We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing day out”
Review of Whitehaven Xpress

Whitehaven Xpress
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 142.42*
and up
Whitehaven Beach: Barbecue, Hill Inlet Lookout Bushwalk, Snorkeling
Ranked #6 of 83 Tours in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whitehaven Beach day tour from Airlie Beach with Whitehaven Xpress. A family operated full day trip with snorkeling, swimming, bush-walking and a Whitehaven Beach BBQ. Whitehaven Xpress offers a full day tour from Airlie Beach, including a Hill Inlet lookout walk, Snorkel or Glass bottom boat viewing and 2 hours on the Whitehaven Beach. Whilst spending the most amount of time on the actual Whitehaven Beach, we provide you with a fabulous Aussie beach BBQ including steak, sausages, chilli burgers, salads and tropical fruits. (Vegetarians are catered for on request) The BBQ is prepared for your enjoyment under the shade of the trees while utilising the National Parks picnic tables. On our homeward journey a platter of cheese and biscuits is served. Departs daily at 9 am from Abell Point Marina and returns approx. 5pm with courtesy van pickup. The daytrip is family operated with Terry, Jill, Captain Dan, and Captain Shane providing a unique personal service.
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Fantastic crew, great itinerary, delicious beach BBQ, great views of the reef snorkelling - saw plenty of marine life including a few rays - and a beautiful look out point over the beaches rounded off a perfect day. Tea/coffee and biscuits in the morning and cheese and crackers in the afternoon was a nice touch. Would highly recommend.

1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane M, Manager at Whitehaven Xpress, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hi Mark B
Thanks for the great review, really appreciate it.
Cheers, Capt Shane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 141 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

I feel a little bad as the staff were so wonderful and helpful. They provided an amazing amount of information about the area, helped with all onboard concerns and were just great people. Unfortunately we found that with the much hyped beach BBQ that they undercatered with tthe meat and fruit. Also the steaks were not that great quality (I'd much rather see more sausages and burgers than poor quality streak). There was plenty of time in the water for a good snorkel which I really enjoyed. At the beach stop again a bit of fun with staff very happy to encourage a jump of the boat and swim ashore. It was enjoyable but for the price we won't use them next time

Thank TravellingPom031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane M, Manager at Whitehaven Xpress, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hi TravellingPom031
We must have had an off day at the beach catering wise, most of the time we have great quality meat, especially given it is rump steak, not eye fillets. Usually there is always plenty of food to go around for seconds, so I am so upset to read your review that we under catered. We will have a good look into this, because our BBQ is one of our key points of difference and is meant to be amazing. Thanks for your review and good luck for the Ashes, I think we will need more luck however, Cheers, Capt Shane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

We had a great day out with Whitehaven Xpress. The snorkelling spot was a little disappointing due to the lack of visibility but that's not the companies fault at all. Visibility can vary by the hour. Hill Inlet was amazing, it was our second stop of the day and the tide was perfect. It does take a while to tender everyone ashore (around 4 trips) but you get a decent amount of time to wander around and the view stunning inlet. It's quite a busy spot but there was plenty of space up there to linger and soak it in.

The final stop of the day was Whitehaven beach for a beach BBQ. I can't think of anywhere better to have a BBQ. The food was good although the steak was a little chewy but it was still steak on a beach. The crew were knowledgable about the islands and shared this with us. The cruise back to Airlie through the Whitsunday passage was stunning.

Jack, who picked us up in the morning and dropped us back in the afternoon was lovely to us and I enjoyed some cricket banter with him given the upcoming Ashes tour but perhaps it might be a good idea to tone down some of the 'Aussie Humour' to Chinese guests if you want to continue to appeal to these tourists.

Drinks were available to buy on the boat but the crew weren't pushing this at all which was nice. Stinger suits are $8 each and worth it for warmth as well as the potential jellys but I feel this could have been included in the price.

One final thing, as we were in our 30's this boat trip seemed to be far more enjoyable than some of the other options that looked like they were 'party' boats so if you want a mature relaxing cruise then this is a good option!

2  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane M, Manager at Whitehaven Xpress, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hi Matthew S
Lovely and very thorough review, thank you.
I must say it is not in our nature to tone it down, and to be quite frank, we want to keep our fair dinkum Aussie style "humour" alive and kickin onboard Xpress. I know we have some pretty poor jokes at times, Scott's working on that! And yes we do need to be understood so we are trying to slow down on our PA commentary.
Sometimes the way we address our Chinese guests offends onlookers, as it has been shown in previous reviews, however more importantly we are keeping people and the coral alive, and they seem to have a great experience. Cheers mate, Capt Shane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Great day, great crew and great value for money.
Captain Shane, Nathan and Scott were exceptional.
Recommend to cruise with Whitehaven Express.

1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane M, Manager at Whitehaven Xpress, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Exceptional you say! Crew must have made me look good that day!
Thank you very much on behalf of Scott, Nathan and myself

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Our trip with Whitehaven xpress was amazing, they were so attentive to everybody, they went out their way to show us whales. The food was great. They were so informative about the surroundings and I would fully recommend to anybody staying in airlie beach to go with these guys! A trip we will never forget!

1  Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane M, Manager at Whitehaven Xpress, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Lucy D
Awww so lovely, i miss the whales already....
Thank you, Capt Shane and the crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitehaven Xpress also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Whitehaven Xpress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing