I very much appreciated the automatic rubbish bins (thank you Karen).
The breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the complimentary port in the room was a lovely touch.
Queenstown may not be on everyone's Tassie road trip list but if it is then an escape at Penghana is the only way to experience it.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nickyb1294
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2024

Thank you for your comments. Feedback on what we are doing that guests like about their time at Penghana helps us to ensure we are always on track (and if there is something we haven't picked up that needs attention).
Evertything matching.............it's that October birthday with balanced scales!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2024

We liked everything starting with the generous space and classic interior of a Manor House and last not least the caring, warm and professional service from Karen and Steve, very rare to find nowadays. The breakfast using local products is much more than just a breakfast. Freshly baked sourdough bread, home-made Bircher muesli and jam and a full English breakfast on top if wanted. Very generous. We would stay there again. Early booking advised

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank UGN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2024

Thank you for your wonderful words. We are humbled by your comments. We hope you are feeling better!! We would be delighted to see our paths cross again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2024

Hard to find accommodation for a family of four with adult children. This was perfect. Historic, interesting property and host exceptional. Very accommodating to make sure stay was memorable. Suggestions for activities to do spot on. Could have stayed longer

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and acknowledging the guidance we were able to give you to make your tourism experiences 'spot on'.

So we are a little puzzled that whilst you've rated your accommodation as 'spot on' and you 'could have stayed longer', that you didn't feel it was value for money. We are certainly wondering what else we would have needed to offer on top of the facilities and fitout and all the extras such as discount on your Heritage Cruise experience out of Strahan, bath robes/slippers, Netflix, complimentary port, hot water bottles and homemade treats throughout your stay.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews