We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
UGN21
Singapore, Singapore

Perfect hospitality

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Feb 2024
We liked everything starting with the generous space and classic interior of a Manor House and last not least the caring, warm and professional service from Karen and Steve, very rare to find nowadays. The breakfast using local products is much more than just a breakfast. Freshly baked sourdough bread, home-made Bircher muesli and jam and a full English breakfast on top if wanted. Very generous. We would stay there again. Early booking advised
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review
Responded 14 Feb 2024
Thank you for your wonderful words. We are humbled by your comments. We hope you are feeling better!! We would be delighted to see our paths cross again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$93
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
2 Bedroom Family Room
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$169
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Restaurant
eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.4 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen & Single Room
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$140
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our room
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Restaurant
Queen room, a very big room
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$92
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$130
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
233
18
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
233
18
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver service old house wonderful hosts national trust fruit cake karen steve complimentary port guest lounges step back in time a real treat breakfast was delicious interesting history overlooking queenstown old world charm lounge room highlight of our trip flannel sheets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2024

Hard to find accommodation for a family of four with adult children. This was perfect. Historic, interesting property and host exceptional. Very accommodating to make sure stay was memorable. Suggestions for activities to do spot on. Could have stayed longer

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and acknowledging the guidance we were able to give you to make your tourism experiences 'spot on'.

So we are a little puzzled that whilst you've rated your accommodation as 'spot on' and you 'could have stayed longer', that you didn't feel it was value for money. We are certainly wondering what else we would have needed to offer on top of the facilities and fitout and all the extras such as discount on your Heritage Cruise experience out of Strahan, bath robes/slippers, Netflix, complimentary port, hot water bottles and homemade treats throughout your stay.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2024

I am a regular business visitor to Queenstown. On this latest occasion I was travelling with my mother so opted for the grand house on the hill. What a fantastic destination! Karen and Steve display such an incredible passion for not only the historical house they are the current custodians of, but for ensuring each and every guest is made to feel welcome, comfortable and at home.
If you want a place to stay with stories, old and new, this is it!
I look forward to becoming a Penghana regular <3

Room tip: Stay more than one night to really take in Queenstown and the surrounding area, plus to enjoy Karen & Steve's hospitality to the fullest.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 639eveh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2024

Eve thank you for bringing your Mum to stay. We were very touched by the comment she left in our visitors book. Penghana certainly has stories - it was the house's history that attracted us and stood out. Other properties we considered were just big houses.
We'd love to see you as a regular guest for business. Penghana has a wonderful regular 'corporate family' - some who have been staying with us for 8 years now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2024

What a fantastic place to stay, wonderful history, great rooms and a breakfast to die for. Karen and Steve are so welcoming and so generous. The view over Queenstown is incredible and the steam whistle of the train can be clearly heard, a reminder of history over 100 years ago!!!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2024

Thank you Paul for your kind words. Pleased you found Penghana B&B a fantastic place to stay to enjoy both the history and to be spoilt. Yes we missed the steam whistle whilst the train was in recess and pleased its back not only for our guests but to keep us organised - we know how we are tracking with our chores for checks outs and check ins when we hear it.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2024

My experience was all and more than I could have hoped for. Karen and Steve are fantastic hosts and do everything to make you feel welcome. Breakfast is amazing and the decor around this beautiful old house is very tasteful and homely. A personal interest is taken in every guest and great local knowledge helps make your time truly memorable.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank missy2018736
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Thank you for your words of praise. We do strive to ensure all our guests feel welcome and at home. So pleased we were able to 'steer' you in the right direction to get more information for your family history project Thank you for choosing to stay at Penghana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2024 via mobile

Our 3-night escape to Penghana Bed and Breakfast in Queenstown, Tasmania, was a delightful experience. Karen and Steve, our gracious hosts, made our stay truly exceptional. Their generosity and meticulous attention to detail were evident in every aspect of our visit. From the personalised recommendations to the thoughtfully decorated rooms, we felt welcomed and pampered. Steve’s delicious breakfasts were a highlight, showcasing local produce. Penghana B&B, with its warm hospitality and charming ambiance, is a standout choice for those seeking a memorable getaway. Highly recommend this beautiful B & B to anyone looking for both an enriching and cozy getaway and a base for exploring neighbouring attractions on the west coast and central Tasmania.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SAMASSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

Thank you for your praise and taking the time to review your visit with. It is rewarding when our guests see beyond just bed and breakfast to note the little extras we provide as part of our standard offering to ensure you all leave us with fond memories of your stay her.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews