We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Helen H
Moama, Australia

Wonderful Relaxing Stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Sept 2018
The Whitsundays Rainforest Retreat was a magical find, nestled high up in the hills with amazing views over the beautiful blue waters of the Whitsunday coast, we were warmly welcomed and made to feel very much at home by our host Peter. Our Rainforest room in the main resort building was spacious and comfortable fitted out with everything you could possibly need to make your stay perfect, tv, microwave, toaster oven and jug, air conditioning and a ceiling fan and plenty of crockery and cutlery. The bed was extremely comfortable and the lovely bathroom with outside views and complete with large bath was excellent. The room is surrounded by tropical plants and a sliding door takes you out to a private outdoor area with a table and chairs, a lovely cool place to sit and relax.
There is a lovely shared area with a magnificent indoor pool and an area just to relax or have a game of pool or maybe do some morning exercise to start the day. The large outside balcony is the perfect place to start your day with breakfast overlooking the sea or just to sit and relax with an afternoon drink or two and watch the sun go down.
The place is so peaceful and tranquil and yet only a few minutes away from the shopping centre and Marinas, we extended our stay by a day and wished we could have stayed longer. Our host Peter is a charming man and has his guests interests at heart, we felt we arrived as strangers and left as friends. We certainly will be back and have no hesitation in recommending Whitsundays Rainforest Resort to anyone wanting a very pleasant stay in Airlie Beach. Thank you Peter for making our stay such a memorable one.
Date of stay: September 2018
Room Tip: We loved the Rainforest room, so comfortable and quiet
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pete H, Manager at Yachtsmans Paradise Whitsundays, responded to this review
Responded 28 Oct 2018
Thanks guys for your wonderful Review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Yes, we are very lucky having such a great property to enjoy and share with people from all over the world. We love greeting everyone and seeing them enjoying our incredible views, brand new rooms and able to swap experiences with all other guests staying with us. It really is a rewarding job and I love to see our guests enjoying a memorable experience. Take care guys. I hope to see you again one day. All the best. Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$195
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.3 km from Yachtsmans Paradise Whitsundays
Free Wifi
Beachfront
AU$352
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.6 km from Yachtsmans Paradise Whitsundays
Free Wifi
Free parking
Located on the Airlie Beach Lagoon
AU$154
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Yachtsmans Paradise Whitsundays
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$494
  • Algotels
1.4 km from Yachtsmans Paradise Whitsundays
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$109
  • Algotels
2.3 km from Yachtsmans Paradise Whitsundays
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$170
  • Algotels
0.9 km from Yachtsmans Paradise Whitsundays
Free parking
Pool
We wish you were here
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$301
  • Algotels
2.3 km from Yachtsmans Paradise Whitsundays
Free parking
Fitness centre
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$188
  • Hotels.com
2.5 km from Yachtsmans Paradise Whitsundays
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$242
  • Hotels.com
2.5 km from Yachtsmans Paradise Whitsundays
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$265
  • The Sebel
    AU$299
2.5 km from Yachtsmans Paradise Whitsundays
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Airlie Beach
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
117
30
12
5
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
117
30
12
5
13
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Read rave reviews on trip advisor,but experience was unfortunate. Private room in a ‘Lodge’ has toilet and shower atthe foot of the bed and large shared communalfacilities which were well equipped. Bed was only double size, but clean and comfortable. House ishigh set on steeply sloping ground with very tall steel pier foundations, creaky floors and shared decks which compromise privacy. Aircon andoversized ceiling fan over bed. Commanding views tothe islands from some rooms and from communal deck. However, the walls are paperthin, so that every hark or fart is shared with your neighbours, AND the earth (ie the building) moved for everyone in residence when the prolonged amorous pursuits of one couple were underway. A clever concept lacking in theexecution.

Room tip: Lodge room not recommended
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Pippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pete H, Manager at Yachtsmans Paradise Whitsundays, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Hi guys. Thank you for your Review. Very entertaining. I'm very pleased you found your double bed clean and comfortable. That is one of our goals. We do suggest however for our middle aged Aussies that they are probably going to be more comfortable in a Queen room and especially more so our Queen Rainforest Suite. The ultimate luxury though is our King "Honeymoon" Suite. BEAUTIFUL !!! We have a selection of styles of rooms to choose from not just our Lodge rooms which we seem to see more positive reviews from the international travellers who more enjoy contact and interaction with other fellow travellers. The layout is more suited to travellers who like to communicate with others whilst cooking in the shared kitchen or using the bbq on the shared deck not just hide away in their rooms (which you can actually if you prefer). For those guests who more prefer their own privacy and company we can also arrange a television in their room upon request. Being a Retreat, most of our guests prefer to not have one. They are there if required. Call me next time guys so I can help you choose the best room for you. BTW, your comment about the lodges being good for groups is also correct as we do get a lot of groups using the lodges. They are awesome for families and groups of friends as they have everything in them. Take care guys. Regards, Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Had such a lovely and relaxing stay here!!! Lovely rooms and shared common areas. Came with a bunch of friends and loved looking at the ocean views with a glass of wine. Was also super easy to get into town. Would definitely recommend!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sophie123187271
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pete H, Manager at Yachtsmans Paradise Whitsundays, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Thanks Sophie for your wonderful Review. So glad you enjoyed our relaxing environment - and yes, the Views are amazing. Hope to see you again soon. Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

I had the best weekend away with some of my girlfriends. The Rainforest Retreat was in the perfect location to explore Airlie and jump on a boat for some island hopping. The accommodation with great for our group, we loved the shared living area to relax and sit on the balcony for afternoon drinks - you can see the ocean!! I will definitely come back to RR if i visit Airlie again & would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a getaway!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pete H, Manager at Yachtsmans Paradise Whitsundays, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Thanks so much Emily for your wonderful Review. Yes, we are perfectly located between the Blue of the sea and the Green of the Rainforest. A million miles from care but yet only minutes from all of the restaurants and night life. Hope to see you again soon. Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

We had a wonderful weekend away at the Whitsundays Rainforest Retreat. It was a girls weekend and the accommodation was just perfect! The view from our room was sensational and the staff were super helpful with ideas for activities and what to explore! Would recommend this place!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pete H, Manager at Yachtsmans Paradise Whitsundays, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Thanks Vanessa. Glad to hear you had a great time. Catch up again soon. Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing two days with a group of girl friends. The view was spectacular and the accomodation was perfect for a big group! It was also really close to town but you felt like you were up in the trees! I would highly recommend them and will definitely be back again soon.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JessO294
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pete H, Manager at Yachtsmans Paradise Whitsundays, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thanks Jess for choosing to stay at our property. We love our position and yes, the view is amazing. Glad all of the girls had such a great time. See you all again soon. Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews