We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Providence Whitsunday Sailing
from USD 62.18
More Info
from USD 145.89
More Info
from USD 1,427.35
More Info
Reviews (575)
Filter reviews
575 results
Traveller rating
419
73
32
23
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
419
73
32
23
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset cruise whitehaven beach day trip beautiful boat sailing boat tall ship glass of champagne wraps friendly crew brownie fish sailing experience biscuits hill inlet lookout thank you so much recommend this trip these guys
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 575 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

We loved the sunset tour guided on a beautiful yacht by a great and well experienced team on a lovely Sunday evening. We were lucky that we had beautiful weather, although was a little cooler down on the ocean.

Our sunset tour lasted around 2 hours, as we sailed from the newer port in Airlie out into the open water and had a great view of the sunset and the bay looking up into the built up township which was a beautiful view. We had a lovely clear evening and could see a lot of stars in the area.

A glass of champagne and a cheese board for the group is supplied as nibbles on the boat, and any further drinks (beer, wine & basic spirits) can be purchased on a tab they run after this time.

The boat was almost full and everyone seemed to be having a great time and were quite social. The tour guys had some nice chilled out music on which was enjoyable also.

The only thing that I would have to say was that I found it slightly overpriced in comparison with other sunset cruises in the area and for what you get for the price, however this was in some way compensated for the boat that we went on being so beautiful. I had never been on a yacht like this before so it was such a lovely experience.

Overall a lovely evening for something to do in Airlie beach.

1  Thank jayeloraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant L, Owner at Providence Whitsunday Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Thanks Jaye. Appreciate the time you've taken to write this comprehensive review. It gives a good idea of what to expect. We do offer the opportunity to slip into the sunset in a different way and believe we do offer a unique experience. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

A great day on the water with helpful crew who made our day, looking after us, feeding us and taking us to one of the most magnificent beaches we have ever experienced. The lunch was scrumptious and healthy with lots of variety and packaged so it was easy to eat on the boat as we sailed along.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank SevaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant L, Owner at Providence Whitsunday Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Thanks so much for your review Seva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

The skippers Kieran and Andy confidently took us to sea out on this elegant boat. They included people in hoisting the sails and encouraged a fun atmosphere. The food platter was delicious and drinks were plentiful. the highlight of the trip was the most stunning Sunset it lasted ages and the colours were amazing.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant L, Owner at Providence Whitsunday Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Great to hear you enjoyed Providence and our crew so much. Thanks for your feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

Thank you for caring for the environment…
I will get to the tour later. But having done a couple of day trips in the region in the last few weeks. This is my favorite, why you ask?!
No plastic forks or knives.
No plastic plates.
No unnecessary napkins.
No single use water bottles sold or given out!. (Chilled water was available, paper cup provided if you didn’t bring your own bottle).
No single cling wrap on food provided. All were presented in tupperware containers.
Bins were around, but not lined with a plastic bag that would be used once.
We had sails up, both going out and returning from Whitsunday Island. Reducing the use of fuel and pollution!
My day started with a prompt, complimentary pickup. Car was clean and air conditioned. There is a Cafe at the Marina, open early enough to grab a coffee before you check in.
Check in was quick. Done by our Skipper for the day, who introduced himself as Kieran. Once boarded. We all made ourselves at home. Enough room for everyone to get their own position.
We were briefed by both Kieran and Andrew. And though we (I) may have struggled to understand the “Lad’s”. The international body language was clear. They knew what they were doing, we were going to have fun. And they were approachable.
The sails were put up early to help us get to our destination of Whitsunday Island (Hill inlet) before low tide. We crashed through the high waves in the passage, so much full being splashed in the face with water. And when we slipped in-between the islands. I was so happy to be on the stunning boat I was. Watching a huge Cruise Whitsunday boat fly past, stirring up the water. Just made me grateful I chose this tour! (My inner pirate was slowly coming out)
Anchor set and we all jumped in a dingy to go over to do our walk to the look out on this National Park. A skipper from another boat came over and offered assistance to our crew. And took us over knowing we were fighting the times. To me, when a competing boat comes to help. Providence must been know to do the same if others were in our position.
The National parks have done a fantastic job making sure there is minimal impact on the environment. There are a couple of steps to start with. But once you’ve done those. Dirt and boarded tracks are really easy.There is also a drop toilet at the top. Half way during your walk, if you don’t want to use the toilet on board.
Kieran did a great job getting us back to boat on the dingy with the lowest tide ever. Once we got on our way Andrew then provided us with our individual lunch boxes. Meals for Gluten free, Diary free, Vegetarians and Children were passed out first. All dietary requests met. I loved this. No buffet were people over serve themselves. No one missed out. And you could eat it all or not! Bonus was with normal cutlery was provided.
Time to suit up for a swim/snorkel. All equipment provided (even children size suits and masks). And the best thing was. The Lad’s found us a drop off reef were the current worked in our favor. So we were then driven by the dingy to one end of the reef were you had to do no kicking. The current lead us back to the boat with no effort. Should you wish to go back and start again. Or do you own thing like I did. You could.
As we headed home, the bar was open. Chilled Beers, Soft drinks, Wine, and Bubbles were on offer. Nice way to finish the day as sails were set, and the sun was dropping. Couples cuddled and chilled as we sailed home. While the younger ones drank bubbles and took selfies at the back! All day I observed everybody from all sides of the globe enjoy this day. There were two different families with different aged children who had no trouble being safe, and amused.
As we disembarked the jetty our Driver was ready with open doors to take us home. I didn’t want the day to end!
Thank you to everyone from reservations, drivers and back of house people for coordinating a great tour. Thank you Kieran for the giggles, stories and the fun, safe tour. Thanks Andy, who didn’t stop all day (only once on his swing at Whitehaven) looking after the 22 of us! You deserve more then a beer!

Date of experience: April 2018
5  Thank Bear_Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant L, Owner at Providence Whitsunday Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Could not ask for a better review. Thanks, great to see all the hard work paying off. We do try and cover all the bases.
Its so encouraging to us that spent the time on such a detailed review. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

From pick-up at 0640 to drop off at 1630 this was a well executed tourism machine. We received all deliverables, and enjoyed the day I think it very good value given the excellent tour guides, sailing, crewing, food plus a scenic walk and 2 swimming opportunities.
Check the BOM website before you book. We were (rightly) concerned about rain, but locals (selling agents) assured us otherwise. Thanks to good sailing we managed to outrun the worst of the rain, but it did impact on our overall enjoyment.
Plenty of excellent parking, plus coffee and toilets at Abells Marina.
No wildlife seen this time.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank 325jt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews