We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$299
Fully refundable before Wed, 28 Feb
Breakfast included
Priceline
AU$299
Fully refundable before Wed, 28 Feb
Agoda.com
AU$299
Fully refundable before Wed, 28 Feb
Breakfast included
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
276
38
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
276
38
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver service old house wonderful hosts national trust fruit cake karen steve complimentary port guest lounges step back in time a real treat breakfast was delicious interesting history overlooking queenstown old world charm lounge room highlight of our trip flannel sheets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2023

When we first come into Queenstown, Penghana stood out high on a beautiful hill. It did not disappoint. As soon as we entered the front door, we were made very welcome. The old mansion was beautifully kept, with history on the walls, old style furniture and a feel of going back in time. We stayed in the Owen Suit which had a great view of Queenstown, nicely laid out antique furniture and a lovely decanter of Port. Steven & Karen went beyond our expectations, even chauffeuring us into town for dinner and picking us up. We what else can l say! You will just have to find out when you get here.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2023

Firstly apologies we have taken soo long to respond (we've actually had a break so we can continue to maintain our level of attention to our guests).
Thank you for your kind words.
Our goal is to always exceed our guests expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2023 via mobile

We literally felt transported back in time to when the mansion was first built. Steve and Karen were the perfect hosts with Steve taking on the role of what could only be described as the most attentive butler! The attention to detail was amazing. Well done both. We will be back again. The work that they have put in to create this experience is definitely well worth taking the time to stay.

Room tip: Book in advance during peak times
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PaulA8001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2023

Paul, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. Steve loved your description of him as an "attentive butler"!!!
Yes, we have put alot of effort into creating an experience here so guests' stay is much more than just somewhere to rest their head.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2023 via mobile

All details thought about for your stay and personalised service that definitely exceeds expectations! Everything from the warm welcome, to complimentary chauffeur service, to beautiful history throughout the house, to cozy beds, to world class breakfast….Thank you Steve and Karen!
Looking forward to our return. Longer next time!

Room tip: Stay for a while and enjoy the sights.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank chadc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2023

Thank you for your beautiful comments (apologies it's taken us too long to respond - we had a break!!)
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2023

We are sorry we didn't have another night at this amazing accommodation. Cosy room and comfortable bed. Beautiful decor with a French flair. The breakfast was perfect. Nothing was a trouble for the hosts Karen and Steve. Karen's fruit cake was a treat. Hope it isn't too long until we return for another stay.

Room tip: Easy access to sights around Queenstown ie walks, eateries, museum
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pre50018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2023

Jenny we appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to you visiting again and we will definitely have fruit cake! It is a standard offering at Penghana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2023

Fantastic place to stay and great to use as a base for a few days adventuring to nearby attractions. Rooms are beautiful and show off the character and heritage of the place. Steve and Karen are consummate hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The initial welcome and level of attention to the customer experience is outstanding. Special mention for the silver service breakfast (poached eggs and bircher muesli were superb) and the complimentary port in the evening.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2023

Receiving such warm and positive words from your stay with us, certainly is a reward for us to hear. So 'thank you' for appreciating the level of effort we go to ensure our guests enjoy their time at Penghana.

Our aim is to combine the formal and style of the past an everyday 'thing' in these grand houses, with expectations of 21st century living.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews