We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$299
Fully refundable before Wed, 24 Apr
Breakfast included
Priceline
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
230
18
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
230
18
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver service old house wonderful hosts national trust fruit cake karen steve complimentary port guest lounges step back in time a real treat breakfast was delicious interesting history overlooking queenstown old world charm lounge room highlight of our trip flannel sheets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2023 via mobile

Everything is there. Incredible appointments. It was a true stay of relaxation and comfort. The best bed I have slept in a long time well appointed kitchen. Space. Central location. History and the hosts so helpful. Old world charm and hospitality

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ross R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2023

Ross, We appreciate your comments. Thank you. Love to hear that our guests have a great sleep when they stay with us and that your found the kitchenette facility covered everything you needed.
Yes Penghana certainly has a great story to share - now 125 years worth too. We aren't just somewhere to stay! We trust you enjoyed the permanent photo exhibition in the ballroom that recognises all the general managers who lived here and contributed to the 'fabric' of Queenstown and its history as well as showing the evolution of the house over this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2023 via mobile

Beautiful home and fantastic hosts who made this an unforgettable experience. The history of the house is well documented and interesting. We loved all the small details in the room which made us feel like we were in the roaring forties. The facilities in the house were second to none and we felt like we were the Lord and Lady of the Manor! Steve your breakfast was magnificent and I am going to make Karen’s Guilt Free Fruitcake as soon as I get home!

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

Thank you Gemma for your beautiful comments. We love to know our guests 'feel special' when staying with us and go home with special memories. Let me know how you go with the fruit cake.

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2023

An amazing trip - I was here for a conference, but the West Coast, Queenstown and Penghana B & B made this feel like a holiday. Karen is an amazing host - from the cosy bedsheets and fruitcake to the well-stocked wine cellar and rooms to explore (thanks for the tour, Karen!). I cannot recommend highly enough - stay here, you will not be disappointed!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billybrads2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2023

Thank you for your comments. Glad we made a work trip feel like a brief holiday!. We're pleased you loved the warm sheets - you certainly got a taste of west coast changeable weather when you were here. We hope you visit again with your loved ones.
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2023

Firstly, Karen's meticulous eye to detail is second to none. From her welcome at the door to the next morning's amazing breakfast this lovely lady and Steve host a superb Bed & Breakfast. (Speaking of breakfast, you must try her bircher muesli. And Steve's bread.) Authentic period decor, wonderful linen and beds, lovely thoughtful touches throughout; there is too much to mention individually. Every industry award is well deserved. The best part though is how welcome and comfortable Karen made us feel. We loved every minute of our stay. Thank you!

Room tip: Ask Karen to share her knowledge of where to eat locally or in Hobart. And don't forget to get her recipe for a great lens cleaner.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2023

Veronica, we are humbled by your glowing words and we thank you. As we love what we do, we don't tire of getting up every day to do it again. Yes we are always looking for another little 'extra' touch which we think our guests will find comforting, useful or make them feel pampered and welcome. t
Again thank you for your review it is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2023

When we first come into Queenstown, Penghana stood out high on a beautiful hill. It did not disappoint. As soon as we entered the front door, we were made very welcome. The old mansion was beautifully kept, with history on the walls, old style furniture and a feel of going back in time. We stayed in the Owen Suit which had a great view of Queenstown, nicely laid out antique furniture and a lovely decanter of Port. Steven & Karen went beyond our expectations, even chauffeuring us into town for dinner and picking us up. We what else can l say! You will just have to find out when you get here.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2023

Firstly apologies we have taken soo long to respond (we've actually had a break so we can continue to maintain our level of attention to our guests).
Thank you for your kind words.
Our goal is to always exceed our guests expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews