We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What an adventure!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Rafting

Ocean Rafting
Book In Advance
USD 114.23*
and up
Rafting Tour to Whitehaven Beach
Ranked #1 of 77 Tours in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ocean Rafting visits the “Wild Side” of the Whitsunday Islands, the uninhabited islands with beautiful natural scenery brimming with marine, bird and animal life. There are two exciting tour options, the Northern Exposure and Southern Lights, and each Ocean Rafting day includes an exhilarating ride to Whitehaven Beach, pristine snorkelling reefs and guided Whitsunday Island National Parks walks. Ocean Rafting is the only tour to have direct access to the stunning and iconic Hill Inlet beach, and special snorkel sites at Hook Island and Border Island ensure a memorable underwater experience.The semi rigid inflatable vessels are super fast allowing guests to experience a fun ride, adventure and education amongst the natural beauty of the Whitsundays. The vessels were originally designed and built as rescue crafts and are driven by 450hp engines. 70% of the vessel is shaded, providing comfort from the tropical sun. Small groups allow guests to experience tropical paradise away from the crowds.Ocean Rafting has been operating since 1997 and is proud to have special permits allowing its vessels to visit protected areas in the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The Skipper and Eco Host will ensure guests have a fun filled adventure and personalised service, from the courtesy bus pick up in the morning to snorkel lessons and a guided National Park walk in the Whitsunday Islands.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Dendermonde, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What an adventure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This was one of my highlights on my 5 week holiday in Australia. First of all, I didn't get sick on the boat :D
Cool experience, to almost fly over the the waves.
The staff was amazing. Very good skipper who gave us some cool music while making our way to our snorkling spot.
During the trip another staff member went around with his GoPro to make some pictures from the participants. He also joined us while snorkling to take pictures of us and the under water wildlife.
After the snorkling, we went to Hill Inlet... THE BEST VIEW IN MY LIFE! Never skip this from the trip!
I don't know where they hid it, but when we returned we had a lunch buffet. And we had a lot of things to chose from.
On our way back we had another treat, some Lamingtons...
In total, an experience to never forget.
When you're in Airlie beach and want to go snorkling with a cool staff, go Ocean Rafting, and hope you go with the "Thunderstruck" ;-)

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank MYRiameke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,179
    468
    79
    27
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excitment Guarenteed! Can we go again?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

A friend and I were recently in Airlie Beach on vacation and finding ourselves unable to book onto a sailing ship, we opted for plan B which included a scenic flight over the reef and a full day Ocean Rafting out to Whitehaven Beach that also took in a spot of snorkeling.

We are both adventurous people, I an Australian and he a German, and we both agreed that the Ocean rafting was the highlight of the entire time spent in Airlie Beach. We were fortunate enough to get a spot on the boat 'Jammin' on the 9th of January and can not speak highly enough of Skipper Rosco and Deckhand Dee who both looked after and entertained us throughout the day. Rosco has FANTASTIC taste in music! ;)

This is a MUST if you are seeking adventure and thrills in Airlie Beach. But make sure you secure a seat on the side of the raft, it really is the best seat in the house!

Thanks for a fabulous day guys, we will definitely book again next time we're in Airlie Beach.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Kezbomb05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanRafting_Safari, Owner at Ocean Rafting, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for choosing our Fly and Ride package with GSL Aviation...it certainly is a good way to see the Whitsundays from on and above the water! We are pleased you enjoyed the Ocean Rafting adventure and the "ride" and it was a highlight for you during your stay in Airlie Beach. We look forward to seeing you again one day soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great day on the Whitsundays! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We spent the day with ocean rafting as a couple. It was an amazing day. They collect you from your hotel and take you to the boat. You then race round the Whitsunday's and snorkel at two great sites on hook island. Then you take a bushwalk through whitsunday island to the hill inlet lookout. Finishing with a great lunch on whitehaven beach. Was a spectacular day and a definite highlight of our east coast adventure!!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Jacko_167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler
1 review
“So much fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The guys are great and made the day trip as best as possible. Loved sitting on the sides of the rafts even with high winds and not the best weather in the morning turned out to be an amazing day!!

Visited December 2016
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Tilly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must do, fabulous fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Myself, my husband and our 2 boys aged 10 & 8 looked at a lot of boat trips in Airlie and opted for this. The company gives stinger suits (8 dollars adults and free for kids) snorkelling equipment, and look after you the whole time. Our two tour guides were enthusiastic and great fun throughout the day. It takes an hour to reach Whitehaven in a fast boat, which would be a lot longer on sailing boats, which would mean less time for activities such as snorkelling and visiting the beautiful beach. Having kids with us this quicker journey was a must. We first went on a short walk to the viewpoint of Whitehaven which was amazing! Back in the boat fir 5 mins to a snorkelling spot then on to the beach at a different spot for lunch, and chilling on the beach. We bought our own lunch as lunch was 15 dollars extra, but it did look really nice. Drinks are available to purchase and they had both beer and cider as well as soft drinks and water. There was also woggles (they call them toggles here) to keep the less confident buoyant in the water which was great for our youngest son. They also had life jackets if you wanted them to snorkel with. All in all a brilliant trip and would definitely recommend to all.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanRafting_Safari, Owner at Ocean Rafting, responded to this review, yesterday
That's fabulous to hear that your family enjoyed your day out with us and even your youngest son had a fun snorkelling adventure! We really appreciate your detailed review and thank you for recommending us! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your Australian travels! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Rafting also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Ocean Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing