We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Barrie Y

Looking forward to going back to "Penghana"

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Apr 2023
Where to begin? Penghana and more specifically, Karen and Steve were the accomodation/host highlight of our Tasmanian tour. Beautiful old house full of interest and history. Super comfortable bedroom and guest lounges - and brace yourself for an"epic"breakfast - just fantastic!!
Do yourselves a favor and include "Penghana" in your Tasmanian travel plans....
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review
Responded 24 Apr 2023
Thank you Barrie for your glowing words of praise. We love that we are able to provide our guests with different areas to sit and relax as well as the confines of their room. Yes, we always have stories as the house is 125 years old this year and we are able to contantly add to collection of stories from people who not only lived in Queenstown years ago but those who actually grew up in the house.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. I wonder what special car you will bring next time???
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$92
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
2 Bedroom Family Room
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$157
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Restaurant
eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.4 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen & Single Room
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$139
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our room
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Restaurant
Queen room, a very big room
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$98
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$130
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
233
18
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
233
18
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver service old house wonderful hosts national trust fruit cake karen steve complimentary port guest lounges step back in time a real treat breakfast was delicious interesting history overlooking queenstown old world charm lounge room highlight of our trip flannel sheets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2023 via mobile

Penghana is the place to stay in Queenstown ! An amazing location and historic residence with such a colourful past - lovingly maintained by Steve and Karen. We were made to feel very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We felt as though we had stepped back in history and gained a sense of what life in this fascinating town once was.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Angie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2023

Thank you Angie for taking the time to review your stay with us. Pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and the history story it provides.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2023

Steve and Karen are lovely and so very passionate about Penghana and making sure your stay is as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. We could not fault our stay with them. It's a beautiful old house with remarkable views of My Owen and Steve's scrambled eggs are the best!

Room tip: Just relax and enjoy! Oh, and get the scrambled eggs!
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank donlang2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2023

Thank you for your kind words and positive comments. Much appreciated. We believe in giving value for money and we strive to exceed guests' expectations.

As you'd imagine we make a lot of scrambled eggs - what's that old saying "practise makes perfect" .... and our secret is they aren't made with water or milk!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2023

Stayed for 4 nights in the 2 bedroom apartment and it was a fabulous place to be based while exploring Tassie’s West.

Karen made the booking process easy and gave great recommendations on what we could do while we were there.

When we arrived the 2 bed apartment exceeded our expectations. It was spotlessly clean and a great size. The kitchen had everything you could need. Air fryer, stove top, toaster, filter coffee, slow cooker and more.

There were even fluffy bathrobes and slippers for us all.

During our stay we were made to feel most welcome and were grateful recipients of fresh baked muffins and bread.

Thanks Karen and Steve for the wonderful welcome and stay.

Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kyliemZ760KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2023

Thanks Kylie - we love to hear we exceed our guests' expectations. When travelling ourselves it's things like extra towels and good quality coffee,a homemade treat and a personal welcome that does make a difference to one's stay so we strive to ensure we treat our guests the way we love to be spoilt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2023

Karen and Steve provided the best service for the six of us cyclists. Nothing was too much trouble, including arranging a team dinner in their beautiful formal dining room, breakfasts providing energy for the day, even spare towels and face washers for an all day ride. They were great hosts, comfortable beds and drinks to our taste at the bar following a day on the bikes. Highly recommended

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank S2990CVpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2023

Paul, we loved hosting your group. Thank you for your comments and we are pleased we were able to tailor your stay and needs as required.
Yes Penghana is a great venue for a group who want to have exclusive use for a reunion, get away or a retreat.
We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Thank you again for your support of Penghana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2023

Wonderful hospitality, 1898 National Trust Mansion, on a scenic hillside, overlooking Queenstown’s township. We enjoyed 3 nights at this gorgeous mansion. Located close to all the West coast sightseeing spots. Only a 45-minute drive to Strahan for Gordon River Cruises or 1.5 hours to Tasmania’s Iconic Cradle Mountain or Corrina’s Pieman River for day trips. We stayed in the 2 bedroom downstairs apartment. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. it was cold and raining when we were there but soooo warm with the heater on. On tap sherry and port 24hours.

Room tip: All the rooms are lovely - we stayed on the ground floor apartment with its own car park and two bedrooms with lovely pressed metal walls .
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KENDALLJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2023

Thank you for your descriptive review - this certainly spells out for potential guests the reason why staying at Penghana is an excellent cenral location.
We work hard to ensure the most important part of your stay (the bed) is 'just perfect', so thank you for reassuring us and others that we have succeeded there.
It's the little extras we strive to give our guests to make their stay just a tad more special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews