We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
S2990CVpaul
Melbourne, Australia

welcoming great service and comfort in a beautiful Heritage house

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Mar 2023
Karen and Steve provided the best service for the six of us cyclists. Nothing was too much trouble, including arranging a team dinner in their beautiful formal dining room, breakfasts providing energy for the day, even spare towels and face washers for an all day ride. They were great hosts, comfortable beds and drinks to our taste at the bar following a day on the bikes. Highly recommended
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review
Responded 29 Mar 2023
Paul, we loved hosting your group. Thank you for your comments and we are pleased we were able to tailor your stay and needs as required.
Yes Penghana is a great venue for a group who want to have exclusive use for a reunion, get away or a retreat.
We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Thank you again for your support of Penghana.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$98
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$93
  • Expedia.com
    AU$94
0.3 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$70
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$70
0.3 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
AU$153
  • Agoda.com
    AU$153
0.4 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Queen & Single Room
AU$139
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$136
  • Expedia.com
    AU$139
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our room
AU$130
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$130
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$130
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$140
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$140
  • Agoda.com
    AU$123
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$176
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$158
0.5 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
AU$143
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$143
0.8 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
2 Bedroom Family Room
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$143
  • Trip.com
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Restaurant
Queen room, a very big room
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$123
  • Agoda.com
    AU$68
  • Hotels.com
    AU$113
0.5 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
234
18
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
234
18
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver service old house wonderful hosts national trust fruit cake karen steve complimentary port guest lounges step back in time a real treat breakfast was delicious interesting history overlooking queenstown old world charm lounge room highlight of our trip flannel sheets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2023

Wonderful hospitality, 1898 National Trust Mansion, on a scenic hillside, overlooking Queenstown’s township. We enjoyed 3 nights at this gorgeous mansion. Located close to all the West coast sightseeing spots. Only a 45-minute drive to Strahan for Gordon River Cruises or 1.5 hours to Tasmania’s Iconic Cradle Mountain or Corrina’s Pieman River for day trips. We stayed in the 2 bedroom downstairs apartment. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. it was cold and raining when we were there but soooo warm with the heater on. On tap sherry and port 24hours.

Room tip: All the rooms are lovely - we stayed on the ground floor apartment with its own car park and two bedrooms with lovely pressed metal walls .
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KENDALLJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2023

Thank you for your descriptive review - this certainly spells out for potential guests the reason why staying at Penghana is an excellent cenral location.
We work hard to ensure the most important part of your stay (the bed) is 'just perfect', so thank you for reassuring us and others that we have succeeded there.
It's the little extras we strive to give our guests to make their stay just a tad more special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2023

A grande historic home, beautifully presented. First class, friendly and personal service. No details were missed. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Easily the best accommodation of our trip. Luxury at mid-range price.

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank neilpQ5043DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2023

Neil - thank you for your praise and your comments. We love to hear your stay with us was a highlight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2023 via mobile

A delightful place to stay. Our hosts, Karen and Steve made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Beautifully renovated and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and so was the ‘guilt free’ fruit cake. Only wish we could have stayed longer.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank julie56williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2023

Julie, Thank you for your compliments about your stay with us. Feedback from our guests keeps us motivated and is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2023

Staying at Penghana is so much more than just a bed for the night. It’s a beautiful, historic building with delightful rooms that are very comfortable with great bathrooms! Steve and Karen are great hosts and breakfast was delicious. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Y7261LNsarahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2023

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at Penghana. We put our heart and soul into ensuring the things guests are looking for when they book a B&B are met, with a few little surprises thrown in. Comfortable bed and bedding, great bathroom and great breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2022 via mobile

A most beautiful, tastefully decorated, well equipped and maintained mansion, looking over the town and surrounding hills - plus the generous and friendly attitude of Steve and Karen, a combination that made my 2 night stay a delight.
It is a first rate Mansion with unique atmosphere, excellent service, and friendly people - all set in a beautiful location.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank yoramb240
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2022

Thank you Yorum for your beautiful words of praise. We feel we have achieved our goal when our guests are delighted and surprised at all the extras included and what is on offer when they stay at Penghana in Queenstown.
It was a pleasure to meet you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews