We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing day out on the water!”
Review of Whitehaven Xpress

Whitehaven Xpress
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 144.78*
and up
Whitehaven Beach: Barbecue, Hill Inlet Lookout...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whitehaven Beach Tour / Cruise from Airlie Beach. Our BBQ Lunch at Whitehaven Beach is the WOW-ing difference! Also the style of Boat with indoor and outdoor seating. Whitehaven Xpress offers a full day tour from Airlie Beach, including a Hill Inlet lookout walk, Snorkel or Glass bottom boat viewing and 2 hours on the Whitehaven Beach. At Whitehaven Beach, we provide you with a fabulous Aussie beach BBQ including steak, sausages, chilli burgers, salads and tropical fruits. (Vegetarians are catered for on request) The BBQ is prepared for your enjoyment under the shade of the trees while utilising the National Parks picnic tables. On our homeward journey a platter of cheese and biscuits is served. Departs daily at 9 am from Abell Point Marina, Airlie Beach and returns approx. 5pm with courtesy van pickup. The daytrip is family operated with Terry, Jill, Captain Dan, and Captain Shane providing a unique personal service.
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Great day out for anyone! Very insightful and patient Captain and crew and the only tour group allowed to have a BBQ on Whitehaven Beach! Pretty special day out!

1  Thank Marty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane M, Manager at Whitehaven Xpress, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hi Marty G
Its a virtue i'm told!
Cheers mate for the review, Capt Shane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain dan"
in 45 reviews
"bbq on the beach"
in 22 reviews
"bbq lunch"
in 50 reviews
"day trip"
in 85 reviews
"great bbq"
in 19 reviews
"aussie bbq"
in 13 reviews
"a family run business"
in 12 reviews
"glass bottom boat"
in 31 reviews
"fish"
in 61 reviews
"cheese and biscuits"
in 11 reviews
"these guys"
in 38 reviews
"bush walk"
in 26 reviews
"small boat"
in 12 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 14 reviews
"down to earth"
in 10 reviews
"sense of humour"
in 12 reviews
"great trip"
in 23 reviews
Filter

250 - 254 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Fantastic crew, great itinerary, delicious beach BBQ, great views of the reef snorkelling - saw plenty of marine life including a few rays - and a beautiful look out point over the beaches rounded off a perfect day. Tea/coffee and biscuits in the morning and cheese and crackers in the afternoon was a nice touch. Would highly recommend.

1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane M, Manager at Whitehaven Xpress, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hi Mark B
Thanks for the great review, really appreciate it.
Cheers, Capt Shane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

I feel a little bad as the staff were so wonderful and helpful. They provided an amazing amount of information about the area, helped with all onboard concerns and were just great people. Unfortunately we found that with the much hyped beach BBQ that they undercatered with tthe meat and fruit. Also the steaks were not that great quality (I'd much rather see more sausages and burgers than poor quality streak). There was plenty of time in the water for a good snorkel which I really enjoyed. At the beach stop again a bit of fun with staff very happy to encourage a jump of the boat and swim ashore. It was enjoyable but for the price we won't use them next time

Thank TravellingPom031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane M, Manager at Whitehaven Xpress, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hi TravellingPom031
We must have had an off day at the beach catering wise, most of the time we have great quality meat, especially given it is rump steak, not eye fillets. Usually there is always plenty of food to go around for seconds, so I am so upset to read your review that we under catered. We will have a good look into this, because our BBQ is one of our key points of difference and is meant to be amazing. Thanks for your review and good luck for the Ashes, I think we will need more luck however, Cheers, Capt Shane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane M, Manager at Whitehaven Xpress, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Great day, great crew and great value for money.
Captain Shane, Nathan and Scott were exceptional.
Recommend to cruise with Whitehaven Express.

1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane M, Manager at Whitehaven Xpress, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Exceptional you say! Crew must have made me look good that day!
Thank you very much on behalf of Scott, Nathan and myself

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitehaven Xpress also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Whitsunday Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to Whitehaven Xpress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing