We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss out on this.”
Review of Ocean Rafting

Ocean Rafting
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 119.76*
and up
Rafting Tour to Whitehaven Beach
Ranked #1 of 82 Tours in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ocean Rafting visits the “Wild Side” of the Whitsunday Islands, the uninhabited islands with beautiful natural scenery brimming with marine, bird and animal life. There are two exciting tour options, the Northern Exposure and Southern Lights, and each Ocean Rafting day includes an exhilarating ride to Whitehaven Beach, pristine snorkelling reefs and guided Whitsunday Island National Parks walks. Ocean Rafting is the only tour to have direct access to the stunning and iconic Hill Inlet beach, and special snorkel sites at Hook Island and Border Island ensure a memorable underwater experience.The semi rigid inflatable vessels are super fast allowing guests to experience a fun ride, adventure and education amongst the natural beauty of the Whitsundays. The vessels were originally designed and built as rescue crafts and are driven by 450hp engines. 70% of the vessel is shaded, providing comfort from the tropical sun. Small groups allow guests to experience tropical paradise away from the crowds.Ocean Rafting has been operating since 1997 and is proud to have special permits allowing its vessels to visit protected areas in the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The Skipper and Eco Host will ensure guests have a fun filled adventure and personalised service, from the courtesy bus pick up in the morning to snorkel lessons and a guided National Park walk in the Whitsunday Islands.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We were booked on a private charter with 16 other people from a cruise ship we were holidaying on. We were due to arrive at Abell Point marina. However we were taken to a different marina. Thankfully the staff at Ocean rafting realizing we weren't at Abell Point decided to come and look for us. Once found they quickly arranged transport to take us to their office.
We were all swiftly organised and on board our boat. We were given safety instructions and informed on the plan for the day.
Speeding across the ocean through the islands was amazing, something i will always remember. Once in position we were given instructions and guidance on snorkeling and we all diss embarked the boat to explore the nearby reef. Words can not describe this, it was awesome. Until an unfortunate incident happened which i will not go into detail on (no it was nothing to do with sharks or any kind of sting/ bite ) but we were all called back to the boat. All i can say is that the staff dealt with the problem amazingly well. they could not have done anymore.

Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,052 - 1,056 of 4,866 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2017

Great tour to the whitsundays islands unfortunately, nice staff but didn't receive the photos they told us to send.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Luuk E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanRafting_Safari, Owner at Ocean Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2017

That's great to hear you enjoyed your day out with us but sorry to hear you haven't been able to access your photos. Please just contact our office on 07 4946 6848 and they will be able to assist :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

This was an outstanding experience. We were in a raft boat ("Riptide") that started out fast from the get go. Sit on the edges (where you hold on to a belt) for a fun ride. We took the Southern Lights trip where there is less snorkeling (just one stop, where it was nice) but more hiking/beach time. Note that the first stop - snorkeling - is right off the boat, so it's best to be dressed so can jump right in to the water. After the snorkeling, we hiked to the view point where you see Hill Inlet and Whitehaven Beach. This is one of the most breathtaking views I have ever had! I am not sure the other tour gives you this hike / rewarding view. After the hike, we had lunch on the southern end of Whitehaven Beach (costs extra, order ahead if you have special needs like Vegetarian - which we did). The weather was a bit warm, but the sand was as cool as advertised. Whitehaven Beach is the finest beach in the world (as advertised). Finally, the crew was a LOT of fun. They made the boat ride a real joy ride, and also got in the water to help us out (and show things) during snorkeling / beach time.

Highly recommend this tour!!

1  Thank Vidya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Amazing day out visiting the beautiful islands. Great hosts that kept us entertained and great lunch buffet

Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Went on a shore tour with Ocean Rafting when our P&O cruise the Pacific Aria docked at Airlie beach. It was an amazing experience the crew were absolutely fantastic. The crew were so much fun and their knowledge of the reef was exceptional.

Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Rafting also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Ocean Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing