We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is no resort!”
Review of Mantra Amphora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Amphora
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is no resort!”
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

Fantastic self contained apartments - yes, but to call this place a resort or a hotel is stretching it.
To me, a resort implies impeccable service and wonderful facilities. If you are looking for nice self contained accomodation (meaning no room service, no housekeeping, no making of the beds, no after hours reception, no assistance with bags) and you are happy to do the laundry and the dishes and sweep the floors of all the sand from the beach every day, then this place is great. The location is perfect and The pool is nice (though it lacks any real atmosphere) and Vivo restaurant is brilliant.

The only bad thing about our apartment was no DVD player (but you can pay to see a movie for $18 -outrageous!) my kids were bored on rainy days.
The beds and pillows are rock hard and uncomfortable (even though we had a mattress topper).

I think mantra should refrain from calling this a resort or make any reference to it being a hotel - because it's not.

We will be back to palm cove in November, though this time, I may treat myself to peppers resort down the road

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa K, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Nancy W,

Thank you for your review and it seems on this occassion our property did not met your expectations.

Mantra Amphora provides affordable, clean and comfortable accommodation located in the heart of Palm Cove. We are transparent in our product and services provided on all web sites and all agents are well educated in what we offer. On-site facilites include an awards winning pool, resturant and tour desk.

Your comments pertaining to the bedding are noted, and as you mention we have installed mattress toppers in all rooms. The solution to individual's varying tastes if difficult to achieve, however these measures are aimed to improve the experience for the majority.

Nancy W, thank you again for your comments.

Regards
Lisa Knowlson, General Manager Mantra Amphora Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    452
    173
    51
    31
See reviews for
377
576
41
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
patterson lakes
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

A very good place to stay,we had a 1 bedroom apartment for 3 nights last week. Good sized room, very clean with everything you needed. As it is not a full service hotel, it was good to have a laundry to wash towels, they also supplied you with 1 beach towel. We arrived on a very warm afternoon, so it was nice to find the air con and ceiling fans on when we got to the room. Bathroom was extremly clean, fabulous spa bath, water nice and hot with good water pressure. If there were any negatives it was the lack of natural light, we needed the lights on most of the time. ThisI think was because we were on the ground floor at edge of property. Had nice heavy curtains in bedroom but, the ones in lounge were sheer which I wasn't keen on, as when sitting at night people could see right in. The pillows were far too soft, would be nice if they had extra's in cupboard. The grounds were lovely, the pool amazing!! It was huge, well maintained and set in gorgeous surroundings. It had a paddling pool, shallow water, deep water areas and a separate spa. We had dinner in onsite restaurant Vivo, food and service were of a high standard. The Mantra was not expensive and overall it very enjoyable,we would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank picca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa K, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Picca,
Thank you for your wonderful review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us.
I will be certain to pass your postive comments onto our Housekeeping and Grounds teams who take pride in providing clean and enjoyable rooms and facilities for our guest's to enjoy.
I appericate your feedback on the sheer curtains and will consider if an alternative is required.
Again, lovely to read your review and thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mantra Amphora Resort Palm Cove.
Regards
Lisa Knowlson
General Manager, Mantra Amphora Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

Service is non existent, beds are rock hard, pillows are also hard flat and uncomfortable. I am in so much pain, it's distressing. When I called to complain, I was curtly told that nothing can be done until a bed topper becomes available - maybe tomorrow if I'm lucky.
Do yourself a favor, spend the extra $30 per night and go to sea temple where there's service, comfy beds and 5 star facilities.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Nuritbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa K, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear Nuritbee,

It is disappointing to read your review as this certainly does not reflect our recent conversation. As we continue to roll out the install of over 50 mattress toppers, we have some in reserve for those special requests like your own. As promised yesterday afternoon, today our Housekeeping Department have this morning taken the opporunity to locate a topper for you which has been delivered to your room.

Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to see me directly via reception whilst you continue your holiday at Mantra Amphora Resort.

Regards
Lisa Knowlson, General Manager Mantra Amphora Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This hotel was a great value. The location is amazing.

It's not a full service hotel and you have to realize that going in, but the staff there is knowledgeable and can help book things and make recommendations. You just don't get linen and cleaning services like a full service hotel.

We had a 2 bedroom condo that came complete with all kitchen utensils and everything to make coffee in the morning (a necessity). For the most part it was clean and well maintained. The only problem we had was a very strong mold smell in one of the bedrooms that we couldn't actually pinpoint until our last day. After moving some things near the master bedroom window I discovered that the windows leaked when it rained and there was wet carpet under a table that was causing it.

The grounds are very well kept and the location is great. Across a small street to the beach and walking distance to restaurants, bars and stores. Although we didn't eat in the restaurant there it very lovely and other guests raved about it.

We are very glad we chose this hotel for our stay.

Room Tip: Unless you really want it, there is no need to pay extra for a beach-facing room. The pool is very l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shayna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa K, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear Shayna I,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mantra Amphora on-line.

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed our beachfront location, comfortable and well equipped rooms and our staff were able to assist in planning all aspects of your holiday.

As you indicated that your stay with us was in March, I assume this was during the week of unseasonabbly extreme wet weather we encountered? This certainly provided many challenges for the property and signs highlighted in your review reflect this. I will ensure our Maitenance Manager visits this room to ensure all preventative measures are in place to combat such events.

Thank you again for recommending Mantra Amphora to your family and friends.

Regards
Lisa Knowlson, General Manager Mantra Amphora Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK, A
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We booked a 1-bed apartment at the Mantra for four nights. We thought it might be a good idea to change from hotel stays during our 3 1/2-week tour across Eastern Australia. We booked sea views which we had but because our balcony (a loggia really) was completely enclosed it proved unbearable to sit outside - there was simply no movement of air and thus loads of mosquitos...!!! The bedroom was minute with stains on the carpet and the a/c blowing straight in your face. The kitchen was reeking of fried oil and every surface was covered in grease and fingerprints from previous guests. The bathroom/sep. toilet was reasonably clean. This is a very large development with lots of apartments. Pool and garden are beautiful when lit up at night. We resume this hotel may be more suited for families who require an apartment with large pool and are perhaps less bothered about cleanliness.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank designtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa K, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Designtiger,
Thank you for the opporunity to address your concerns and it seems unfortunately we have not met your expectations. For this please accept my apologizes and your comments pertaining to the room are noted. So that I can ensure that this room is thoroughly audited and any issues recetified, I ask that you contact me directly so that I may assertain your booking name and / or room number. I can be contacted at lisa.knowlson@mantra.com.au or by calling 07 40598100.
Regards
Lisa Knowlson, General Manager Mantra Amphora Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.2 km away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 km away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 11 in Palm Cove
552 reviews
0.3 km away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 11 in Palm Cove
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.5 km away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 11 in Palm Cove
2,116 reviews
0.4 km away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Amphora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Amphora

Property: Mantra Amphora
Address: 49-63 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Breakfree Amphora)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price range (per night): $134 - $334
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Amphora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Amphora Resort is located on the spectacular waterfront of Palm Cove's palm-fringed beach at one of Tropical North Queensland's most sought-after destinations. Enjoy an early morning dip in the tranquil Coral Sea directly opposite the resort or bask in the tropical warmth beside the lagoon swimming pool with its many coves and nooks shaded by towering palm trees. Accommodation at Mantra Amphora Resort ranges from hotel rooms to self-contained one, two and three bedroom apartments all with quality finishes and most featuring an indulgent spa bath. All rooms and apartments offer private balconies with garden or ocean views providing the perfect space to kick back and relax as the sun disappears and the moon lights up the sky. An ideal place to celebrate a nearby wedding, escape with the family or just take some time out, Mantra Amphora makes room for everyone. Wander the stretch of Palm Cove Esplanade to discover a chic range of restaurants and cocktail bars that will satisfy both discerning palates and family appetites, or dine at Vivo Bar and Brill which sits just next to the Mantra Amphora Resort and offers delicious Italian with subtle tropical flavours. Important information: Sunday 11 June 2017 - Cairns Airport IRONMAN Asia-Pacific Championship Cairns – will involve changed traffic conditions. The Captain Cook Highway between the Cairns Airport and Port Douglas will be closed from 5.30am until 5.30pm due to the annual Cairns Airport Ironman Asia Pacific Championship. For more information visit cairnsadventurefestival com au. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Amphora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Amphora Palm Cove, Queensland
Mantra Amphora Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing