We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sarah M

Just beautiful

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Jan 2023
Staying at Penghana is so much more than just a bed for the night. It’s a beautiful, historic building with delightful rooms that are very comfortable with great bathrooms! Steve and Karen are great hosts and breakfast was delicious. Highly recommend.
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review
Responded 28 Jan 2023
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at Penghana. We put our heart and soul into ensuring the things guests are looking for when they book a B&B are met, with a few little surprises thrown in. Comfortable bed and bedding, great bathroom and great breakfast.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$94
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
2 Bedroom Family Room
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$144
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen & Single Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    AU$138
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$130
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Restaurant
Queen room, a very big room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$68
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$138
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from Penghana Bed & Breakfast
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
234
18
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
234
18
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver service old house wonderful hosts national trust fruit cake karen steve complimentary port guest lounges step back in time a real treat breakfast was delicious interesting history overlooking queenstown old world charm lounge room highlight of our trip flannel sheets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2022 via mobile

A most beautiful, tastefully decorated, well equipped and maintained mansion, looking over the town and surrounding hills - plus the generous and friendly attitude of Steve and Karen, a combination that made my 2 night stay a delight.
It is a first rate Mansion with unique atmosphere, excellent service, and friendly people - all set in a beautiful location.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank yoramb240
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2022

Thank you Yorum for your beautiful words of praise. We feel we have achieved our goal when our guests are delighted and surprised at all the extras included and what is on offer when they stay at Penghana in Queenstown.
It was a pleasure to meet you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2022

This place is very special and a MUST stay. The house is a historic mansion, but has so many modern comforts and amazing service from Steve and Karen. Bed super comfy and room wonderful. The whole experience awesome. Highly recommended

Room tip: Perfect location for railway trip
Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2022

Sam,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stat Penghana. We sincerely appreciate your positive words of praise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2022

What can we add to what has already been written? You won’t find this detailed attention to guests anywhere else . The sherry and port, spectacle cleaning station(!) , chauffered trip into town and back, and the breakfasts - pics we sent to our kids all caused replies like ‘royalty’ aristocracy, etc etc.
I carelessly left an item and Steve posted it on for me.
I’m sure I’ll think it must all have been a dream when we get home.
Thanks Steve and Karen and all success with it.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank badgerrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2022

Thank you for your beautiful words. Delighted we were a highlight of your trip. Yes our 'homemade' spectacle, phone or IPad screen cleaner is a hit here. It started out just for our shower screens but in a COVID world guests have appreciated the option to also clean their technology and glasses. To return things in the post to our guests, is never a problem for us.

It was a delight to meet you both - greetings of the season to you and your family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2022

Stayed 2 nights at Penghana and wish we could have had more. We knew we were in for something special when the checkin by Steve involved a tour of the property along with much of the history. Steve and Karen are made for this job as they both have many interesting stories to tell and their knowledge of the history of this beautiful home and the surrounding area just adds to the experience. The "Owen" room we stayed in was huge and had amazing views over Queenstown and the surrounding hills. There were lots of nice touches in the room including some homemade fruit cake. (Thanks Karen) The freshly cooked breakfast served to us made us feel like royalty and was a great start to the day. A highlight for us was on the last morning when Steve gave us a tour of the attic and told us some of the ghost stories of the house. (Friendly ghosts of course) This place is well worth a visit and you will leave wanting more. Thanks for your great hospitality Steve and Karen - loved it.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 267gavinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2022

Thank you for your kind words of praise. Acknowledgement of the efforts we go to, ensuring our guests have a wonderful experience at Penghana, is very much appreciated.

Yes the attic tour is popular and certainly brings together all things about the house.

It was a pleasure to host you - again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2022

Penghana is all class. This Victorian gem sits above Queenstown and gives the best view of the stunning countryside around. It's stocked to the roof with the most beautiful furniture, books galore, sumptuous, spacious rooms and well appointed and well stocked bathrooms.
But it is the little things that lift this place above the rest. The middle of winter and I'm offered cotton or flannel sheets if I prefer something cosier... classy. A carafe of free port in every room for a nightcap... classy. Home late and the offer of something hot if you haven't eaten... That's caring. The host offers to pick you up from the pub so you don't have to drive home or walk in the dark... What a gentleman! Muffins and a secret recipe fruit cake are left to graze on... Yum!
Steve and Karen know the business of running a Band B and it shows in spades. Discreet yet friendly. No fuss, just diligent, careful consideration to the guests needs. happy to share the history of Penghana, which is fascinating. But also happy to let you sit and soak up the place at your own pace. Two of my benchmarks are well passed- A well stocked bar and extra fluffy towels.Highly recommended if SW Tasmania is where you are heading.

Date of stay: July 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NBAus58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Nixon, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2022

Thank you for acknowledging the offer of changing sheets. Obviously many guests coming from warmer climates feel the cold and appreciate the micro flannel, yet the are some who sleep warm and much prefer cotton all year. As it is our goal to ensure all our guests are comfortable we make the offer to change the bedding on arrival to suit.
Yes reading every guests' needs is important as some just wish to come and retreat to their room, whilst others want to enjoy social interaction.
Love your benchmarks - a well stocked bard and fluffy towels. We undertake much effort to ensure our guests have the best quality towels, a choice of size and that they are 'fluffy'.
A sincere thanks for your 5 star review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews