We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Happykiwis2
Christchurch, New Zealand

Wonderful stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Feb 2024via mobile
We stayed in the Huxley Suite for 2 nights, from the moment we stepped into this beautiful mansion we were made to feel special. Karen and Steve have thought of everything, our room was spotless, and spacious, the kitchen had everything you could need. Fruit cake and port at night and then a delicious breakfast to start the day. Loved the Bircher Muesli. We loved our time at Penghana and will definitely be telling our travel agent about our experience. Thank you so much .
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review
Responded 16 Feb 2024
Thank you for your words of praise. So pleased you enjoyed the little extras we provide. We certainly will appreciate you referring your travel agent to us or our website.
Our Penghana fruit cake is a 'staple' here ..... we make two almost every 10-12 days!!! We aren't secretive about the recipe either.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$98
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$94
  • Hotels.com
    AU$91
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$70
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$70
0.3 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Queen room, a very big room
Booking.com
AU$68
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$100
  • Expedia.com
    AU$109
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$170
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$170
0.4 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Queen & Single Room
Booking.com
AU$139
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$140
  • Agoda.com
    AU$136
  • Expedia.com
    AU$149
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our room
Booking.com
AU$130
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$130
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$130
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$140
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$140
  • Hotels.com
    AU$128
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
AU$169
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$188
0.5 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
AU$143
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$143
0.8 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
2 Bedroom Family Room
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$169
  • StayForLong
  • Trip.com
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
233
18
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
233
18
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver service old house wonderful hosts national trust fruit cake karen steve complimentary port guest lounges step back in time a real treat breakfast was delicious interesting history overlooking queenstown old world charm lounge room highlight of our trip flannel sheets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2024

If you are visiting Queenstown you must stay at Penghana. The whole experience from Steve booking dinner for us on our first night to Karen's little gift on departure was amazing. The property is beautiful and Karen and Steve are very passionate about it which shows in their attention to detail and the level of service they provide.
We stayed in the upstairs VIP suite which accommodated our family of 4 more than comfortably. The whole house is beautifully furnished and this suite was no exception - even the robes (which were sooo soft and fluffy) matched the colour scheme! The room was spotlessly clean and I very much appreciated the automatic rubbish bins (thank you Karen).
The breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the complimentary port in the room was a lovely touch.
Queenstown may not be on everyone's Tassie road trip list but if it is then an escape at Penghana is the only way to experience it.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nickyb1294
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2024

Thank you for your comments. Feedback on what we are doing that guests like about their time at Penghana helps us to ensure we are always on track (and if there is something we haven't picked up that needs attention).
Evertything matching.............it's that October birthday with balanced scales!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2024

We liked everything starting with the generous space and classic interior of a Manor House and last not least the caring, warm and professional service from Karen and Steve, very rare to find nowadays. The breakfast using local products is much more than just a breakfast. Freshly baked sourdough bread, home-made Bircher muesli and jam and a full English breakfast on top if wanted. Very generous. We would stay there again. Early booking advised

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank UGN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2024

Thank you for your wonderful words. We are humbled by your comments. We hope you are feeling better!! We would be delighted to see our paths cross again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2024

Hard to find accommodation for a family of four with adult children. This was perfect. Historic, interesting property and host exceptional. Very accommodating to make sure stay was memorable. Suggestions for activities to do spot on. Could have stayed longer

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and acknowledging the guidance we were able to give you to make your tourism experiences 'spot on'.

So we are a little puzzled that whilst you've rated your accommodation as 'spot on' and you 'could have stayed longer', that you didn't feel it was value for money. We are certainly wondering what else we would have needed to offer on top of the facilities and fitout and all the extras such as discount on your Heritage Cruise experience out of Strahan, bath robes/slippers, Netflix, complimentary port, hot water bottles and homemade treats throughout your stay.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2024

I am a regular business visitor to Queenstown. On this latest occasion I was travelling with my mother so opted for the grand house on the hill. What a fantastic destination! Karen and Steve display such an incredible passion for not only the historical house they are the current custodians of, but for ensuring each and every guest is made to feel welcome, comfortable and at home.
If you want a place to stay with stories, old and new, this is it!
I look forward to becoming a Penghana regular <3

Room tip: Stay more than one night to really take in Queenstown and the surrounding area, plus to enjoy Karen & Steve's hospitality to the fullest.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 639eveh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2024

Eve thank you for bringing your Mum to stay. We were very touched by the comment she left in our visitors book. Penghana certainly has stories - it was the house's history that attracted us and stood out. Other properties we considered were just big houses.
We'd love to see you as a regular guest for business. Penghana has a wonderful regular 'corporate family' - some who have been staying with us for 8 years now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2024

What a fantastic place to stay, wonderful history, great rooms and a breakfast to die for. Karen and Steve are so welcoming and so generous. The view over Queenstown is incredible and the steam whistle of the train can be clearly heard, a reminder of history over 100 years ago!!!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2024

Thank you Paul for your kind words. Pleased you found Penghana B&B a fantastic place to stay to enjoy both the history and to be spoilt. Yes we missed the steam whistle whilst the train was in recess and pleased its back not only for our guests but to keep us organised - we know how we are tracking with our chores for checks outs and check ins when we hear it.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews