We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in great prices from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
117
30
12
5
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
117
30
12
5
13
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2019

I initially thought I would title this . . no rain forest, no retreat... but was worried some people may be put off. - don't be! .. so let me start

I read the reviews and thought this place would be a perfect stop over and was thrilled to find the King Room was available on Valentines night and grabbed it.

The main reception is a huge converted home and the 11sq king room is the entire upstairs. It is huge and lovely. Great views to the ocean and adjoining rain forest.

The Good
Comparing it to other places, and for where you lay your bones this place is cheap. I had a quick look and most rates were under $150! (Peppers is nice and is more than twice the price!!) Perhaps too cheap for the accommodation level provided. The bed is comfy and clean. The views are unparalleled. Its quiet and peaceful.

The Bad
If you have a car then there is no issue but as other people have pointed out it is up a steep driveway and to be fair Peter, at all times, offered to be there.. so do not let this put you off.

There were no toiletries (shampoo / conditioner etc) supplied (only soap) but for the price I think if you were expecting this for the price you are in the wrong place. Same as bottled water.

The Ugly
As other people have pointed out the office overlooking the pool was a little odd and so we decided not to use it, but to be fair there is probably not a lot of places which would not overlook the roman pool.
Having the King Room and the hot tub on the roof is VERY private but a little small for a person my size :(

The verdict.. Would I go back
ABSOLUTELY

Perhaps if there was a toiletry pack and water to purchase this would have been nice but I would worry that people would be put off saying that they expect this to be provided.

So, come with your water, shampoo, conditioner and relax as this wonderful place.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Davidb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pete H, Manager at Whitsundays Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2019

Thanks David for your interesting Review. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. Yes, our King "Honeymoon" suite is incredible. We receive only Rave Reviews about it. Come on back again soon. I'll have some cold water in the fridge for you. See you soon mate. Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

After living in airlie for three years I was surprised to find out ide missed this Absolutely lovely spot, best views in town. clean, tidy with modern fit out that well and truly covers ones needs. Peter hegarty was a pleasure to meet. 10/10 can't beat it....

AND THEN ON TOP OF ALL THAT IT'S $95

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pete H, Manager at Whitsundays Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2019

Thanks Ryan for your great Review. Yes, we are definitely under the radar up here. Only those who book to stay actually know we exist. A little hidden Jewel of the Whitsundays. Hope to catch up again soon mate. All the best. Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2019 via mobile

We just stayed here for an Anniversary trip. Mainly to visit the Whitsundays and Whitehaven beach. This is a great location for views, day trip, restaurants, etc. It is a pretty steep walk up to the resort itself but going down and walking into Airlie is easy and not too long of a walk. Taxis abound and are not expensive.
There are 4 Villas each with 4 rooms that share a kitchen/ living room/balcony space. The rooms have their own bathroom with shower. The shared kitchen is perfect for making meals and even a BBQ out on the beautiful balcony that boast stunning views. Beds were comfy enough and the place was clean. Internet was not accessible from our villa( had to go to the reception to access), but Pete is having routers installed for the villas this year. Pete is a wonderful host, very helpful and attentive. He puts his heart into this place. There is a nice little pastry/ coffee place just a 5 min walk down the hill at the shops. Nice place for coffee and pastry in the am. Had a wonderfully, memorable time.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank asilipo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pete H, Manager at Whitsundays Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2019

Thanks guys for your wonderful Review. I'm so pleased to see you loved our place. We are very lucky with where we are and what we are able to provide for our guests. Our concept of private rooms with all private facilities but with the added benefit of the kitchen and main deck works perfectly for the international travellors who love to interact and swap stories of their travels.I love seeing our guests enjoying dinner on the deck together. Hope the rest of your trip goes well guys. Take care. Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2018 via mobile

Pete is obviously very invested in making sure this place continues to get great reviews. The only bad reviews seem to be around the time of the devastating Cyclone Debbie which destroyed the area and took a long time to recover.

The good news is that is no longer an issue and they are back to great reviews.

Pros: amazing view, amazing service, good value for money

Cons: bedroom layout is a bit cramped, bed is a bit cheap but for 3 star accommodation this is all pretty standard.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MnMnJAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2018 via mobile

The rainforest retreat had beautiful views, cozy rooms and great facilities. Awesome location, wicked communal area plus stunning indoor pool, good hammock areas for reading. Super clean, friendly and well organised. We even found just basic extra facilities very handy like blender, full kitchen and iron.
We'd like to thank owner/manager Pete who was very accomodating and friendly. Highly recommended even as a local in the area this price was a winner.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pete H, Manager at Whitsundays Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2018

Thanks Louis for your wonderful review.I'm so pleased you enjoyed the amenities in both our Lodges as well as the Retreats Central Facility. I love greeting the many varied visitors from all around the world and enjoy hearing their fascinating experiences on their journeys to us. The central living areas of our Lodges seem to encourage our guests to share their stories with some guests from 5 years ago still Facebook friends today - Just from their meeting at our Retreat. Thanks again for your Review. We hope to see you again soon. Take care. Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews