We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$299
Fully refundable before Wed, 28 Feb
Breakfast included
Priceline
AU$299
Fully refundable before Wed, 28 Feb
Agoda.com
AU$299
Fully refundable before Wed, 28 Feb
Breakfast included
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
276
38
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
276
38
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver service old house wonderful hosts national trust fruit cake karen steve complimentary port guest lounges step back in time a real treat breakfast was delicious interesting history overlooking queenstown old world charm lounge room highlight of our trip flannel sheets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2023

The apartment is ideal for four. Spotlessly clean and lovely touches included a decanter of port! Steve gave an amusing tour and he & Karen were very readily available if needed (so friendly & helpful). We wholeheartedly recommend to others (just as we had been).

Room tip: Queenstown is well worth exploring and the heritage centre in Zeehan is well worth the trip.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2023

Thank you for your kind words. We certainly enjoyed meeting you and your family. Our regime of cleaning is such that it is difficult for us, or a staff member, when cleaning, to miss anything. We do pride ourselves that we present a 'product' that won't disappoint.
We appreciate any recommendations you may give to others to come and stay at Penghana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2023 via mobile

The title says it …. From the moment we arrived it felt special and different, we felt we were part of history.
On arrival we were provided with a tour and some of the history of this incredible property.
Steve and Karen were the prefect hosts, made us feel very welcome and special.
The property has a licensed bar so we could sit outside and admire the view with a drink.
Rooms very well appointed and very quiet and comfortable. We also had a small lounge and kitchen shared with two other rooms, great to relax with a glass of port of a cup of tea.
The highlight of course being breakfast, home made yogurt and poached pears, home baked bread and a cooked breakfast for champions.
Many thanks to Steve and Karen for an amazing stay.

Room tip: You simply have to go and stay you will be impressed
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2023

Thank you for your words of praise. We love to hear that our guests feel welcome and special.
That upstairs lounge sees many a glass of port and cups of tea as well as light snacks instead of going out for dinner.
Again thank you for supporting small business on the West Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2023 via mobile

Everything is there. Incredible appointments. It was a true stay of relaxation and comfort. The best bed I have slept in a long time well appointed kitchen. Space. Central location. History and the hosts so helpful. Old world charm and hospitality

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ross R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2023

Ross, We appreciate your comments. Thank you. Love to hear that our guests have a great sleep when they stay with us and that your found the kitchenette facility covered everything you needed.
Yes Penghana certainly has a great story to share - now 125 years worth too. We aren't just somewhere to stay! We trust you enjoyed the permanent photo exhibition in the ballroom that recognises all the general managers who lived here and contributed to the 'fabric' of Queenstown and its history as well as showing the evolution of the house over this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2023 via mobile

Beautiful home and fantastic hosts who made this an unforgettable experience. The history of the house is well documented and interesting. We loved all the small details in the room which made us feel like we were in the roaring forties. The facilities in the house were second to none and we felt like we were the Lord and Lady of the Manor! Steve your breakfast was magnificent and I am going to make Karen’s Guilt Free Fruitcake as soon as I get home!

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

Thank you Gemma for your beautiful comments. We love to know our guests 'feel special' when staying with us and go home with special memories. Let me know how you go with the fruit cake.

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2023

An amazing trip - I was here for a conference, but the West Coast, Queenstown and Penghana B & B made this feel like a holiday. Karen is an amazing host - from the cosy bedsheets and fruitcake to the well-stocked wine cellar and rooms to explore (thanks for the tour, Karen!). I cannot recommend highly enough - stay here, you will not be disappointed!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billybrads2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2023

Thank you for your comments. Glad we made a work trip feel like a brief holiday!. We're pleased you loved the warm sheets - you certainly got a taste of west coast changeable weather when you were here. We hope you visit again with your loved ones.
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews