We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

I booked the Blue Horizon “resort” hotel like many others, before reading reviews. We were expecting a 4-star hotel with room service, WiFi, and more than one roll of toilet paper...

Not only was the room not thoroughly cleaned, our balcony was missing the separating door from the neighboring room which was not pleasant, the room had WiFi, no cleaning service and vastly overpriced. Save your money and book a higher end accommodation for the same price or less.

The “resort” was not a resort at all and a self contained apartment with no perks whatsoever.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank julsape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at this hotel/apt complex and we found a long black snake in our room on the first night. When we called the front desk to have it removed, (it was slithering around on the bed) they basically laughed at us, told us that it's Australia and it was no big deal. They finally got it out of the room and didn't offer to move us into another room! Slept on the couch, but the worst part was that in the morning, the front desk attendant told us that they had seen that snake on the patio of that particular unit previously and watched it go below the floorboards. And they placed a guest in the room anyway, even though they weren't at capacity. Horrific customer service and would not recommend staying here. If anything goes wrong, you'll likely hear the same excuse...

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jodi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Read reviews after I booked and was very concerned about hygiene and suitability of room whist on holiday. Room was clean hygienic and very user friendly. Great AC and clean rooms and bedding. Small amount of mildew in shower and asked for a sheet to cover couch as needed a clean nothing major but I am a clean freak due to medical reasons but being picky now. Lots of renovations happening at hotel so cannot crit them on the noise but within limits as understand improvements need to happen. Staff fab always helpful and pool was great. Maybe a second BBQ as there is only one which made me sit in the spa and swim more.......Nil issues after taking the chance against reviews.....glad I did.

Room Tip: Go high for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Terence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

I booked this holiday through a travel agent without reading reviews (i don't normally do that), it was advertised as a 4 star hotel however this is not the case. I very rarely put bad reviews on here but i don't want anyone else to be caught out.
We paid over $600 to stay here for 2 adults for 4 nights and that was with 1 night FOC. I rang the week before after reading reviews to request a renovated room. on arrival we had a lovely view overlooking the harbour. On inspection of the room it was dirty and tired. The girl on reception was very apologetic and showed me another room which had a worse view and still dirty and tired.
We stayed where we were with the promise of the cleaners coming in the morning. This did not happen. We bought products and cleaned the unit ourselves.
The position was great a short walk to town and the pool area was nice but the rooms are extremely old and grubby.
The managements answer to this was to blame the cyclone. The insides of the units can not be blamed on the cyclone. Do not stay here unless you get it for free.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank shaotung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Great Location, beautiful views. Suppose to be a private balcony but one of the dividers was missing. Room wasn't very clean, bath and shower was mouldy, the room smelt like mould. The fridge didn't work properly either. The photos on the internet of the apartment are misleading.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dnkhooker03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
1.9 km away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
427 reviews
1 km away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.7 km away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#26 of 57 in Airlie Beach
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
#48 of 57 in Airlie Beach
304 reviews
0.2 km away
at Boathaven Spa Resort
at Boathaven Spa Resort
#30 of 57 in Airlie Beach
268 reviews
1.6 km away
Shingley Beach Resort
Shingley Beach Resort
#22 of 57 in Airlie Beach
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Resort Apartments

Address: 3 Hermitage Dr | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: AU$185 - AU$296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Horizon Resort Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
at Blue Horizon Resort creates the perfect setting for your Airlie Beach Whitsunday holiday. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway, a family friendly destination, or somewhere to mix work with pleasure at Blue Horizon Resort can cater for all tastes.The resort’s modern, Balinese inspired 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and 3 or 4 bedroom top floor luxury jacuzzi penthouses offer spacious balconies with views over the Coral Sea. With an emphasis on comfort and warm friendly service at Blue Horizon Resort is your home away from home.With the beautiful Whitsunday weather you can choose to relax in the heated spa, rise early to take advantage of the fully equipped gymnasium or relax poolside. The toddler wading pool and play room helps to keep little ones occupied while the Horizon heated swimming pool provides year round fun for all. Our onsite tour desk will assist you to choose the perfect activity to make your Whitsunday experience a memorable one, from a romantic secluded island beach picnic to a thrill seeking parachute jump our dedicated team can make it happen.at Blue Horizon Resort is the perfect spot for small to medium sized conferences, boasting a large, modern, dedicated conference room with state of the art audio visual equipment, broadband internet access, and versatile choice of room configurations at Blue Horizon Resort presents itself as a resort focused on driving business results. at Blue Horizon Resort, located a short walk from Airlie Beach village is the ideal base for your Airlie Beach Whitsunday escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Blue Horizon Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing