We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning gorges and beautiful hot springs”

El Questro Wilderness Park
Ranked #8 of 25 things to do in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: An eco-holiday destination, this million-acre park is located in the heart of the unspoiled Kimberley region.
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We camped at el questro station for 2 nights. We went to zebedee hot springs in the morning, which were really spectacular and relaxing. If you are not staying in the bungalows, make sure you go to zebedee hot springs in the morning as it is only available to guests of the resort in the afternoons.

We did a cruise down the chamberlain gorge in the afternoon which was spectacular. The guides were lovely (particularly Ollie) and we appreciated the complementary bubbles! The scenery and views are amazing.

We did a full day walk of el questro gorge with our tour company. This is quite a difficult walk in parts (you need to pull yourself up a small rock face at one part). We saw some travellers trying to do it in flip flops, but you need good shoes (preferably hiking boots) because the terrain is really rocky. If you make it to the end (it is 6.8km return), the gorge is really nice and totally worth the trek.

We also did a walk to emma gorge. This is possibly the most stunning gorge we saw in the gibb river. Totally recommend it. If you face the waterfall, there are hot springs to the right of you.

The station has a pretty good bar with live music 3 nights a week, which is really worth it as the atmosphere is great.

Date of experience: June 2013
2  Thank latravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Wilderness Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear latraveller,

It is great to hear that you were able to see so many of the highlights at El Questro. Thanks for sharing your views with others, we really appreciate the wonderful feedback. And it is also good to see you reminding others to be safe when walking, good shoes are a necessity!! We hate to see people slip and fall when they wear only flip flops on our difficult walks. We hope you get back this way again to explore the other walks and gorges in the park.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"zebedee springs"
in 87 reviews
"chamberlain gorge"
in 47 reviews
"el questro"
in 188 reviews
"hot springs"
in 30 reviews
"explosion gorge"
in 18 reviews
"private camp"
in 9 reviews
"pentecost river"
in 17 reviews
"horse riding"
in 15 reviews
"powered site"
in 10 reviews
"stayed nights"
in 12 reviews
"water crossings"
in 10 reviews
"camping area"
in 9 reviews
"happy hour"
in 8 reviews
"full day tour"
in 12 reviews
"dirt road"
in 6 reviews
"barramundi"
in 11 reviews
"warm water"
in 6 reviews
Filter

470 - 474 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour to el questro. We were picked up in kununurra and driven to Emma gorge for a rather difficult 5km return hike into the gorge, but oh so worth it for the wonderful swim in the rock pool and under the waterfalls. This was followed by well earned morning tea back at the resort, then a drive to zibidee springs for a lovely dip in the warm water. A delicious Lunch was provided at the steakhouse in the el questro township, before we were taken to the boat for a fantastic cruise into chamberlain gorge, with sparkling wine and fresh fruit platters while being entertained by the archer fish. It was a long day and not cheap, but well worth it.

Date of experience: June 2013
2  Thank sandrapeter63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We had an excellent day out at El Questro Full Day tour. Not having a 4x4 we wanted to see the Gibb River Road start from Kununurra. We travelled to Emma Gorge, Zebedee Hot Springs and the Chamberlain Gorge. Emma Gorge was gorgeous but the literature did not fully state how challenging the walk up to the pool would be. Two people in our group had falls and dropped out but the reward at the head of the gorge was a magnificent view and swim. Zebedee Springs walk in was easy and the water lovely and warm. The cruise after a good lunch was interesting with the highlight being shot at by Archer Fish as they prompted you for food. Would recommend it.

Date of experience: June 2013
2  Thank Weedsatdenstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This is my fourth visit in 10 years. It is a special place with rivers and scenery and that does wonders for the soul. I remain as enthusiastic about this year as I did at the time of my first visit. This feeling is aided too by a genuinely warm and friendly staff.

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank nwarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My husband and I recently got married and decided on a honeymoon at El Questro Station. We have never had a better holiday. From the start it was such a great experience. Karl, the person who helped plan the trip, gave us great advice and recommendations, where to stay, what to do, what to take with us and what to expect.

Above arriving at the Station we were greeted like friends. We stayed in a river side bungalow, lovely listening to the river babble away, and it was so relaxing having no tv, no phones, no radio. The mini fridge suited our needs as we just wanted to keep drinks cool. We ate at the steakhouse and at the Station. The food was great and so was the service.

We drove our own 4wd into the park and did a combination of self guided and tours available at the Station. This worked really well. The views from any of the lookouts are just gorgeous. My favourite would be El Questro Gorge and the thermal springs.

We also went on two helicopter tours, one to the lost city and Miri Miri and it felt like we were the only people on earth while we ate a prepared picinic and drank champagne. The second was a salt water fishing trip, and WOW!! Worth the money, I don't fish, my husband loves it, and we both thought of it as our favourite day, fishing with crocs swimming around in front of you, the scenery from the helicopter, catching barramundi, and finishing the day with a beer amazing!

The staff at the Station are fantastic. Dale welcomed us and made the honeymoon very special. His wife Amy is a delight too. JR added to the experience with his knowledge and laid back happy demenure. Alex and Bernie from the steakhouse deserve a special mention too, always asking about your day and assisting with advice for the next. Stephen our pilot for the two trips was great fun and make sure you meet the cowboys and go for a horse ride!!
And make sure you find out when Kiwi is singing :

All up an unforgetable visit, we will be back!!

Thank you El Questro Station.

Date of experience: April 2013
3  Thank CJCoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Questro Wilderness Park also viewed

Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 

Been to El Questro Wilderness Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing