We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Melanie Rees
Saint Louis, Missouri

Worth a side trip to Queenstown!!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Apr 2023
First of all, Steve & Karen are the perfect hosts. Their house is just amazing. The he old Victorian style house has been well maintained for its age.

We arrived on Good Friday. They were so considerate. Knowing it was a holiday, and few options would be available, they made reservations for us at a local restaurant. Also, knowing it might be hard to find, Steve drove us to dinner, and came back to pick us up.

They offer silver service for breakfast. Steve will cook your food to order, and it’s plentiful. Breakfast was delicious

Our room was very spacious. We had a large bathroom, with a modern shower. There is coffee/tea service in the room. They also provided us with our own Port. Unfortunately, we’re not much drinkers. It was still a very nice touch.

We had came to town to ride the historic train. I inadvertently left part of a phone charger at the B&B. Steve not only reached out to me, he contacted the train company to let us know. Steve also ran the item down to the train station so we wouldn’t have to drive back and get it. You just don’t get this kind of service from a hotel anymore. It was so unexpected, and delightful.

I was upset that we only stayed for one night. This is the type of place you’d like to stay longer. I would highly recommend staying here.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review
Responded 27 Apr 2023
Hello and thank you for your touching review. I guess you are back in Missouri now - hope the rest of your adventure 'down under' was memorable.
So pleased you got your charger back - it wasn't any trouble to ensure we could return it to you before you left town.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lol.travel
    0.4 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    0.3 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    2 Bedroom Family Room
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • ZenHotels.com
    • eDreams
    0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    • Vio.com
    0.4 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Queen & Single Room
    Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Our room
    Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Queen room, a very big room
    Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    0.5 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    0.4 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
    View more hotels in Queenstown
    Reviews (252)
    Filter reviews
    252 results
    Traveller rating
    233
    18
    0
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    233
    18
    0
    1
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews silver service old house wonderful hosts national trust fruit cake karen steve complimentary port guest lounges step back in time a real treat breakfast was delicious interesting history overlooking queenstown old world charm lounge room highlight of our trip flannel sheets
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    38 - 43 of 252 reviews
    Reviewed 25 April 2023

    We couldn’t get accommodation in Strahan so thought we had settled for second best staying at Queenstown but what a pleasant surprise Penghana turned out to be. Steve and Karin were so welcoming to their beautiful old property full of history and wonderful touches by Karen. Steve’s silver service breakfast was also something to behold. They also booked dinners for us downtown and Steve kindly drove us there and picked us up afterwards so no problem to have and extra glass of wine. Certainly a highlight of our trip to Tasmania. We can strongly recommend a stay at Penghana
    B & B.

    Date of stay: April 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Owen V
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2023

    Thank you so much for your review. We love it when guests get a surprise when they stay with us. Queenstown is so often 'misunderstood'.
    We strive to make every guest's stay a great experience and have you feel spoilt.
    Again thank you for the recommendation to others here.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 April 2023 via mobile

    We stayed there one night . The house is a historical building, very well kept. Room has all the small details. Super comfy. Karen and Steve are very kind and will give you all kinds of tips and recommendations.
    The breakfast they cook is excellent, with the best local ingredients.
    We highly recommend this place.

    Room tip: Have breakfast there.
    Date of stay: April 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank BarCisIgo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2023

    Barbara and Alan, it was a delight to meet you and enjoy your company. Thank you for your kind words. Hope our tips for the rest of your stay come in handy. We appreciate it's hard to sometimes make sound decisions when it is your first time in a place. Hope you visit again.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 April 2023

    Here the little things and the big things combine to make this a special stay. Spectacle cleaning facilities at the top of the stairs. Karen's guilt free fruit cake. Undercover parking so you don't get wet packing your car when it rains, which, you might have heard, it does quite a bit in Queenstown. The house, the room were meticulously presented and Steve's greeting gave him an early points start to the full five. Breakfast was fabulous, fit for a Prime Minister, even one about to be shafted by his party. The condemned man would have had a hearty meal. Penghana is a pivotal part of the modern and early history of Queenstown. To stay here is to experience how the other half, well actually an even smaller fraction, lived. If you go to Zeehan, you can see one of the original residents' personal rail car with its rich, leather upholstery for which he had a personal chauffeur. Penghana was built with the same attention to luxurious detail. And in 2023, Steve will willingly be your apppointed chauffeur for the trip into town to dine at the equally Prime Ministerial Empire Hotel, where the menu for Alfred Deakin's 1909 visit is displayed. Wander up the street to the Hunter Hotel, where colourful political identity King O'Malley, self proclaimed father of the Commonwealth Bank, gave his speeches from the wrought iron enclosed balcony. Full of characters, and character building for the horny-handed sons of toil who laboured here in impossible conditions, Queenstown has known boom and bust with not always equal measure. Penghana has watched much of it from a position of privilege and authority. Karen and Steve have channeled it all to create something unique, five star unique.

    Date of stay: March 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank WarHadf
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2023

    Loved your take on Queenstown and the region in general, and its history. Thank you for appreciating the little extras we love to give our guests. Ensuring our guests have the best from quality whether it be our towels and pillows torthe fresh produce we serve at breakfast, is always our mission.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 April 2023

    Where to begin? Penghana and more specifically, Karen and Steve were the accomodation/host highlight of our Tasmanian tour. Beautiful old house full of interest and history. Super comfortable bedroom and guest lounges - and brace yourself for an"epic"breakfast - just fantastic!!
    Do yourselves a favor and include "Penghana" in your Tasmanian travel plans....

    Date of stay: April 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Barrie Y
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2023

    Thank you Barrie for your glowing words of praise. We love that we are able to provide our guests with different areas to sit and relax as well as the confines of their room. Yes, we always have stories as the house is 125 years old this year and we are able to contantly add to collection of stories from people who not only lived in Queenstown years ago but those who actually grew up in the house.
    We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. I wonder what special car you will bring next time???

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 April 2023 via mobile

    Penghana is the place to stay in Queenstown ! An amazing location and historic residence with such a colourful past - lovingly maintained by Steve and Karen. We were made to feel very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We felt as though we had stepped back in history and gained a sense of what life in this fascinating town once was.

    Date of stay: April 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Angie P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2023

    Thank you Angie for taking the time to review your stay with us. Pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and the history story it provides.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews