We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$130
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Hotels.com
AU$130
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
AU$130
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
NomadicMike499670
Maleny, Australia

Old Motel , good location

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Mar 2024
A old motel but clean and reasonably maintained. Best thing is the location , close to central Queenstown. As others have noted, strange checkin process, my name was on a list on the closed office door ( mid- afternoon) with my room number and the key was in the room door. I never spoke to any staff in my 2 day stay. Go figure. But the room was quite comfortable and I slept well. The motel restaurant appears to be a separate business , it was ordinary. An adequate place, well located, though at $120 per night single , a bit expensive. There may? Be better options in Queenstown.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$109
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$94
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$93
  • Hotels.com
    AU$94
0.3 km from Queenstown Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$140
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$122
  • Agoda.com
    AU$120
  • Expedia.com
    AU$122
0.8 km from Queenstown Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$70
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$70
0.4 km from Queenstown Motor Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Queen & Single Room
Booking.com
AU$149
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$149
  • Agoda.com
    AU$140
  • Expedia.com
    AU$148
0.7 km from Queenstown Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen room, a very big room
Booking.com
AU$68
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$95
  • Priceline
    AU$75
  • Expedia.com
    AU$95
0.6 km from Queenstown Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$153
  • Agoda.com
    AU$153
0.2 km from Queenstown Motor Lodge
Booking.com
AU$143
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$143
0.9 km from Queenstown Motor Lodge
2 Bedroom Family Room
StayForLong
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Queenstown Motor Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$130
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$130
  • Priceline
    AU$130
  • Expedia.com
    AU$130
0.0 km from Queenstown Motor Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$130
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$130
  • Agoda.com
    AU$130
  • Vio.com
    AU$130
20.0 km from Queenstown Motor Lodge
Free parking
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
8
19
13
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
8
19
13
6
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2023

This motel is in a great location in town and has an onsite chineese restaurant but not open every night.
It is also close to an IGA store if you need any supplies.
We stayed in a renovated standard room on the ground floor. The room had a queen bed with 2 bedside lights over the bed and only one bedside table. there was a small TV,table and 2 chairs,small fridge with tea/coffee and milk. Toaster and kettle. Only cups and saucers and spoons no other cutlery or crockery. Free wifi was available
The sink was in the main unit .NO A/C
The bathroom had a large shower with a shower gel dispenser. No shampoo or conditioner.
Parking is off street close to the units but no dedicated bays as the motel has 2 storeys.
For the price I think the motel is good value for nights stay.

Room tip: If you have a problem with stair request a ground floor room
Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank greytravellerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 December 2022

So, it is evident they have attempted to renovate but at its core, this is a motel in a mining town and there is a level of comfort that comes from basic accommodation in that environment. Shower was brilliant, room clean and bed met expectations. Tiny room.

Restaurant closed, bar closed. Sign on reception with everyone checking in and their full name and room number and key in door. Didn't see one staff the entire time.

Short walk to town.

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobart2theWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2022 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights so we could ride the West Coast Wilderness Railway. Motel is old and outdated. Room is pokey. Bathroom has an odour with mould in the shower base and on the walls. Shower base was very slippery as in the bottom of a concrete pool with a flock of ducks! Carpet was not clean. Basic tea/coffee facilities plus toaster. Heater, which was effective. Bed was clean and comfortable. Staff friendly enough. Restaurant only does Queenstown Chinese meals, not a la carte as advertised on the web. Overpriced st $120 per night. Not recommended.

Room tip: Not recommended.
Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Brad2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2022 via mobile

Arrived at original motel and inspected 2 rooms which were disgusting eg. mould in fridge, used linen in bathroom etc. Phoned around for alternative accommodation and fortunately Queenstown Motor Lodge was recommended. A very convenient location, clean, comfortable room, great restaurant, helpful staff.Special shout out to Rhonda for arranging ground floor room for us. This motel is underrated and very good value.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank susanohenly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2022

A bit disappointing as there was no one on reception during both days we were there. A note was stuck to the door telling us which room we were in & it also informed us that the restaurant was closed. The room was clean but very dated....certainly not worth the amount paid. The positive thing though was the great location which enabled us to walk easily into the town to fine food!

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jebelslaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews