We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
74
43
11
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
43
11
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom apartment across the road sized refrigerator patrolled swimming area place to stay central pool rooms are nice underground parking balcony overlooking great for kids beach front main bedroom living area location was perfect the ground floor spent nights williams esplanade
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2010

We booked Allasio on the beach because it looked nice on the website, but I think the website is probably ten years old, the buildings age.
The positives:
It is well looked after and very clean
Close to the jetty and beach
Comfortable king size bed
The negatives:
Dated rooms and fixtures.
Ten year old TV that was unreliable and very crackly, not that we spent a lot of time watching TV on holidays but is is nice to have a good reliable one.
Air conditioner very noisy. Once turned on couldn't hear each other for ten minutes or so until it settled down.
Had very little to do with the owners or managers, but when I booked directly mentioned that we were coming for a special occasion - our 25th wedding anniversary. You don't expect anything special to happen but it would have been nice on arrival or at some point during our stay to have had a mention about this.
Stayed for a week and the day before we left asked for a late checkout, she checked if anyone was coming in after us (would have been surprised if they were as the place clearly had a very low occupancy at the time of our visit) and said we would have a late checkout at the rate of $60, when asked even for an hour or so was told "may be could do something for $20 or so". We found this very disappointing and unhelpful after a weeks visit and clearly no one coming in after us.
The rate of this place was only slightly less than some of the other BEAUTIFUL places to stay at and we were very disappointed we chose this one over several others.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gm7hj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 May 2010

It was extremely disappointing to hear about a guest grievance via such a forum and without the matters actually being raised with the resort management.

The resort has a diligent pre-arrival / inspection process in place to ensure all room facilities and equipment are fully operational and of highest standard. Comments of the room being dated are somewhat puzzling as the studio room in question is of modern color scheme and was painted just over 12 months ago. New bedding program was implemented and completed throughout all apartments in Dec 2009, along with large LCD TV’s fitted in all apartments.

Alassio resort has a very extensive property maintenance program in place to ensure the resort facilities are maintained to high standard. We do note a positive comment has been acknowledged by the guest on condition and cleanliness. The air-conditioning system in the studio room is less than 3 years old and was recently serviced just prior to the guest arrival. During the pre-arrival inspection process neither the TV or air-conditioner system were noted as being defective and have since been tested. Alassio management can guarantee any matters reported are dealt with highest priority as it is certainly not within our interest to have dissatisfied guests.

At Alassio our policy is to ensure all staff provide a professional, happy and friendly environment and openly communicate with all guests as required. However we do respect the privacy needs of all guests staying within the resort.

In regards to acknowledgement of special occasions, certainly the resort has a policy in place for acknowledging guests during special occasions. Upon inspection of guest booking records there were no comments documented of the 25th wedding anniversary and hence we can only apologize to these guests if this was an oversight by our reservations.

Like a majority of accommodation providers Alassio also has an early and late check-in / checkout policy. The guests were provided with a complimentary early check-in on day of arrival and toward the end of their stay made inquiry about late check-out in which they were advised on the policy. There appeared to be some uncertainty at the time and reception simply passed comment along the lines we are more than willing to compromise. The resort has always applied this policy in favor of the guests’ however it is subject to cleaning rosters/ guest arrivals etc.

A simple observation and comment of a place being quiet does not directly correlate into the resort or future room occupancy and hence these guest would be somewhat surprised if they were aware of the true occupancy at the time of their stay.

We believe the matters raised could have easily been resolved if they had been advised to management through simple communication.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Darryl & Sue a joy to spend time with. When organising a tour or trip we only had to ask and everything was set in motion, very professional! I would have no hesitation in recommending Alassio to friends and family. Darryl and Sue made our stay so very enjoyable, right down to the smallest detail.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aurukun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We booked a studio room for my niece and her boyfriend, who came to visit for three days. (Wish we could have stayed there!!)
When my niece came to check in, she was thrilled to find that Sue upgraded their room to a gorgeous 1 bedroom with a spa on the patio, which was right beside the pool and waterfall. My niece was ill on the second day, and Sue graciously gave us advise on which clinic to visit and looked up the address for us. Luckily, my niece was feeling better in no time, and could really appreciate the beautiful surroundings.
Alassio is perfect - perfectly maintained and decorated. The suite was spacious, immaculate, and the kitchen facilities sparkling and new. The location can't be beat - across the road from the gorgeous beach, and just steps to great restaurants.
What made Alassio so special was the warmth and friendliness of the hosts - thank you for being such wonderful people. Alassio is a real gem in Palm Cove!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindacuba99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

Took a lot of time reviewing accommodation in and around Palm Cove, decided on the Alassio, it was certainly the right decision. We opted for a One-bed apartment facing the pool the room was spacious and clean everything we needed was there, large double bed was very comfortable and clean. Bathroom was clean with large walk-in shower. Balcony Spa was great but could do with a step to aid entry & exit, a tip switch heater on first thing so when you come back in the afternoon spa will be up to temperature. The Hosts Sue and Daryll were very friendly and helpful in suggesting and booking trips, If we hopefully return next year to Cairns we will definitely be returning to the Alassio and I would have no problem in recommending it to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PercyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Alassio is situated on the premier Cairns northern beach and is run by the most friendly and efficient couple (Sue & Darryl).
They cannot do enough for their guests and are very good at suggesting and booking any tours that a visitor might want.
The apartments are spacious and well equipped with full airconditioning.
The front rooms look out directly to the beach which is just across a quiet roadway.
Palm Cove has many restaurants to choose from to suit all budgets and is an easy drive into Cairns or Port Douglas.
We would definitely recommend anyone to stay at this resort.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirbunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews