We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
AU$299
Fully refundable before Wed, 28 Feb
Breakfast included
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
276
38
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
276
38
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver service old house wonderful hosts national trust fruit cake karen steve complimentary port guest lounges step back in time a real treat breakfast was delicious interesting history overlooking queenstown old world charm lounge room highlight of our trip flannel sheets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2023 via mobile

All details thought about for your stay and personalised service that definitely exceeds expectations! Everything from the warm welcome, to complimentary chauffeur service, to beautiful history throughout the house, to cozy beds, to world class breakfast….Thank you Steve and Karen!
Looking forward to our return. Longer next time!

Room tip: Stay for a while and enjoy the sights.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank chadc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2023

Thank you for your beautiful comments (apologies it's taken us too long to respond - we had a break!!)
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2023

We are sorry we didn't have another night at this amazing accommodation. Cosy room and comfortable bed. Beautiful decor with a French flair. The breakfast was perfect. Nothing was a trouble for the hosts Karen and Steve. Karen's fruit cake was a treat. Hope it isn't too long until we return for another stay.

Room tip: Easy access to sights around Queenstown ie walks, eateries, museum
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pre50018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2023

Jenny we appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to you visiting again and we will definitely have fruit cake! It is a standard offering at Penghana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2023

Fantastic place to stay and great to use as a base for a few days adventuring to nearby attractions. Rooms are beautiful and show off the character and heritage of the place. Steve and Karen are consummate hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The initial welcome and level of attention to the customer experience is outstanding. Special mention for the silver service breakfast (poached eggs and bircher muesli were superb) and the complimentary port in the evening.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2023

Receiving such warm and positive words from your stay with us, certainly is a reward for us to hear. So 'thank you' for appreciating the level of effort we go to ensure our guests enjoy their time at Penghana.

Our aim is to combine the formal and style of the past an everyday 'thing' in these grand houses, with expectations of 21st century living.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2023

Definitely one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. Very comfortable, quiet room. Excellent breakfast cooked by host Steve. Karen & Steve are great hosts. The icing on the cake was that Steve provides a free chauffeur service to & from your dinner venue! Well done!.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2023

Thank you for your 5 star review and your compliments about your stay at Penghana.
Yes, guests love our our chauffer service - it's just another way we can make our guests feel spoilt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2023

First of all, Steve & Karen are the perfect hosts. Their house is just amazing. The he old Victorian style house has been well maintained for its age.

We arrived on Good Friday. They were so considerate. Knowing it was a holiday, and few options would be available, they made reservations for us at a local restaurant. Also, knowing it might be hard to find, Steve drove us to dinner, and came back to pick us up.

They offer silver service for breakfast. Steve will cook your food to order, and it’s plentiful. Breakfast was delicious

Our room was very spacious. We had a large bathroom, with a modern shower. There is coffee/tea service in the room. They also provided us with our own Port. Unfortunately, we’re not much drinkers. It was still a very nice touch.

We had came to town to ride the historic train. I inadvertently left part of a phone charger at the B&B. Steve not only reached out to me, he contacted the train company to let us know. Steve also ran the item down to the train station so we wouldn’t have to drive back and get it. You just don’t get this kind of service from a hotel anymore. It was so unexpected, and delightful.

I was upset that we only stayed for one night. This is the type of place you’d like to stay longer. I would highly recommend staying here.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MelandGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2023

Hello and thank you for your touching review. I guess you are back in Missouri now - hope the rest of your adventure 'down under' was memorable.
So pleased you got your charger back - it wasn't any trouble to ensure we could return it to you before you left town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews