We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Faraway Bay
Nearby Hotels
Wunan House(Kununurra)(Great Value!)
USD 117*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 170*
USD 165*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra(Kununurra)(Great Value!)
USD 120*
USD 116*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 220*
USD 149*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 144*
USD 128*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kimberley Croc Motel(Kununurra)(Great Value!)
USD 90*
USD 88*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 295*
USD 203*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 301*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
USD 326*
USD 220*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 2,154*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
49
2
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
2
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking george fallsbush campworth every centwet seasonboat drivereagle lodgesea tripsaboriginal rock arton tapcomfortable accommodationan adventurehis knowledgefishing spotsoutdoor showerstayed here for two nightsonce in a lifetimespectacular scenery
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Our previous experiences in the Kimberley region have always been in The Dry with our 4WD and us coated in its stunning red dust. We had promised ourselves that one day we would experience it during or just after The Wet.

On March 15 we set off not by 4WD but by air instead to fulfil this promise. The last leg of these flights was from Kununurra to Faraway Bay on March 16. Wes, the Kimberley Air pilot, provided us with a casual and informative commentary throughout the flight and a true appreciation for the isolated remoteness of our destination soon became apparent. Finally, for us, we were in the Kimberley at the tail end of The Wet.

After being greeted by Kevin and Gemma at the airstrip, we began the 4WD transfer to Faraway Bay. Our first distant view of the bay from the 4WD was so beautiful but it became postcard perfect when viewed from Eagle Lodge.

This was the beginning of what was to be a truly amazing week of breathtaking waterfalls, stunning swimming holes, thought provoking rock art, fishing and wildlife spotting.

Each day delivered pleasures for the taste buds with a wide choice of breakfast options, an array of muffins and slices, freshly prepared meals for lunch tailored to activities and beatifully presented restaurant quality evening meals all made onsite.

The simply furnished cabin was meticulously clean and featured small luxuries like a coffee maker, water chiller, evaporative cooler and ensuite toilet which made it quite comfortable.

While the experiences at Faraway Bay were all we had hoped it would be, wet season storm one night included, it was the genuinely friendly atmosphere created by Kevin, Gemma, Bec and Margaret as well as the comfortable and interesting evening conversations that made this trip special.

Now, we will have to come back to see this slice of paradise in The Dry as well. Kerri and Steve.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1kerrilesac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay Kerri and Steve and got to experience the Kimberley at the end of the Wet Season. You picked the perfect year to do this. We like to think Faraway Bay is a very special part of the Kimberley and love that we were able to share this with you and you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves. Hope to you see you again - Kathie, Kevin, Gemma , Bec and Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Great trip!
We had a very relaxing 5 days out at Faraway bay. We were looked after so well with delicious food, friendly hosts and were kept comfortable in our ocean view cabins with outdoor showers! We caught Barramundi, saw manta rays jumping and turtles sticky beaking. Good family time with my husbands family :-) If you are a nature lover you will love Faraway bay. Kevin & Gemma absolutely spoiled us. I particularly loved the sparking wine at champagne Rock + sunset. What a treat!
Cheers!!

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank Holli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

Thanks Holli, glad you and the boys had a wonderful time. I think you experienced a little bit of everything which was great. Also heard you where the champion fisherwoman! Glad we could help create wonderful family holiday memories for you - Regards Kathie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Together with my travelmate Ellen, I have stayed at Faraway Bay for 2,5 weeks. We are backpackers traveling through Australia and got so lucky to be asked to come to Faraway Bay and help out Kevin and Gemma as temp staff on a voluntary basis.

Every day of this 2,5 week stay, I was amazed by the beauty of this remote part of the Kimberleys.
Kevin and Gemma took us on lovely half day and full day excursions together with the guests. They made us feel welcome and treated us like Family!

We went fishing for the first time in our lives and caught beautiful fish! Sometimes too small, but other times big enough to feed the guests and us with lovely dinner, prepared by Gemma and Kevin!

The food; I can write a whole chapter about the food at Faraway Bay. Needless to say it was prepared carefully and fresh every day. We never went to bed with an empty stomach! Rather the complete opposite!We got spoiled with all the rich food and yummie desserts!

I can recommend staying at faraway Bay to everybody who is looking for a getaway into the beautiful Kimberleys, wants to spend time away from TV, radio, internet and just enjoy the nature and wildlife and wants to get spoiled with food, cultural rock art excursions or other activities!!

Last but not least you Should definetely try the spa with the view on the Bay!

My stay there was my personale best experience ever!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Judith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

Judith you and Ellen where a pleasure to have out a Faraway Bay. It worked out perfect with your help and then able to share our little piece of paradise with you both and ensure you got an experience of a life time. Best luck with your future travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

FAB bush camp was unique in every way.
Comfortable rooms, great food (too much), friendly staff with local stories and daily excursions and fishing. The coastal scenery, rock art and bird life added to this unique holiday.

Room Tip: Honeymoon unit
Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank guzunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2016

We like to think we are a bit unique, and so glad you thought so as well. Happy you enjoyed your overall experience getting to sample a little bit of everything we have to offer, food - yes everyone always says too much, but Kevin like to ensure everyone never goes hungry! Hope it wasn't too much of a shock getting back to "cold" Perth - Many thanks - Kathie, Kevin and all FAB staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

The trip from the airstrip was a bit bumpy, but then you can't have an airstrip next to a luxury bush camp that has fantastic views out across Faraway Bay. Anyway, Kevin's commentary on the drive was entertaining and informative.
At Faraway Bay, you are far way. No roads to this spot, everything comes in the light aircraft. My wife was sitting next to cartons of food and beer! Plus a new water pump for the camp.
The food was fantastic. The menu varied and there was plenty of it.
The flight into the camp is fantastic, with aerial views of King George Falls and other well known spots, with a commentary from the pilot.
The sightseeing boat trips to neighbouring bays and to secret safe swimming holes, provided opportunities to swim in gin clear pools!
Fishing in mangrove creeks and out along the cliffs provided even first time fishers the thrill of catching dinner.
Aboriginal rock art is prolific, with locations still being found.
My wife and I loved the whole experience. Thanks so much to Kevin, Gemma and Sophie for the thoughtful care you provided.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigkahoonaOssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

You are so welcome, we are so glad you and Jane enjoyed our special little part of the Kimberley. Our aim is to provide each guest with an experience of a lifetime ! and love to hear when we've achieved that. I've passed on your thanks to Kevin, Gemma & Sophie, he said you did well with the fishing and hope your not missing the warmth too much...
Kind Regards - Kathie, Kevin and all FAB staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews